Shanling M6 PRO - New version coming Summer 2021
Mar 20, 2022 at 6:28 PM Post #856 of 876

doors97426

New Head-Fier
Joined
Mar 7, 2021
Posts
49
Likes
13
Location
creswell, oregon
I had Hart Audio make me one and seems to work fine.I didn't ask if the 4.4 end was grounded. I use a Schiit Jotunheim II , when I contacted Schiit they told me to be careful as they don't advise to do this. the schiit is grounded at the input in

Tom E (Schiit Audio)

Mar 15, 2022, 7:39 PDT

Hello,

It is not a good idea to do that. Use only a 3-pin XLR cable to connect. The 3-pin is for one channel only and the pin out will be 1=Ground, 2=L+, 3=L- or 1=Ground, 2=R+, 3=R-.


mail


this is what Schiit told me
 
Mar 20, 2022 at 9:46 PM Post #857 of 876
Joined
Mar 26, 2015
Posts
4,314
Likes
4,921
Location
Shenzhen, China
So this is more a issue with this amp and the m6? I’m using the 4.4 to xlr and works perfect with the Xduoo ta20. With no grounding on the m6 what’s the best type of interconnection cable? I’m using a grounded interconnection cable would there be any difference with a unbalanced cable?

I did have to search a bit to find a grounded 4.4 to xlr since most don’t list the info. I bought the DDhfi cable and happy with the sound and quality of cable.

Our balanced outputs on M6 are designed for use with headphones are the 4.4mm output is not grounded.

The safest choice would be to use 3.5mm to RCA. For use of balanced, we recommend to check with the amplifier manufacturer.
 
Shanling Have any question about our players? Just PM me or send me email. Stay updated on Shanling at their sponsor profile on Head-Fi.
 
https://www.facebook.com/Shanling-Audio-603230783166845/ https://twitter.com/ShanlingAudio https://www.instagram.com/shanlingaudio/ http://en.shanling.com/ frankie@shanling.com
Apr 1, 2022 at 11:10 AM Post #858 of 876

gordec

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Aug 14, 2006
Posts
1,412
Likes
737
My 1st Gen M6 Pro won't turn on after I plugged in the charger to charge yesterday. The red charging indicator just stays on the whole time. Any way to force restart? I tried holding power button for 12 secs and it’s still stuck with red light.
 
Last edited:
Apr 1, 2022 at 9:38 PM Post #859 of 876
Joined
Mar 26, 2015
Posts
4,314
Likes
4,921
Location
Shenzhen, China
My 1st Gen M6 Pro won't turn on after I plugged in the charger to charge yesterday. The red charging indicator just stays on the whole time. Any way to force restart? I tried holding power button for 12 secs and it’s still stuck with red light.
Hmm, if it's not reacting to this, I assume it's also not possible to boot it into Recovery mode? https://en.shanling.com/article-AndroidSetup.html

Sometimes the easiest fix is to let it sit, until the battery runs low and red lights turn off. Then put it on charger and it should wake up.

Was your M6 Pro on latest V1.7 firmware?
 
Shanling Have any question about our players? Just PM me or send me email. Stay updated on Shanling at their sponsor profile on Head-Fi.
 
https://www.facebook.com/Shanling-Audio-603230783166845/ https://twitter.com/ShanlingAudio https://www.instagram.com/shanlingaudio/ http://en.shanling.com/ frankie@shanling.com
May 24, 2022 at 12:07 PM Post #860 of 876

BobSmith8901

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
May 5, 2015
Posts
564
Likes
584
For M6 Pro 21 users: Have asked these before but thought with folks having their units now for around a year some may have noticed this or maybe it's just my unit.

1. Tidal Android app-- the time scroll in the player will sometimes not start at all or it will begin at some advanced point in a song. Happens randomly and doesn't seem to be based on any particular action. Not a big deal but can be annoying. Just happens with the Tidal Android app.
Doesn't happen in UAPP (with Tidal streaming), or any other players such as Neutron, Onkyo HF Player, native Shanling music app, Spotify, etc.
It in no way affects the playback or subsequent movement to a new song either in straight play or random mode.

2. Also, does anyone that uses Bluetooth APTX-HD get the Green LED just like with LDAC? Site says Yellow LED but shows up as Green.

BTW-Love my Pro 21, so reliable and fast and sounds amazing with every can I own (especially 7Hz Timeless!).
 
May 24, 2022 at 9:39 PM Post #862 of 876
Joined
Mar 26, 2015
Posts
4,314
Likes
4,921
Location
Shenzhen, China
For M6 Pro 21 users: Have asked these before but thought with folks having their units now for around a year some may have noticed this or maybe it's just my unit.

1. Tidal Android app-- the time scroll in the player will sometimes not start at all or it will begin at some advanced point in a song. Happens randomly and doesn't seem to be based on any particular action. Not a big deal but can be annoying. Just happens with the Tidal Android app.
Doesn't happen in UAPP (with Tidal streaming), or any other players such as Neutron, Onkyo HF Player, native Shanling music app, Spotify, etc.
It in no way affects the playback or subsequent movement to a new song either in straight play or random mode.

2. Also, does anyone that uses Bluetooth APTX-HD get the Green LED just like with LDAC? Site says Yellow LED but shows up as Green.

BTW-Love my Pro 21, so reliable and fast and sounds amazing with every can I own (especially 7Hz Timeless!).

1. Wouldn't be the first quirk of Tidal app. It's working bit differently due to all the extra stuff going on for MQA.

2. yes, it's incorrect on website, aptX HD stays green.

Can i use balance 4.4 as line out to rca to my car dsp? Is it safe?

Never do that. Only connect balanced output to balanced input, or you are risky damage to the devices.
 
Shanling Have any question about our players? Just PM me or send me email. Stay updated on Shanling at their sponsor profile on Head-Fi.
 
https://www.facebook.com/Shanling-Audio-603230783166845/ https://twitter.com/ShanlingAudio https://www.instagram.com/shanlingaudio/ http://en.shanling.com/ frankie@shanling.com
May 24, 2022 at 11:00 PM Post #863 of 876
Joined
Mar 26, 2015
Posts
4,314
Likes
4,921
Location
Shenzhen, China
Shanling Have any question about our players? Just PM me or send me email. Stay updated on Shanling at their sponsor profile on Head-Fi.
 
https://www.facebook.com/Shanling-Audio-603230783166845/ https://twitter.com/ShanlingAudio https://www.instagram.com/shanlingaudio/ http://en.shanling.com/ frankie@shanling.com
Jun 26, 2022 at 11:30 PM Post #865 of 876
Joined
Mar 26, 2015
Posts
4,314
Likes
4,921
Location
Shenzhen, China
M6 joins our New Generation of Android players.

Switching to modern CPU with Android 10 and packing 4 brand new DACs from AKM.

Public announcement this weekend at Chengdu Headphone Show.

 
Shanling Have any question about our players? Just PM me or send me email. Stay updated on Shanling at their sponsor profile on Head-Fi.
 
https://www.facebook.com/Shanling-Audio-603230783166845/ https://twitter.com/ShanlingAudio https://www.instagram.com/shanlingaudio/ http://en.shanling.com/ frankie@shanling.com
Jul 3, 2022 at 5:54 AM Post #866 of 876

FenceFurniture

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Oct 4, 2018
Posts
169
Likes
83
Location
Sydney, Oz
@Shanling I have an M6 Pro 21 (which I love the sound of, btw) and I want to connect it to a Focal Arche DAC/Amp which will feed to a pair of studio monitors (Hedd Type 7) and a Subwoofer (so to be clear, the monitors and subwoof all have their own amps built in). So the Focal Arche is acting as a DAC and pre-amp.

I can input to the Arche by USB-B (like I use from the desktop computer) Co-Ax, Toslink or RCA.

My question is: which output from the M6 Pro should I use (preferably for balanced o/p)?
My thinking is that I should go from the USB-C o/p to a USB-B i/p on the Arche - would that be correct?
 
Jul 3, 2022 at 9:49 PM Post #867 of 876
Joined
Mar 26, 2015
Posts
4,314
Likes
4,921
Location
Shenzhen, China
@Shanling I have an M6 Pro 21 (which I love the sound of, btw) and I want to connect it to a Focal Arche DAC/Amp which will feed to a pair of studio monitors (Hedd Type 7) and a Subwoofer (so to be clear, the monitors and subwoof all have their own amps built in). So the Focal Arche is acting as a DAC and pre-amp.

I can input to the Arche by USB-B (like I use from the desktop computer) Co-Ax, Toslink or RCA.

My question is: which output from the M6 Pro should I use (preferably for balanced o/p)?
My thinking is that I should go from the USB-C o/p to a USB-B i/p on the Arche - would that be correct?
There are two ways how to connect them.

1. Going over USB from M6, into USB input of the Arche. This way M6 serves only as digital transport, D/A conversion and whole amplification is done by Arche.
You can get simple USB-C to USB-B for few bucks. It should work easily, given there aren't some complicated drivers needed for the Arche.

2. Run 3.5mm to RCA cable from M6. This way you will be using M6 as DAC and pre-amp, with Arche serving just as headphone amplifier.

Assuming the DAC section of Arche is at least decent, first variant should be preferable.
 
Shanling Have any question about our players? Just PM me or send me email. Stay updated on Shanling at their sponsor profile on Head-Fi.
 
https://www.facebook.com/Shanling-Audio-603230783166845/ https://twitter.com/ShanlingAudio https://www.instagram.com/shanlingaudio/ http://en.shanling.com/ frankie@shanling.com
Aug 9, 2022 at 11:10 AM Post #869 of 876

Skies

New Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 21, 2022
Posts
6
Likes
14
Location
Canada
@Shanling Whenever I play audio on a browser via the Shanling M6 Pro 21 or have another app on, the audio skips every half a second for a second or so infinitely. Now that's also occurring when the audio is being streamed on some music apps. Are there any solutions to this? Thank you.
 
Aug 10, 2022 at 9:14 PM Post #870 of 876
Joined
Mar 26, 2015
Posts
4,314
Likes
4,921
Location
Shenzhen, China
@Shanling Whenever I play audio on a browser via the Shanling M6 Pro 21 or have another app on, the audio skips every half a second for a second or so infinitely. Now that's also occurring when the audio is being streamed on some music apps. Are there any solutions to this? Thank you.
Can you please send me PM? Will try to check on some details for this.
 
Shanling Have any question about our players? Just PM me or send me email. Stay updated on Shanling at their sponsor profile on Head-Fi.
 
https://www.facebook.com/Shanling-Audio-603230783166845/ https://twitter.com/ShanlingAudio https://www.instagram.com/shanlingaudio/ http://en.shanling.com/ frankie@shanling.com

Users who are viewing this thread

Top