Schiit Gungnir MB + Mjolnir 2 for Monitors?
Aug 1, 2017 at 12:09 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 25

SK2000

New Head-Fier
Hey guys,

I needed some suggestions since Im a complete audio noob and looking to get the best bang for the buck.

I've recently started into the audiophile world, bought an Asus STX II sound card and currently own an AKG K712, also have an HD6xx on the way, the drop is supposed to be shipped in December.

I didn't know anything about the headphone dac and amps so I purchased the soundcard late last yr, I wanted to really try the super high end stuff and I thought a $250 sound card must be the best thing out there LOL, and also ended up buying the decent headphones as well.

I've always have had the $20 earphones and I thought spending like $500-600 for personal audio experience would be like the most high end, but of course I'm beginning to discover things now.

In near future, may be 1-2 yrs I wanna buy the Schit Gungnir Multibit + Mjolnir 2 the sold state and tube hybrid. Im trying to get the best possible stuff I can get without having to spend like $5000+ for each equipment, and also will probably sell my two headphones and get an HD800/s.

I also need a good pair of monitors and Im eyeing Yamaha HS7's with sub (HS8S). Do you guys think my headphone dac and amp would work great with the HS7's? Would it not matter such a high price gap between these two different products, I mean for the price range of HS7's, wouldn't speding $500-600 on dac/amp be sufficient, but again I will have HD800 as well to drive.

Is their another pair of monitors can you guys suggest that would take proper advantage of the Gungnir Multibit + Mjolnir 2 and produce best possible sound for me. Once I have monitors, I'll probably be listening to them more than my headphones.

Thanks for helping me out here!!