Shanling M6 Player - Android OS, Snapdragon 430CPU 4GB RAM, 2.5 and 4.4 balanced, Dual AK4495SEQ, 4.7inch screen, FW V3.1
post-15409307
Post #571 of 855

newtophones07

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Nov 3, 2007
Messages
1,143
Reaction score
204
Location
USA, West Coast
Joined
Nov 3, 2007
Location
USA, West Coast
Posts
1,143
Likes
204
Create a new gmail account specifically for this purporse?
Yeah but then I have to buy new licenses for neutron and USB Audio Player Pro. Either way, it's very insecure to be online in any capacity with a device running a security patch from 2016. Maybe the software version is processor limited.

Music wise, the device sounds excellent, that's most important.
 
     Share This Post       
post-15409403
Post #572 of 855

holsen

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 23, 2014
Messages
650
Reaction score
568
Location
Vancouver, Canada
Joined
Dec 23, 2014
Location
Vancouver, Canada
Posts
650
Likes
568
Website
high-output.com
Either way, it's very insecure to be online in any capacity with a device running a security patch from 2016. .
I agree with you but I might be stating the obvious here. If you use this a music device and arent web surfing or sending email your exposure is pretty limited. I personally wouldnt want to tax a music device with all kinds of other background tasks that tax the ram, processor and battery. I'm not an IT guy, but I have a pretty good technical ability / understanding and I dont see much risk in streaming tidal or doing OTA firmware updates. Anyway, that's just me and I wouldnt sweat it.
 
     Share This Post       
post-15409636
Post #573 of 855

battosai

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
May 19, 2008
Messages
427
Reaction score
305
Location
San Francisco
Joined
May 19, 2008
Location
San Francisco
Posts
427
Likes
305
Yeah but then I have to buy new licenses for neutron and USB Audio Player Pro. Either way, it's very insecure to be online in any capacity with a device running a security patch from 2016. Maybe the software version is processor limited.

Music wise, the device sounds excellent, that's most important.
the Hiby R6 has almost the same processor (4 cores vs 8 on the M6) and it's running Android 8.1 so no it's not the reason. I am sure Shanling will upgrade the OS later on, Hiby started with Android 6...
 
     Share This Post       
post-15409788
Post #574 of 855

Shanling

Sponsor: Shanling
Joined
Mar 26, 2015
Messages
2,310
Reaction score
2,272
Location
Shenzhen, China
Joined
Mar 26, 2015
Location
Shenzhen, China
Posts
2,310
Likes
2,272
#1, and #2 on my intl device, running 2.7.4 exhibits the same quirk.

.
Can you send me some image? WIll push it on software team to try to recreate this issue.

Hi Shanling. There is no chance to operate with play market on China version? Local distributors have no intl version still. So I used Chinese version of M6 and want to have ability to install apps I bought from PM.
No official support for Google play store on Chinese version.

I agree on the security patch, 2016 is pretty bad. I am REAL hesitant to use my email accounts to register my apps through the play store.

Also Shanling can you find a way to allow for gapless playback in the native app? I know this is a rebashed HibyMusic player app, but hopefully your software team can find a way allow for the all that small tweak. Listening to live albums, is tough with the start and stop after each track.
We are pushing on software team to do something with system(they promised Android 9, so will see when that comes through) and on the items missing from our software player.
 
Shanling Have any question about our players? Just PM me or send me email. Stay updated on Shanling at their sponsor page on Head-Fi.
 
https://www.facebook.com/Shanling-Audio-603230783166845/ https://twitter.com/ShanlingAudio https://www.instagram.com/shanlingaudio/ http://en.shanling.com/ frankie@shanling.com
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: monsieurfromag3
post-15410723
Post #579 of 855

originalsnuffy

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Nov 7, 2008
Messages
2,313
Reaction score
804
Location
Upper Tundra, USA
Joined
Nov 7, 2008
Location
Upper Tundra, USA
Posts
2,313
Likes
804
I agree on the security patch, 2016 is pretty bad. I am REAL hesitant to use my email accounts to register my apps through the play store.

Also Shanling can you find a way to allow for gapless playback in the native app? I know this is a rebashed HibyMusic player app, but hopefully your software team can find a way allow for the all that small tweak. Listening to live albums, is tough with the start and stop after each track.
Is this a fact that the native player is HiBy derived? I thought the two companies stopped working together near the end of the M2S software lifecycle.

If the player is HiBy derived then we should be getting native SACD ISO playback soon since HiBy has that.

I was pleased to hear that Android 9 may be coming. In general lately Shanling has been my brand to beat but I am holding off for a later version of Android and native SACD ISO playback when it comes to this unit.
 
     Share This Post       
post-15410993
Post #580 of 855

nmatheis

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Dec 30, 2013
Messages
14,524
Reaction score
9,497
Joined
Dec 30, 2013
Posts
14,524
Likes
9,497
1 and 2, not seeing such problem on my unit.

And to point 3, by any chance isn't it some internal setting on these apps?
Not sure what happened, but I started up the M6 this morning to take a picture and the time and date are now displayed as I would've expected on the lockscreen. Not sure how that was corrected with no intervention on my part, but I'll take it!

Seems like I'm using 64-bit version of Neutron and need to be using 32-bit version. Need a link to make sure I'm using the correct version of that app. Not sure about PowerAmp, but if I can get Neutron running properly, I'll be good to go.
 
     Share This Post       
post-15411030
Post #581 of 855

Nayparm

Member of the Trade: NP Audio
Joined
Oct 13, 2017
Messages
1,690
Reaction score
1,835
Location
UK
Joined
Oct 13, 2017
Location
UK
Posts
1,690
Likes
1,835
Not sure what happened, but I started up the M6 this morning to take a picture and the time and date are now displayed as I would've expected on the lockscreen. Not sure how that was corrected with no intervention on my part, but I'll take it!

Seems like I'm using 64-bit version of Neutron and need to be using 32-bit version. Need a link to make sure I'm using the correct version of that app. Not sure about PowerAmp, but if I can get Neutron running properly, I'll be good to go.
Most likely it corrected itself to your timezone if left on wifi long enough, it defaults to chinese CST timezone, I always manual change but I have lockscreen disabled so never noticed if this was an issue or not.

You need Neutron ARM7+NEON with paypro, guess your on chinese firmware ?
 
     Share This Post       
post-15411073
Post #582 of 855

nmatheis

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Dec 30, 2013
Messages
14,524
Reaction score
9,497
Joined
Dec 30, 2013
Posts
14,524
Likes
9,497
Most likely it corrected itself to your timezone if left on wifi long enough, it defaults to chinese CST timezone, I always manual change but I have lockscreen disabled so never noticed if this was an issue or not.

You need Neutron ARM7+NEON with paypro, guess your on chinese firmware ?
I'm on International Firmware and had already manually set my time zone, so that's not the reason for the self correction. I'm any case, I'm glad it corrected!

Will reset M6 and try again with Neutron. Imagine it'll be just fine after that.
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: Nayparm
post-15411127
Post #583 of 855

Nayparm

Member of the Trade: NP Audio
Joined
Oct 13, 2017
Messages
1,690
Reaction score
1,835
Location
UK
Joined
Oct 13, 2017
Location
UK
Posts
1,690
Likes
1,835
I'm on International Firmware and had already manually set my time zone, so that's not the reason for the self correction. I'm any case, I'm glad it corrected!

Will reset M6 and try again with Neutron. Imagine it'll be just fine after that.
Cool :L3000:
 
     Share This Post       
post-15411435
Post #584 of 855

nmatheis

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Dec 30, 2013
Messages
14,524
Reaction score
9,497
Joined
Dec 30, 2013
Posts
14,524
Likes
9,497
I've got to say that M6 with the Shanling app has a great sound signature. Very smooth yet with good dynamics. Just missing gapless playback. Fingers crossed that's added soon!
 
     Share This Post       
post-15413413
Post #585 of 855

Shanling

Sponsor: Shanling
Joined
Mar 26, 2015
Messages
2,310
Reaction score
2,272
Location
Shenzhen, China
Joined
Mar 26, 2015
Location
Shenzhen, China
Posts
2,310
Likes
2,272
@Shanling Hi do you have a reseller in Australia?
Or do I look at @Online store for a purchase
Regards Steve
We are currently setting up new distributor for Australia, not sure when they will get our products in stock.

Meanwhile you can try to each out to Jaben Australia, they carry some of our products.

Is this a fact that the native player is HiBy derived? I thought the two companies stopped working together near the end of the M2S software lifecycle.

If the player is HiBy derived then we should be getting native SACD ISO playback soon since HiBy has that.

I was pleased to hear that Android 9 may be coming. In general lately Shanling has been my brand to beat but I am holding off for a later version of Android and native SACD ISO playback when it comes to this unit.
HiBy has nothing to do with current M6, we didn't worked with them for more than two years.
 
Shanling Have any question about our players? Just PM me or send me email. Stay updated on Shanling at their sponsor page on Head-Fi.
 
https://www.facebook.com/Shanling-Audio-603230783166845/ https://twitter.com/ShanlingAudio https://www.instagram.com/shanlingaudio/ http://en.shanling.com/ frankie@shanling.com
     Share This Post       

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top