RS-1 Cable Upgrade - is this possible?
Jul 29, 2008 at 9:50 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 14

maclrc

New Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 28, 2008
Posts
28
Likes
0
I've read a lot about how new cable (e.g. black dragon) can improve HD650s, etc.

Is something similar for Grado RS-1s. If so:

1) Where can you get it done? (I'm in the UK)
2)Is it worth it?
 
Jul 29, 2008 at 10:36 PM Post #3 of 14

G-man

Formerly known as gautam
Joined
Apr 13, 2008
Posts
1,830
Likes
11
Quote:

Originally Posted by FallenAngel /img/forum/go_quote.gif
Most people would not recable RS-2 or RS-1 because it's VERY easy to damage them. Usually people send the cable to Grado Labs for installation on new drivers.


or get it done by a professional (there are many websites that offer that, like the ones that actually sell the recable) still whats better than getting it done by grado themselves.
 
Jul 29, 2008 at 10:37 PM Post #4 of 14

TheMarchingMule

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Feb 1, 2006
Posts
9,158
Likes
21
Location
SoCal
apuresound.com
wink.gif
 
Jul 29, 2008 at 10:53 PM Post #9 of 14

G-man

Formerly known as gautam
Joined
Apr 13, 2008
Posts
1,830
Likes
11
Quote:

Originally Posted by FallenAngel /img/forum/go_quote.gif
Yes, they do exist, but like I said, a lot of "professionals" won't do it themselves. Headphile doesn't do RS-1/RS-2 recables and the last and only Moon-Audio cable I've seen was sent to Grado for cable installation.


well then there you go. send it grado.
 
Jul 30, 2008 at 12:31 AM Post #10 of 14

M0T0XGUY

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Dec 11, 2006
Posts
1,723
Likes
12
Quote:

Originally Posted by G-man /img/forum/go_quote.gif
or get it done by a professional (there are many websites that offer that, like the ones that actually sell the recable) still whats better than getting it done by grado themselves.


You then pay for the cable, new drivers and possibly an installation charge. It adds up quick.
 
Jul 30, 2008 at 4:03 AM Post #11 of 14

espire

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jun 5, 2007
Posts
518
Likes
10
Quote:

Originally Posted by maclrc /img/forum/go_quote.gif
Is it possible to improve SQ significantly by re-cabling?


That is a very subjective question. Science tells me that it doesn't make an audible difference, and I trust science. However, I'm not at the 'level', so to speak, where I have the gear or the trained ear to know. Many will tell you that the difference is phenomenal.
 
Jul 30, 2008 at 6:40 AM Post #12 of 14

FallenAngel

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Mar 7, 2006
Posts
9,627
Likes
72
Location
Toronto
Quote:

Originally Posted by espire /img/forum/go_quote.gif
That is a very subjective question. Science tells me that it doesn't make an audible difference, and I trust science. However, I'm not at the 'level', so to speak, where I have the gear or the trained ear to know. Many will tell you that the difference is phenomenal.


Yep, the "science camp" says they "can't make an audible difference" - full quote, audiophiles say there's a drastic difference in every possible component.

My ears tell me there's a difference and I do enjoy sitting down with somebody who doesn't believe in cables and chilling over a couple of beers while listening to a few different interconnects that all look the same, have different wires inside and try to tell if they sound the same. So far, I nobody has left my table without saying they're different, yet they all "work" so science gets blown to ****.
 
Jul 30, 2008 at 10:21 AM Post #14 of 14

maclrc

New Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 28, 2008
Posts
28
Likes
0
Thank you for your input all.

I've decided that it probably isn't worth the hassle of changing the cable given the expense involved (new cable, new drivers, Grado's fee, shipping to US and back, etc.).

Maybe something to consider with different cans. Alternatively I could always swap my Grado extention cable for a different one out on demo and see if I can hear an improvement
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top