Sennheiser MM 550
Sep 23, 2010 at 5:57 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 19

Trastui

New Head-Fier
I'm wondering if someone has tested Sennheiser MM 550 travel headphones. They are new and the price is quite high so there is a chance that they are ok.

I recently lost my PXC 450 on airport and I really liked those, so I'm especially interested in pros/cons compared to PXC450. But since I found pretty much no useful info about MM 550 by googleing, all opinions/info is more than welcome.

For some reason I can't even find many places that sell MM 550.

Oct 11, 2010 at 7:07 AM Post #2 of 19
Hi,

I just bought a Sennheiser MM 550 and since I've been unable to find much info on these before buying too, I'm going to comment a little on them here.
I'm not a pro when it comes to headphones and the best one I've had so far was a Koss Portapro. Lastly I was mainly using a pair of Sennheiser CX 270 to listen my music in the transports (Paris noisy metro mainly ...), and as I'm going to do a few travels by plane I wanted an active noise reduction enabled headset (and bluetooth to replace my crappy Jabra Halo that died a few month ago). So, now you have an idea of what I'm comparing it to, let's start over.
Build quality seems good, on par with what I would wait from a headset with this price tag. The earcups are smaller than I though by looking at the pictures but still comfortable, but gets real hot when keeping the headset on for a long time (that will be pretty usefull for this winter, but last weekend we had some nice weather here and my ears were sweating under the earcups)
Sound quality is pretty good. Actually it's the best sound quality I've ever had on a bluetooth headset, and it's pretty much on par with the portapro (it's the first bluetooth headset that makes me realize the urge to re-encode some mp3 I have, making me hear the compression artefacts).