Schiit Audio Bifrost 2
Sep 9, 2021 at 9:38 AM Post #2,372 of 2,498

Sean H

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Oct 23, 2001
Posts
2,425
Likes
113
Why ? Bifrost is a balanced DAC
The Bifrost has balanced outputs essentially derived from the single ended circuit but does not have a true balanced circuit like the Gungnir or Yggdrasil.
 
Sep 10, 2021 at 2:38 PM Post #2,373 of 2,498

tafens

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Mar 13, 2015
Posts
835
Likes
1,280
Location
Sweden
I honestly think it would be beneficial for them to release any data they have on the percentage of each product that is returned as (and proven to be) defective. My guess is that the numbers are pretty average. It‘s just that the hifi audio community, by definition, is a nit-picky bunch. Plus, bad news is more likely and quicker to spread. I mean, what percentage of people take the time to post when the thing they bought is working as intended vs. not working as intended? If the defective numbers are close to the industry average, I’m totally fine with that.

It is very unusual for any business to release such data. Businesses in any industry would certainly like to have this information about their competitors.

In the last live live stream they showed the Valencia premises and also went by the repairs department, which, if I understood things correctly, interestingly enough consisted of only one desk and one person. Apparently, that was enough to manage all repairs just fine. Of course there are lemons, and some slip out, but if the quality and QC were bad, I wouldn’t think just one repair person would be enough, especially considering the 5 year warranty on the larger gear.
 
Sep 10, 2021 at 2:52 PM Post #2,374 of 2,498

ohmy

New Head-Fier
Joined
Aug 7, 2021
Posts
22
Likes
70
Location
California
In the last live live stream they showed the Valencia premises and also went by the repairs department, which, if I understood things correctly, interestingly enough consisted of only one desk and one person. Apparently, that was enough to manage all repairs just fine. Of course there are lemons, and some slip out, but if the quality and QC were bad, I wouldn’t think just one repair person would be enough, especially considering the 5 year warranty on the larger gear.
I watched that as well. They run a lean machine. It would be tough, as a business owner, to predict ROI on every little thing you do. I stand by my original sentiment. If any CEO/company would do such a thing, it seems it would be Jason/Schiit. Could it hurt their business? Maybe, but I doubt it. Part of the appeal is their upfront, candid, snarky approach. It draws some people in. It makes you feel like your part of something rather than dealing with a cold, lifeless, capitalistic entity.
 
Sep 10, 2021 at 7:03 PM Post #2,375 of 2,498

Neweymatt

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jun 11, 2020
Posts
810
Likes
660
Location
NTL
Could it hurt their business?
Sure, if they had great numbers to brag about they could do this in their typical goofy brash manner. But if you do something like that, it's the kind of thing that could really come back to bite you in the future, so I'm not sure there's much advantage.

I reckon their current approach is just fine, Schiit is a clear price/performance leader in this market. With the growing Schiit-pile I have on my desk, and plans for additional bits around the house, I accept that if I have any problem with one of the boxes, I'll have to send it back to the US. That would be annoying, and a little bit expensive, but I figure I'm already ahead on the deal considering the value I perceive in the products, so I'll just roll with it if it happens.
 
Sep 10, 2021 at 9:58 PM Post #2,376 of 2,498

Mr BubbaHyde

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Oct 6, 2020
Posts
699
Likes
671
Location
US
As a BF2 owner I follow this thread regularly, and I now have a question for the BF2 owners.

I am also very active in the iFI audio Zen Stream thread and a few people are having issues with the BF2 and three iFi, I'll be brief.

The situation is specifically when using Tidal Connect to the ZS and USB to three BF2. Some are getting very unstable connections, connections disappearing, and a few are having what I can only call a digital noise when pausing Tidal, it's almost like digital signal breakup, but starts constant.

This problem is Not Happening with my setup so it's hard to help them.

Are any of you guys expending any issues with Tidal Connect and the BF2 using USB?

Thanks in advance!!

Cheers!!!
 
Sep 10, 2021 at 10:08 PM Post #2,377 of 2,498

Alcophone

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jul 28, 2017
Posts
2,006
Likes
2,434
Location
San Francisco
The situation is specifically when using Tidal Connect to the ZS and USB to three BF2. Some are getting very unstable connections, connections disappearing, and a few are having what I can only call a digital noise when pausing Tidal, it's almost like digital signal breakup, but starts constant.
Unstable connections between the app and the streamer, or the streamer and the DAC? Connections disappearing = the streamer doesn't show up in Tidal Connect? Are there recordings of that breakup noise?
 
Sep 10, 2021 at 10:16 PM Post #2,378 of 2,498

Mr BubbaHyde

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Oct 6, 2020
Posts
699
Likes
671
Location
US
Unstable connections between the app and the streamer, or the streamer and the DAC? Connections disappearing = the streamer doesn't show up in Tidal Connect? Are there recordings

Yes there are reports of both in terms of connection, I myself believe it something funky with Tidal Conn. But obviously I'm not sure.

The steamer disappears from the Tidal App as well. I did make a video that includes the original "digital" nose on pause at the beginning. I have done everything I can to try and assist in this, but I'm kinda at the end of what I can do. Here's the video...

 
Last edited:
Sep 10, 2021 at 10:35 PM Post #2,379 of 2,498

Zer0.p0int.Zer0

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 20, 2017
Posts
282
Likes
517
Location
Maine
Yes there are reports of both in terms of connection, I myself believe it something funky with Tidal Conn. But obviously I'm not sure.

The steamer disappears from the Tidal App as well. I did make a video that includes the original "digital" nose on pause at the beginning. I have done everything I can to try and assist in this, but I'm kinda at the end of what I can do. Here's the video...


I used to get that noise with Tidal through microRendu into Yggy. I switched to Qobuz earlier this year and it hasn’t happened since.
 
Sep 10, 2021 at 10:37 PM Post #2,380 of 2,498

Mr BubbaHyde

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Oct 6, 2020
Posts
699
Likes
671
Location
US
I used to get that noise with Tidal through microRendu into Yggy. I switched to Qobuz earlier this year and it hasn’t happened since.
Thanks appreciate it!!
 
Sep 10, 2021 at 10:39 PM Post #2,381 of 2,498

Alcophone

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jul 28, 2017
Posts
2,006
Likes
2,434
Location
San Francisco
Yes there are reports of both in terms of connection, I myself believe it something funky with Tidal Conn. But obviously I'm not sure.

The steamer disappears from the Tidal App as well. I did make a video that includes the original "digital" nose on pause at the beginning. I have done everything I can to try and assist in this, but I'm kinda at the end of what I can do. Here's the video...

Eek. Okay, that's not the buffer size issue I had with foobar2000, WASAPI event mode, and Bifrost 2. Schiit's DACs are pretty eager to disconnect when the signal gets funky, so combined with what @Zer0.p0int.Zer0 is saying, my hunch is that it's a Tidal Connect issue. Sounds like the streamer continues to send from the same buffer, and that buffer isn't getting refilled, so maybe the Tidal Connect half crashed and there's a separate streamer component that just shuffles bits from a buffer to the outputs. Would make sense from a noise isolation point of view.
 
Sep 10, 2021 at 10:48 PM Post #2,383 of 2,498

Mr BubbaHyde

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Oct 6, 2020
Posts
699
Likes
671
Location
US
Sure. I realize it’s a much different set up. I wasn’t using the Tidal app directly. I use Audirvāna to microRendu connected via Ethernet cable.
This seems to be pretty confined to the Tidal app itself, and only Tidal thru the connect app. All others like Roon are good!

Appreciate the info very much!!
 
Sep 11, 2021 at 12:08 AM Post #2,384 of 2,498

markkr

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Sep 9, 2003
Posts
1,374
Likes
84
Did you have to pay for the shipping to them? I found it a bit surprising that they didn't cover that for a covered warranty fix.
I had to pay for shipping back to them, honestly that seems quite fair to me.
 
Sep 12, 2021 at 11:59 PM Post #2,385 of 2,498

cwoo

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 29, 2009
Posts
261
Likes
184
Location
PA
This seems to be pretty confined to the Tidal app itself, and only Tidal thru the connect app. All others like Roon are good!

Appreciate the info very much!!
I get issues every time I have to do a Roon update. I lose like 5 listening zones (my denon receiver usually tends to remain after the upgrade, but via airplay only). It's really annoying. I have a bifrost2 in my office, 2 monitors with speakers, a set of kanto desktop speakers, a USB headset, and a ropieeexl to a bifrost2 in the living room.

I spent hours researching the issue, messing with windows audio settings, rebooting my computer, unplugging the USB cables from the bifrost, rebooting the bifrost (which i hate turning them off), restarting the roon server, etc... nothing!

After a few hours, I would come back to my computer, and would find that all zones and devices are back up. I'm not sure if this is a bifrost issue or not. It really seems to be Roon related and its really frustrating.

I have even restored to a Roon backup and that does not help.

Now before an upgrade of Roon, I make sure that I am not sitting down for a listening session. I'll make a note to upgrade like 8 hours before I plan on using the Roon software again. The forums say this has been an issue in the past and was resolved. I can confirm that there is still something not right, and I am certainly not going to blame the bifrosts for the fact that I lose like 5 other listening zones after a Roon software upgrade.

Oddly, the bifrosts will still show up as devices under the audio settings in Roon after the upgrade, but they will never be available as a listening zone.
 
Last edited:

Users who are viewing this thread

Top