Rockbox Xduoo X3
Dec 25, 2017 at 11:32 AM Post #2,116 of 2,607

weedophile

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 3, 2016
Posts
644
Likes
427
Location
Singapore
Pretty sure that's a setting that can be tweaked.

Also, when you say the screen fades, do you mean actually gradually "fading out"? Or just the screen going dark as flipping a light switch?
I guess its alright now since @bsoplinger suggested the option button which works like a charm! And thanks so much man! Even though this is an old DAP but its still having so much love :L3000:
 
Dec 27, 2017 at 1:19 AM Post #2,117 of 2,607

Starway

New Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 3, 2017
Posts
36
Likes
19
Location
Melbourne, Australia
20171227_172040.jpg When playing a file I get this then it freezes. What I get wrong?
 
Last edited:
Dec 27, 2017 at 12:56 PM Post #2,118 of 2,607

mbwilson111

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Oct 13, 2016
Posts
9,326
Likes
17,568
Location
From Michigan & Upstate NY but live in UK
When playing a file I get this then it freezes. What I get wrong?

See post #938 on page 63... I would copy link for you but am on tablet at the moment... Worked for me and others
 
Dec 27, 2017 at 1:09 PM Post #2,119 of 2,607

Slater

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jun 5, 2015
Posts
13,407
Likes
24,295
Location
Cincinnati, Ohio USA
Jan 4, 2018 at 6:28 AM Post #2,121 of 2,607

mbwilson111

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Oct 13, 2016
Posts
9,326
Likes
17,568
Location
From Michigan & Upstate NY but live in UK
You have many choices as to what is shown on the screen when you use rockbox. On the rockbox site you will find many skins. Any of the ones for the Sansa Clip will work.

Cheers gents. Rockbox really takes the X3 to a new level.

However I do miss the sample rate/bit-depth display. Would have it over the date and time.

Check a couple of pages back especially this post:

https://www.head-fi.org/threads/rockbox-xduoo-x3.803844/page-140#post-13922605
 
Jan 4, 2018 at 7:11 AM Post #2,122 of 2,607

narco dacunzolo

New Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 24, 2017
Posts
41
Likes
76
I saw that the Xduoo X3 can have Rockbox installed, so instead of having it on the othe X3 thread I decided to start it here.

Here are the instructions to install Rockbox:

http://xvtx.ru/rockbox/manual.htm

Edit: When renaming update-to-rockbox-xx.zip, first make sure that you are able to view hidden files for your OS(Mac: http://ianlunn.co.uk/articles/quickly-showhide-hidden-files-mac-os-x-mavericks/ and PC: http://windows.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/show-hidden-files#show-hidden-files=windows-7 ) then rename it to update, it would then be update.zip

Here are the Rockbox files that are needed:

http://xvtx.ru/rockbox/download.htm

Themes - how to change or add them:

To change themes select Settings > Theme Settings > Browse Theme Files. Find one you want to try and press Play/Pause.

To add additional themes, go to http://themes.rockbox.org/index.php?target=sansaclip , select what you want and download it. Unzip it and add the themename.cfg to the themes subfolder within .rockbox on your mSD card. It should now appear among the additional themes you can select.

Gapless Playback - Just turn off crossfade and the playback will be gapless.

Rockbox'd X3 not recognized by PC
- Make sure to have the button lock switch set to the locked\on position, before powering on your X3 and connecting it to your computer.

Second card slot not reading sd card - The second card must be formatted to FAT32 and have the .rockbox folder in the root directory. Windows users can use these programs to format their SD card to FAT32, go here: http://www.ridgecrop.demon.co.uk/index.htm?fat32format.htm
Thanks for starting this thread, i didn t know could Rockbox xduoo dap
I saw that the Xduoo X3 can have Rockbox installed, so instead of having it on the othe X3 thread I decided to start it here.

Here are the instructions to install Rockbox:

http://xvtx.ru/rockbox/manual.htm

Edit: When renaming update-to-rockbox-xx.zip, first make sure that you are able to view hidden files for your OS(Mac: http://ianlunn.co.uk/articles/quickly-showhide-hidden-files-mac-os-x-mavericks/ and PC: http://windows.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/show-hidden-files#show-hidden-files=windows-7 ) then rename it to update, it would then be update.zip

Here are the Rockbox files that are needed:

http://xvtx.ru/rockbox/download.htm

Themes - how to change or add them:

To change themes select Settings > Theme Settings > Browse Theme Files. Find one you want to try and press Play/Pause.

To add additional themes, go to http://themes.rockbox.org/index.php?target=sansaclip , select what you want and download it. Unzip it and add the themename.cfg to the themes subfolder within .rockbox on your mSD card. It should now appear among the additional themes you can select.

Gapless Playback - Just turn off crossfade and the playback will be gapless.

Rockbox'd X3 not recognized by PC
- Make sure to have the button lock switch set to the locked\on position, before powering on your X3 and connecting it to your computer.

Second card slot not reading sd card - The second card must be formatted to FAT32 and have the .rockbox folder in the root directory. Windows users can use these programs to format their SD card to FAT32, go here: http://www.ridgecrop.demon.co.uk/index.htm?fat32format.htm
thanks i didn t know that coulcd Rockbox xduoo dap
 
Jan 4, 2018 at 7:33 PM Post #2,124 of 2,607

BigDave

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 20, 2004
Posts
279
Likes
23
For the life of me I can't seem to find how to change the gain setting in rockbox. Or is this not possible? cheers guys.
 
Jan 4, 2018 at 11:18 PM Post #2,125 of 2,607

Slater

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jun 5, 2015
Posts
13,407
Likes
24,295
Location
Cincinnati, Ohio USA
Jan 5, 2018 at 6:20 PM Post #2,126 of 2,607

BigDave

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 20, 2004
Posts
279
Likes
23
cheers Slater, I already read that before installing rockbox and remember it well from my sansa clip. Just thought I was missing something in regards to being able to change the gain switch on the X3 in rockbox. So I gather that I have to port back to the original software to change it and then port back over to rockbox. That is a shame. Hopefully a change can be made in the future.
 
Jan 5, 2018 at 6:41 PM Post #2,127 of 2,607

mbwilson111

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Oct 13, 2016
Posts
9,326
Likes
17,568
Location
From Michigan & Upstate NY but live in UK
cheers Slater, I already read that before installing rockbox and remember it well from my sansa clip. Just thought I was missing something in regards to being able to change the gain switch on the X3 in rockbox. So I gather that I have to port back to the original software to change it and then port back over to rockbox. That is a shame. Hopefully a change can be made in the future.

There is a +6db gain on by default in rockbox on the x3 .. some people turn it off. I don't have time right now to find it and tell you where it is but you can poke around the settings.

check out this post from ages ago...everything we need to know is in this thread somewhere...


https://www.head-fi.org/threads/rockbox-xduoo-x3.803844/page-23#post-12595505
 
Last edited:
Jan 5, 2018 at 7:05 PM Post #2,128 of 2,607

Slater

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jun 5, 2015
Posts
13,407
Likes
24,295
Location
Cincinnati, Ohio USA
cheers Slater, I already read that before installing rockbox and remember it well from my sansa clip. Just thought I was missing something in regards to being able to change the gain switch on the X3 in rockbox. So I gather that I have to port back to the original software to change it and then port back over to rockbox. That is a shame. Hopefully a change can be made in the future.

That plan won't work (flashing back and changing the gain), because Rockbox does it's own gain.

If you search this thread, @XVortex explained what he did to gain in Rockbox. If I remember correctly, I think he hard set it to +6dB.
 
Jan 8, 2018 at 11:59 PM Post #2,129 of 2,607

JackiesFridge

Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 28, 2015
Posts
96
Likes
50
...when i push any buttons, i dont get to the now playing screen. [...]And the random feature is pretty odd as it shuffles the current and overwrites the current playlist and plays it in the new sequence lol.

Go to Settings - General - Display - LCD Settings - First Buttonpress Enables Backlight and change it to Yes. That way you can press any button to wake the screen without changing the player's behavior.

If you want to add a randomized folder or playlist to the currently playing playlist without replacing it, navigate to the folder/playlist you want to add, long-press Play and choose Current Playlist - Insert Shuffled. That will shuffle your new selection into the currently playing selection. It's a nice way to make a mega-playlist of several smaller playlists without having to create more.

Hope that helps!
 
Jan 22, 2018 at 1:12 AM Post #2,130 of 2,607

chrishh

New Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 16, 2015
Posts
6
Likes
2
I converted my xduoo successfully to Rockbox. It works mostly as expected. But I tried to skip to the next or even previous song by using the FWD / REV buttons without success. Is there a trick which I don't know? Any help is appreciated. And sorry if this question was raised before. Searching does not give sufficient results.
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top