Shanling M0 - Nano size, touch screen, LDAC & aptX BT, USB DAC/transport and ESS Sabre ES9218P, FW 3.5
Apr 11, 2021 at 9:01 PM Post #6,196 of 6,232
Joined
Mar 26, 2015
Posts
3,370
Likes
3,765
Location
Shenzhen, China
After two years of usage, my Shanling M0's brightness setting does not work anymore, and the screen is stuck on minimum brightness, making it unusable outdoors. There is now also a flash whenever the button is pressed to turn off the screen. Anyone faced a similar issue? @Shanling any advice?
Can be hardware failure of the screen. You would need to order new screen from one of our distributors and then get it replaced.
 
Shanling Have any question about our players? Just PM me or send me email. Stay updated on Shanling at their sponsor profile on Head-Fi.
 
https://www.facebook.com/Shanling-Audio-603230783166845/ https://twitter.com/ShanlingAudio https://www.instagram.com/shanlingaudio/ http://en.shanling.com/ frankie@shanling.com
Apr 17, 2021 at 8:07 AM Post #6,197 of 6,232

rattywolf

New Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 14, 2014
Posts
39
Likes
19
Location
Russia
Dear @Shanling
Any chances there will be next firmware with alphabetical album sorting problem fixed? There are many music albums recorded as a narrative, or even seamless session, and therefore track order is important. I have tracks numbered in metadata, cue-splitted single-file albums, and M0 reads it all alphabetically. It makes sense sometimes, but it is a big disadvantage and, imo, the only negative thing in a perfect player.
 
Apr 17, 2021 at 4:03 PM Post #6,198 of 6,232

dabbler_uk

New Head-Fier
Joined
Aug 23, 2018
Posts
4
Likes
0
Location
South Yorkshire (uk)
Hi there,

I recently updated to v3.5

however, m0 now switches off after about three minutes.
is this a known issue (I tried to look through but couldn't find anything ) ??

the same happened when I reverted back to v3.2 that I had on my downloads.

in both cases it restarted, updated (whirly wheel countdown) and confirmed successful update.

also, I was unable (today) to download again the v3.5zip file (in case I had a corrupted copy), nor any of the previous versions of firmware.
kept getting this type of message (for any of the versions) : see image.
cheers,

mark
 

Attachments

  • 8E449C53-1049-43A5-BCD5-B793086FF888.jpeg
    8E449C53-1049-43A5-BCD5-B793086FF888.jpeg
    145 KB · Views: 0
Last edited:
Apr 19, 2021 at 3:05 AM Post #6,199 of 6,232
Joined
Mar 26, 2015
Posts
3,370
Likes
3,765
Location
Shenzhen, China
Dear @Shanling
Any chances there will be next firmware with alphabetical album sorting problem fixed? There are many music albums recorded as a narrative, or even seamless session, and therefore track order is important. I have tracks numbered in metadata, cue-splitted single-file albums, and M0 reads it all alphabetically. It makes sense sometimes, but it is a big disadvantage and, imo, the only negative thing in a perfect player.
Hi, I'm sorry, did you reported this to us before? Dealing with a lot of customers, so sometimes I forget.

On M0, track sorting in album views follows the track numbers, it's not alphabetical.

If you are facing any problem with this, you can send me PM and will have a look at it.
Hi there,

I recently updated to v3.5

however, m0 now switches off after about three minutes.
is this a known issue (I tried to look through but couldn't find anything ) ??

the same happened when I reverted back to v3.2 that I had on my downloads.

in both cases it restarted, updated (whirly wheel countdown) and confirmed successful update.

also, I was unable (today) to download again the v3.5zip file (in case I had a corrupted copy), nor any of the previous versions of firmware.
kept getting this type of message (for any of the versions) : see image.
cheers,

mark
Please check if you have in-vehicle mode turned off.
Does your M0 turn off in middle of playing song or only when you are not using it for a little while?

Sorry for the website issue, it's not working properly these days.

You can find latest firmware here: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1JSgCq0d4bsHC63-QrwZYMNtL_ca5T2KS/view?usp=sharing
 
Shanling Have any question about our players? Just PM me or send me email. Stay updated on Shanling at their sponsor profile on Head-Fi.
 
https://www.facebook.com/Shanling-Audio-603230783166845/ https://twitter.com/ShanlingAudio https://www.instagram.com/shanlingaudio/ http://en.shanling.com/ frankie@shanling.com
Apr 19, 2021 at 12:29 PM Post #6,200 of 6,232

dabbler_uk

New Head-Fier
Joined
Aug 23, 2018
Posts
4
Likes
0
Location
South Yorkshire (uk)
Hi, I'm sorry, did you reported this to us before? Dealing with a lot of customers, so sometimes I forget.

On M0, track sorting in album views follows the track numbers, it's not alphabetical.

If you are facing any problem with this, you can send me PM and will have a look at it.

Please check if you have in-vehicle mode turned off.
Does your M0 turn off in middle of playing song or only when you are not using it for a little while?

Sorry for the website issue, it's not working properly these days.

You can find latest firmware here: https://drive.google.com/file/d/1JSgCq0d4bsHC63-QrwZYMNtL_ca5T2KS/view?usp=sharing
It’s been turning off while playing a tune

will check to see if in-vehicle mode is on (& turn it off).

have been using it daily and this (turning off) was not a problem (until I updated the firmware).

Thank you for the help ... :)
 
Apr 19, 2021 at 12:59 PM Post #6,201 of 6,232

rattywolf

New Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 14, 2014
Posts
39
Likes
19
Location
Russia
Hi, I'm sorry, did you reported this to us before? Dealing with a lot of customers, so sometimes I forget.

On M0, track sorting in album views follows the track numbers, it's not alphabetical.

If you are facing any problem with this, you can send me PM and will have a look at it.
I doublechecked the issue and seems it's my confusion here. Many single albums (one artist - one album) in my lib, so it only happened when I click Open All instead of album name, and albums are sorted properly. My mistake, sorry for misunderstanding :flushed:
 
Apr 25, 2021 at 9:45 AM Post #6,203 of 6,232

jelbo

New Head-Fier
Joined
Nov 27, 2009
Posts
37
Likes
22
Hi . Thanks for your answer . M0 seems to connect automatically in receiver mode. I did not find any options to deactivate this mode. Pairing is ok, but in receiver mode with momentum TW II.
If I connect another bluetooth headset, it works fine .
Thank you
I have something similar with Sennheiser Momentum 3's. It worked about twice. Now, whenever I connect there is no sound. I have turned off both devices, unpaired from both, re-paired, but it doesn't play sound.

/edit: it's a confirmed problem with these / Sennheiser headphones.
/edit2: the problem seems to be the headphones presenting themselves as both an audio and call device. A possible fix could be to be able to select which audio 'device' being presented is used by the M0. @Shanling?
 
Last edited:
Apr 28, 2021 at 4:48 AM Post #6,204 of 6,232

Nolbert0

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jun 15, 2017
Posts
335
Likes
134
Location
Equatorial Open Waters of SE Asia
Still enjoying my M0 :) I've got a question about AAC playback over bluetooth. If I use AAC over bluetooth, will AAC files be transcoded or is the AAC stream passed directly?
As far as I know, it shouldn't be an issue either way. AAC to AAC encoding doesn't degrade in audio quality - bitrate dependant, of course. So if it's transcoded to the same or higher bit rate, it won't lose any audio quality (it won't 'throw away' any further details again during the second encoding, if that makes sense), but transcoding to a lower bit rate will of course lower the quality accordingly. I had the same question a couple years back.

Apologies for such a plebby explaination, maybe somebody more knowledgeable can chime in.
 
Apr 30, 2021 at 4:14 AM Post #6,205 of 6,232

piratenpanda

New Head-Fier
Joined
Oct 16, 2018
Posts
7
Likes
3
Location
everywhere and nowhere
As far as I know, it shouldn't be an issue either way. AAC to AAC encoding doesn't degrade in audio quality - bitrate dependant, of course. So if it's transcoded to the same or higher bit rate, it won't lose any audio quality (it won't 'throw away' any further details again during the second encoding, if that makes sense), but transcoding to a lower bit rate will of course lower the quality accordingly. I had the same question a couple years back.
This is not true. Lossy-to-Lossy transcoding always results in lower quality compared to encoding from the source material and should be avoided completely as it will introduce newer compression artifacts etc.
https://wiki.hydrogenaud.io/index.php?title=Transcoding
 
Last edited:
Apr 30, 2021 at 10:59 AM Post #6,206 of 6,232

jelbo

New Head-Fier
Joined
Nov 27, 2009
Posts
37
Likes
22
This is not true. Lossy-to-Lossy transcoding always results in lower quality compared to encoding from the source material and should be avoided completely as it will introduce newer compression artifacts etc.
https://wiki.hydrogenaud.io/index.php?title=Transcoding
That's what I thought, though there are some sources that claim otherwise. I think Apple is able to pass along AAC untouched over bluetooth, as long as it's their own iTunes AAC files.

As for anything else, as far as I understand the best thing to do with bluetooth is to use a lossless source so there's only one pass of lossy encode; the codec used with the bluetooth connection. If it's LDAC, it will stay lossless.
 
Apr 30, 2021 at 6:04 PM Post #6,207 of 6,232

Nolbert0

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jun 15, 2017
Posts
335
Likes
134
Location
Equatorial Open Waters of SE Asia
This is not true. Lossy-to-Lossy transcoding always results in lower quality compared to encoding from the source material and should be avoided completely as it will introduce newer compression artifacts etc.
https://wiki.hydrogenaud.io/index.php?title=Transcoding
Your link only mentions transcoding between different lossy codecs and transcoding to a lower bitrate on ogg, not AAC to AAC. I'm very open to the idea of me being wrong tho. It was a while ago that I stumbled across that piece of info and I can't be bothered to dig it up right now (I think it was somewhere in HydrogenAudio as well actually, lol). And yes, the AAC rabbit hole I was sucked into back then was apple shaped. Android is a whole other can of worms!

Safer to have lossless sources for BT, agreed.
 
May 2, 2021 at 6:31 AM Post #6,208 of 6,232

Dili

New Head-Fier
Joined
Oct 24, 2020
Posts
10
Likes
3
Location
france
hi, my screen is broken. I go running with my M0, it fell and i wallked on it... it still working. But I just would like to know whether it's possible to change the glass on the top of the screen, the screen is okay.
 
May 4, 2021 at 1:21 PM Post #6,209 of 6,232

Strifeff7

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
May 27, 2020
Posts
628
Likes
486
Location
Indonesia
can I use this as a bluetooth receiver to a dac/amp?
connect it to something like ifi hipdac ?
 
Last edited:
May 4, 2021 at 4:10 PM Post #6,210 of 6,232

senorx12562

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jun 21, 2013
Posts
674
Likes
294
can I use this as a bluetooth receiver to a dac/amp?
connect it to something like ifi hipdac ?
Once the m0 has received the bt signal, it can only output an analog signal. You could send that analog signal to an outboard amplifier, but not to a dac, which will only convert a digital signal. It is nonsensical to send an analog signal to a dac.
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top