1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.

Dismiss Notice

Seeking headphones and amp: neutral, comfortable (big head) ~$500

Next

Last
  1. Phonophonic
    Hello, this is my first post on the forum. I’m happy to have found such an amazing group of thoughtful people all interested in audio and headphones! I am new to the mid to high-end headphone arena; previously I have owned Sennheiser HD 280s, and I currently have a pair of Sony MDR-1RBTs (the Bluetooth version of the MDR-1Rs).

I have liked the way both sound, but my main problem with both sets is that I have a big head (7 3/4 hat size) and they feel like squeezing after 60-90 minutes no matter how I adjust them. I also don’t know what I am missing, as I’ve never owned better headphones than these, and I’m interested to find out what is possible. I am looking for a headphone and amp setup for preferably under $500 total. I’m willing to try used.

Type: circumaural, open or closed, leaning toward open for more comfort.

Sound: I listen to all types of music from classical, metal, and country, to hip hop and EDM. The music where I really get that frisson sensation is mostly cello and violin, or female vocals. I do enjoy good sub-bass response but would prefer a neutral response. I would also use them for watching movies and Netflix.

Source: Currently Spotify on an iPhone, iPad, or laptop. I may try Qobuz soon. However, I also need the capability for an analog connection at work, so any DAC/amp combo must also have an analog in. I don’t need higher than 16 bit with 44.1/48khz, and I’m more than willing to use Apple lightning and USB-C to 3.5mm DACs, as I’ve heard good things about them. It would be good if the headphones could sound at least decent without an amp, but I’m flexible.