Shanling M7 - Qualcomm 665 CPU, ESS ES9038PRO DAC, Android 10, 5-inch screen
Jun 20, 2022 at 8:55 PM Post #77 of 114
Joined
Mar 26, 2015
Posts
4,314
Likes
4,921
Location
Shenzhen, China
@Shanling, good day! m7 with aliexpress will have russian language? can i install play store?

All our M7 are the same, it applies to the ones from Chinese sellers too.
We recommend to make sure you pick very reliable seller on Aliexpress, especially for premium model such as M7.
 
Shanling Have any question about our players? Just PM me or send me email. Stay updated on Shanling at their sponsor profile on Head-Fi.
 
https://www.facebook.com/Shanling-Audio-603230783166845/ https://twitter.com/ShanlingAudio https://www.instagram.com/shanlingaudio/ http://en.shanling.com/ frankie@shanling.com
Jun 21, 2022 at 2:12 AM Post #79 of 114
Joined
Mar 26, 2015
Posts
4,314
Likes
4,921
Location
Shenzhen, China
I bought the player from the official shanling store on Aliexpress for a suggested price of $1250. device must be original

Yes, this shop is reliable.

Just one Note - it's actually not sold by us. It's just Chinese seller, which is marked as official seller for Aliexpress.
 
Shanling Have any question about our players? Just PM me or send me email. Stay updated on Shanling at their sponsor profile on Head-Fi.
 
https://www.facebook.com/Shanling-Audio-603230783166845/ https://twitter.com/ShanlingAudio https://www.instagram.com/shanlingaudio/ http://en.shanling.com/ frankie@shanling.com
Jun 21, 2022 at 9:20 PM Post #81 of 114
Joined
Mar 26, 2015
Posts
4,314
Likes
4,921
Location
Shenzhen, China
on which sites (stores) it the m7 officially sold?

We have range of our official dealers around the World. If you are looking at Chinese dealers, we recommend sticking to Linsoul, Hifigo, Shenzhen Audio.
 
Shanling Have any question about our players? Just PM me or send me email. Stay updated on Shanling at their sponsor profile on Head-Fi.
 
https://www.facebook.com/Shanling-Audio-603230783166845/ https://twitter.com/ShanlingAudio https://www.instagram.com/shanlingaudio/ http://en.shanling.com/ frankie@shanling.com
Jun 27, 2022 at 6:23 AM Post #83 of 114

beomonk

New Head-Fier
Joined
Apr 30, 2022
Posts
15
Likes
12
Location
Vietnam
@Shanling I have messaged you on FB before, and the M7 is supposed to support MQA over USB DAC (I am connecting to a Windows)

Currently, in Tidal Exclusive Mode, whether with MQA passthrough on or off, the sample rate is always 44.1khz. It briefly jumps to 88.2khz when the MQA passthrough is toggled (doesn't matter whether to turn on or off), but goes away after 2 seconds.

No issues outside of that
 
Jun 27, 2022 at 8:54 PM Post #84 of 114
Joined
Mar 26, 2015
Posts
4,314
Likes
4,921
Location
Shenzhen, China
@Shanling I have messaged you on FB before, and the M7 is supposed to support MQA over USB DAC (I am connecting to a Windows)

Currently, in Tidal Exclusive Mode, whether with MQA passthrough on or off, the sample rate is always 44.1khz. It briefly jumps to 88.2khz when the MQA passthrough is toggled (doesn't matter whether to turn on or off), but goes away after 2 seconds.

No issues outside of that
According to instructions from Tidal, device are to show the default sampling rate of the file from Tidal, not the final 8x or 16x sampling rate after unpacking. On most files that will be 44.1 or 48 kHz. 88.2 can flash for a short moment, before the decoder function is switched from software to M7.

When set correctly, you will have MQA Green or Blue icon on your M7, confirming that M7 works as Decoder & Renderer for MQA files.

To get full MQA from Tidal, make sure that "Use Exclusive Mode", "Force volume" and "Passthrough MQA" are all activated in Tidal app.
 
Shanling Have any question about our players? Just PM me or send me email. Stay updated on Shanling at their sponsor profile on Head-Fi.
 
https://www.facebook.com/Shanling-Audio-603230783166845/ https://twitter.com/ShanlingAudio https://www.instagram.com/shanlingaudio/ http://en.shanling.com/ frankie@shanling.com
Jun 27, 2022 at 10:30 PM Post #85 of 114

beomonk

New Head-Fier
Joined
Apr 30, 2022
Posts
15
Likes
12
Location
Vietnam
According to instructions from Tidal, device are to show the default sampling rate of the file from Tidal, not the final 8x or 16x sampling rate after unpacking. On most files that will be 44.1 or 48 kHz. 88.2 can flash for a short moment, before the decoder function is switched from software to M7.

When set correctly, you will have MQA Green or Blue icon on your M7, confirming that M7 works as Decoder & Renderer for MQA files.

To get full MQA from Tidal, make sure that "Use Exclusive Mode", "Force volume" and "Passthrough MQA" are all activated in Tidal app.
Got it, thanks for the response!

I see there is green or purple dot under MQA, what is the meaning behind each color again?

To add to others, your stellar customer service and presence on headfi is big reason why I stick with Shanling products (M3X and M7, soon UA3) 👍
 
Jun 27, 2022 at 11:11 PM Post #86 of 114
Joined
Mar 26, 2015
Posts
4,314
Likes
4,921
Location
Shenzhen, China
MQA Blue - Device serves as both Decoder and Renderer and the file is "Studio approved MQA".
MQA Green - Device serves as both Decoder and Renderer.
MQA Purple - Device serves as Renderer only, Decoding done by different part of chain (In this case by the Tidal app).
 
Shanling Have any question about our players? Just PM me or send me email. Stay updated on Shanling at their sponsor profile on Head-Fi.
 
https://www.facebook.com/Shanling-Audio-603230783166845/ https://twitter.com/ShanlingAudio https://www.instagram.com/shanlingaudio/ http://en.shanling.com/ frankie@shanling.com
Jul 16, 2022 at 11:00 AM Post #87 of 114

beomonk

New Head-Fier
Joined
Apr 30, 2022
Posts
15
Likes
12
Location
Vietnam
@Shanling I have an issue with the LO - since the it is a line level, why does Gain switch affect it? I tried to use my M7 with 3 different integrated amplifiers in LO and it is unusable. Instead I go for low gain and low volume - but there is still audible distortion from the speakers. It is not clean at all, my guess is because there is too much double amping going on.

I actually have the same issue with the M3X - gain switch affects LO.
Basically, for cleanest output, I have to resort to lowest volume on LO on both devices, and for M7 there is still either too much amplification (leading to distortion) or the speaker volume is too low at M7's lowest volumes. I hope my description is clear.
 
Jul 17, 2022 at 9:19 PM Post #88 of 114
Joined
Mar 26, 2015
Posts
4,314
Likes
4,921
Location
Shenzhen, China
@Shanling I have an issue with the LO - since the it is a line level, why does Gain switch affect it? I tried to use my M7 with 3 different integrated amplifiers in LO and it is unusable. Instead I go for low gain and low volume - but there is still audible distortion from the speakers. It is not clean at all, my guess is because there is too much double amping going on.

I actually have the same issue with the M3X - gain switch affects LO.
Basically, for cleanest output, I have to resort to lowest volume on LO on both devices, and for M7 there is still either too much amplification (leading to distortion) or the speaker volume is too low at M7's lowest volumes. I hope my description is clear.

Our devices do not have dedicated line-out circuit, Line-out is just software setting.

M7 has quite high output, it can be too hot for some of amps. We recommend to run it as a pre-amplifier and set its output for acceptable level for your amplifier.
 
Last edited:
Shanling Have any question about our players? Just PM me or send me email. Stay updated on Shanling at their sponsor profile on Head-Fi.
 
https://www.facebook.com/Shanling-Audio-603230783166845/ https://twitter.com/ShanlingAudio https://www.instagram.com/shanlingaudio/ http://en.shanling.com/ frankie@shanling.com
Jul 18, 2022 at 6:52 AM Post #89 of 114

beomonk

New Head-Fier
Joined
Apr 30, 2022
Posts
15
Likes
12
Location
Vietnam
Our devices do not have dedicated line-out circuit, Line-out is just software setting.

M7 has quite high output, it can be too hot for most of amps. We recommend to run it as a pre-amplifier and set its output for acceptable level for your amplifier.
Ok I understand both DAPs don't have dedicated line out. Even if it is a software setting, what is the closest Gain + LO closest to line level?
The LO feature must exist for a reason. If I have to play with the volume in PO setting, I am confused what purpose the LO setting serves. Thanks!
 
Jul 18, 2022 at 9:06 PM Post #90 of 114
Joined
Mar 26, 2015
Posts
4,314
Likes
4,921
Location
Shenzhen, China
Ok I understand both DAPs don't have dedicated line out. Even if it is a software setting, what is the closest Gain + LO closest to line level?
The LO feature must exist for a reason. If I have to play with the volume in PO setting, I am confused what purpose the LO setting serves. Thanks!

When you have it set at lineout and medium gain, you will be running at line-levels (1.8V SE, 3.4V balanced).

Line-out mode is there mainly for convenience and safety, as it resets to headphone out and your standard volume when re-inserting headphones. Line-Out mode works fine with most amplifiers, but some of them might be sensitive to input voltage, at which point you need to adjust gain or the volume level.
 
Shanling Have any question about our players? Just PM me or send me email. Stay updated on Shanling at their sponsor profile on Head-Fi.
 
https://www.facebook.com/Shanling-Audio-603230783166845/ https://twitter.com/ShanlingAudio https://www.instagram.com/shanlingaudio/ http://en.shanling.com/ frankie@shanling.com

Users who are viewing this thread

Top