Sennheiser HD 600
Jun 30, 2015 at 2:32 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 9

rawad

New Head-Fier
Joined
Jun 30, 2015
Posts
2
Likes
10
Hello guys
 
 
i currently have Sennheiser HD 555 and Asus essence STX soundcard .
i am thinking of upgrading to the Sennheiser hd 600 .
 
does anyone have the same setup ?  , from the specs the stx should deliver enough power for the headphones ( 300 ohms ) 
would be happy to hear your opinions 
 
 
Thanks
 
Jul 1, 2015 at 12:54 AM Post #4 of 9

C6H5CH3

New Head-Fier
Joined
May 30, 2015
Posts
2
Likes
11
I've ran a HD600 from a Essence ST (which is basically the same card) for several months.
 
It will drive them well and more than loud enough if you desire so.
It's unlikely that you would ever find yourself going above 40% volume.
Their respective sound signatures also complement each other favorably in their warmish nature.
A discrete amp can still get more out of the 600, but a Xonar Essence will bring you a good part of the way.
 
It's a entry level combination I could recommend without reservations.
 
Jul 1, 2015 at 2:33 AM Post #5 of 9

Me x3

Member of the Trade: FiiO Store Argentina
Joined
Nov 22, 2012
Posts
4,832
Likes
892
  Hello guys
 
 
i currently have Sennheiser HD 555 and Asus essence STX soundcard .
i am thinking of upgrading to the Sennheiser hd 600 .
 
does anyone have the same setup ?  , from the specs the stx should deliver enough power for the headphones ( 300 ohms ) 
would be happy to hear your opinions 
 
 
Thanks

 
Asus Xonar STX can drive HD600 very well.
 
Happy Listening!
 
Jul 1, 2015 at 3:22 AM Post #6 of 9

kurumabanana

New Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 1, 2015
Posts
16
Likes
0
If it sounds good to you, then go with it. Idk where you're going to get your HD600s from, but most stores should have a fairly decent return policy.
 
I've ran a similar setup with HD650s into a Claro soundcard and was definitely satisfied with it. There's a lot of room for improvement though.
 
Jul 5, 2015 at 1:58 PM Post #7 of 9

rawad

New Head-Fier
Joined
Jun 30, 2015
Posts
2
Likes
10
thanks a lot guys , i really appreciate it .
i have bought the 600s and i am very happy with them :D 
would you also recommend me to add an amp to the setup ?  , if so id be happy to hear your recommendations .
 
i was thinking maybe : 
 

DarkVoice 336SE Headphone Tube Amplifier

 
or 
 

Little Dot MK III Headphone Tube Amplifier & PreAmp & tube AMPLIFIER

 
id say i can afford an amp up to 400 $ .
 
Thanks
 
Jul 5, 2015 at 7:14 PM Post #9 of 9

Me x3

Member of the Trade: FiiO Store Argentina
Joined
Nov 22, 2012
Posts
4,832
Likes
892
The Valhalla 2 is a highly regarded tube amp that works well with HD600. You shoud read about it!
 
Best Luck!
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top