Schiit Audio Bifrost 2
post-15210552
Post #136 of 849

quimbo

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 11, 2011
Messages
240
Reaction score
252
Joined
Feb 11, 2011
Posts
240
Likes
252
I had a Jotunheim (off when not in use) on top as well. Briefly had this setup with the new one:



Both seemed to run a bit cooler this way.

Now the Bifrost 2 is under a glass monitor riser and the Jotunheim is on top of the riser. We're having a heatwave in San Francisco right now and the Bifrost 2 is unpleasantly hot just idling. About as hot as the Yggdrasil in a cabinet with a door (but no rear walls), which I've been using all day. Meanwhile, the Ragnarok 2 on top of the cabinet is merely handwarm while powering my speakers. Those heatsinks are very effective. :)
I bought these anti-vibrations pads - https://www.supplyhouse.com/DiversiTech-MP-2E-EVA-Anti-Vibration-Pad-2-x-2-x-7-8 - mentioned in one of the threads. I placed them between the Bifrost 2 and Lyr 3. The heat around the Lyr3 is not as hot as it used to be
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: Rensek
post-15211052
Post #137 of 849

Rapid7

New Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 7, 2014
Messages
30
Reaction score
5
Location
UK
Joined
Jul 7, 2014
Location
UK
Posts
30
Likes
5
Age
47
Just a quick question for Bifrost 2 owners, when first switching the unit on the front source and inverter lights flash for around 10 seconds then go out then start flashing again & then finally the unit clicks?

Thanks.
 
     Share This Post       
post-15211142
Post #138 of 849

tafens

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Mar 13, 2015
Messages
539
Reaction score
570
Location
Sweden
Joined
Mar 13, 2015
Location
Sweden
Posts
539
Likes
570
Just a quick question for Bifrost 2 owners, when first switching the unit on the front source and inverter lights flash for around 10 seconds then go out then start flashing again & then finally the unit clicks?

Thanks.
Yes.
When the lights stop flashing the USB input light is on, but there is no click until I connect the USB to the laptop later.
I usually turn it and the amp on one hour or so before listening to warm up while I have other things to tend to.
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: Rapid7
post-15211163
Post #139 of 849

Rapid7

New Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 7, 2014
Messages
30
Reaction score
5
Location
UK
Joined
Jul 7, 2014
Location
UK
Posts
30
Likes
5
Age
47
Thanks, mines connected via usb to a desktop pc so that would be why mine clicks straight after the lights stop flashing and the usb input light is illuminated.

Just a heads up that there is a new filmware update available.

Bifrost 2 Current Firmware: Bifrost 2 C0088, D0105
Release Date: 9/26/2019

Release notes: This maintenance release eliminates USB lockout and solves incompatibility with some third party remote controls. No sound changes. Recommended for all Bifrost 2 owners.

https://www.schiit.com/firmware
 
Last edited:
     Share This Post       
post-15211240
Post #140 of 849

Rensek

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 29, 2018
Messages
961
Reaction score
2,139
Location
US Midwest
Joined
Jan 29, 2018
Location
US Midwest
Posts
961
Likes
2,139
I think their new autonomy platform is already showing its value. Pretty cool to push this out as quickly as they have.
 
     Share This Post       
post-15211266
Post #141 of 849
Joined
Jun 9, 2010
Messages
2,651
Reaction score
17,560
Location
Newhall, CA
Joined
Jun 9, 2010
Location
Newhall, CA
Posts
2,651
Likes
17,560
Website
www.schiit.com
I think their new autonomy platform is already showing its value. Pretty cool to push this out as quickly as they have.
We'll also be sending new firmware on MicroSD cards out next week to all owners. The firmware is available now on the site, but if you hold on till next week, you won't have to write your own SD card.
 
post-15211281
Post #142 of 849

Alcophone

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jul 28, 2017
Messages
1,553
Reaction score
1,457
Location
San Francisco
Joined
Jul 28, 2017
Location
San Francisco
Posts
1,553
Likes
1,457
We'll also be sending new firmware on MicroSD cards out next week to all owners. The firmware is available now on the site, but if you hold on till next week, you won't have to write your own SD card.
That's a nice service, but I for one have plenty of micro SD cards flying around. I'm wondering how many of the users would prefer you spending money on a (presumably cheap, thus kind of throw away) card and postage over using what they may already have.
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: GarageBoy
post-15211340
Post #143 of 849

Alcophone

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jul 28, 2017
Messages
1,553
Reaction score
1,457
Location
San Francisco
Joined
Jul 28, 2017
Location
San Francisco
Posts
1,553
Likes
1,457
Taking a closer look, the firmware website specifically suggests formatting the SD card with "32KB cluster/allocation unit size", which a random SD card may not already have, and maybe you don't want to reformat it because it has data on it. To find out the cluster size on Windows, hit Win+R, type cmd, hit Enter, type "wmic volume get driveletter,blocksize" (without the quotes), hit enter. The SD card I had was in D:, so "32768 D:" told me it had the specified cluster size (1 KB = 1024 Bytes, so 32 x 1024 = 32768).

I installed the firmware update, and it looks like it worked! I can cycle through all three inputs even with the USB cord disconnected. Thanks, Jason!

Is that something you would tell people about via the Newsletter ("Spam" link on Schiit?)
 
     Share This Post       
post-15211744
Post #145 of 849

nerone

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 10, 2014
Messages
130
Reaction score
133
Joined
Feb 10, 2014
Posts
130
Likes
133
We'll also be sending new firmware on MicroSD cards out next week to all owners. The firmware is available now on the site, but if you hold on till next week, you won't have to write your own SD card.
Hey @Jason Stoddard
As a future improvement for the autonomy platform you could have the option to allow the end user to make some minor customization, like disable some of the inputs if not needed. Something similar to what Devialet makes, a webpage where you click some options and download the firmware. Then those who only need two won't have to go through the one unused. I don't know what else could be firmware dependent, but this is a start.
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: schneller
post-15212136
Post #146 of 849

Baten

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Sep 13, 2012
Messages
1,064
Reaction score
367
Joined
Sep 13, 2012
Posts
1,064
Likes
367
Hey @Jason Stoddard
As a future improvement for the autonomy platform you could have the option to allow the end user to make some minor customization, like disable some of the inputs if not needed. Something similar to what Devialet makes, a webpage where you click some options and download the firmware. Then those who only need two won't have to go through the one unused. I don't know what else could be firmware dependent, but this is a start.
Sounds largely unnecessary..
 
     Share This Post       
post-15212352
Post #147 of 849

tincanear

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Sep 2, 2019
Messages
316
Reaction score
469
Location
west coast, USA
Joined
Sep 2, 2019
Location
west coast, USA
Posts
316
Likes
469
Hey @Jason Stoddard
As a future improvement for the autonomy platform you could have the option to allow the end user to make some minor customization, like disable some of the inputs if not needed. Something similar to what Devialet makes, a webpage where you click some options and download the firmware. Then those who only need two won't have to go through the one unused. I don't know what else could be firmware dependent, but this is a start.
and then what happens some time in the future when you forget about the customized lockout and add more inputs, or worse, re-sell the unit to someone else :frowning2:
more customization = more that can go wrong. remember Honda motor company's slogan "we make it simple"
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: Rensek
post-15212421
Post #148 of 849

nerone

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 10, 2014
Messages
130
Reaction score
133
Joined
Feb 10, 2014
Posts
130
Likes
133
Sounds largely unnecessary..
I didn't say it was necessary, it is optional, like upgrading the USB card in the future. It will work as is, but can be more suited to your needs.

and then what happens some time in the future when you forget about the customized lockout and add more inputs, or worse, re-sell the unit to someone else :frowning2:
more customization = more that can go wrong. remember Honda motor company's slogan "we make it simple"
Sure, simple is reliable. But if a person has a problem in the future, he can do as anyone should: read the manual and follow the instructions or contact tech support at Schiit.
It is likely that we will have to update the firmware to use new boards anyway, I guess this is the reason why the end user can update the firmware on his own, considering that to upgrade to new USB boards people had to send units back to Schiit to update the firmware for some of the products.
 
     Share This Post       
post-15213306
Post #149 of 849

kdoof

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 5, 2017
Messages
165
Reaction score
77
Location
Los Angeles
Joined
Dec 5, 2017
Location
Los Angeles
Posts
165
Likes
77
I wonder if this bad batch of components will result in some b-stock Bifrost 2's. I'd be on board for that :)
 
     Share This Post       
post-15213600
Post #150 of 849

Rensek

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 29, 2018
Messages
961
Reaction score
2,139
Location
US Midwest
Joined
Jan 29, 2018
Location
US Midwest
Posts
961
Likes
2,139
I wonder if this bad batch of components will result in some b-stock Bifrost 2's. I'd be on board for that :)
Methinks it will be awhile before we see b stock on Bifrost. Has anyone noticed b stock on Aegir, Ragnarok 2, or the new Sagas & Freyas yet? I haven't, and I'm a serial b stock checker.
 
     Share This Post       

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 2, Guests: 4)

  • Top