RME ADI-2 DAC Thread
post-15042209
Post #1,426 of 2,033

Tsukuyomi

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Mar 25, 2015
Messages
1,303
Reaction score
357
Location
Canada
Joined
Mar 25, 2015
Location
Canada
Posts
1,303
Likes
357
What frequencies do you play with to dial up the warmth a bit?
Thats hard to answer, because i feel its artist/album/genre dependant. but for example, when i was listening to Hans Zimmers batman soundtrack, i bumped 20-50hz a tiny bit. and i liked it.
 
     Share This Post       
post-15042666
Post #1,427 of 2,033

technobear

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Oct 27, 2010
Messages
1,907
Reaction score
464
Location
Glastonbury, UK
Joined
Oct 27, 2010
Location
Glastonbury, UK
Posts
1,907
Likes
464
What frequencies do you play with to dial up the warmth a bit?
To start, centre on 150 Hz and adjust Q to spread the tails out to 50 Hz and 500 Hz or thereabouts. Don't overdo the gain. 1 dB may be enough. Experiment from there.

If voices still sound a bit thin like they are lacking a body, try a small reduction centred on 3000 Hz spreading to about 1000 and 5000. Again just a few dB.
 
     Share This Post       
post-15043539
Post #1,428 of 2,033

Kitechaser

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Aug 29, 2018
Messages
1,811
Reaction score
1,131
Location
Los Angeles
Joined
Aug 29, 2018
Location
Los Angeles
Posts
1,811
Likes
1,131
How well does this pair with a magnepan 1.7i?
I would like to use this as a DAC/Preamp paired with Bryston 7bst monoblocks.
Anyone?
Thank you
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: greyscale75
post-15049028
Post #1,429 of 2,033

Kitechaser

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Aug 29, 2018
Messages
1,811
Reaction score
1,131
Location
Los Angeles
Joined
Aug 29, 2018
Location
Los Angeles
Posts
1,811
Likes
1,131
Are you able to use say the SONY WM1A as a source through the USB out?
Can someone please answer this question.
Thanks
 
     Share This Post       
post-15049076
Post #1,430 of 2,033

lhydavid

Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 8, 2019
Messages
65
Reaction score
34
Location
Singapore
Joined
Jan 8, 2019
Location
Singapore
Posts
65
Likes
34
Are you able to use say the SONY WM1A as a source through the USB out?
Can someone please answer this question.
Thanks
If i am not mistaken with the latest fw from sony, the wm1a now has the usb dac functionality. To use it as a source for the RME you might need a usb otg adapter/cable so that the RME recognizes thr wm1a as a source. Then you should be good to go.

The chain could be
1) Wm1a
2) usb otg adapter
3) usb cable (the one that came with RME is pretty good)
4) RME ADI-2 DAC
5) headphone/iem

Hope this helps.
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: cardeli22
post-15049084
Post #1,431 of 2,033

Kitechaser

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Aug 29, 2018
Messages
1,811
Reaction score
1,131
Location
Los Angeles
Joined
Aug 29, 2018
Location
Los Angeles
Posts
1,811
Likes
1,131
If i am not mistaken with the latest fw from sony, the wm1a now has the usb dac functionality. To use it as a source for the RME you might need a usb otg adapter/cable so that the RME recognizes thr wm1a as a source. Then you should be good to go.

The chain could be
1) Wm1a
2) usb otg adapter
3) usb cable (the one that came with RME is pretty good)
4) RME ADI-2 DAC
5) headphone/iem

Hope this helps.
Thanks for answering that.
I'll be using this as a DAC/Preamp for my Speaker system. Just wanted to make sure I would be able to use a DAP as a source.
 
     Share This Post       
post-15049102
Post #1,432 of 2,033

lhydavid

Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 8, 2019
Messages
65
Reaction score
34
Location
Singapore
Joined
Jan 8, 2019
Location
Singapore
Posts
65
Likes
34
Thanks for answering that.
I'll be using this as a DAC/Preamp for my Speaker system. Just wanted to make sure I would be able to use a DAP as a source.
Do be careful not to use both the rca out and xlr out at the same time on the RME though. If you do use the rca, do make sure there is nothing connected to the xlr out and vice versa. Cheers!
 
     Share This Post       
post-15049383
Post #1,433 of 2,033

captblaze

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 11, 2016
Messages
1,139
Reaction score
573
Location
Blazin it up in the land of Lincoln
Joined
Feb 11, 2016
Location
Blazin it up in the land of Lincoln
Posts
1,139
Likes
573
Are you able to use say the SONY WM1A as a source through the USB out?
Can someone please answer this question.
Thanks
Here is the solution I use when I want to connect to a USB DAC.

20190707_142333623_iOS.jpg
 

Attachments

post-15049389
Post #1,434 of 2,033

Tsukuyomi

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Mar 25, 2015
Messages
1,303
Reaction score
357
Location
Canada
Joined
Mar 25, 2015
Location
Canada
Posts
1,303
Likes
357
Here is the solution I use when I want to connect to a USB DAC.

could you provide a link to where you purchased that? just in case. :) Thanks!
 
     Share This Post       
post-15049438
Post #1,435 of 2,033

captblaze

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 11, 2016
Messages
1,139
Reaction score
573
Location
Blazin it up in the land of Lincoln
Joined
Feb 11, 2016
Location
Blazin it up in the land of Lincoln
Posts
1,139
Likes
573
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: Tsukuyomi
post-15049620
Post #1,436 of 2,033

adeseaso

New Head-Fier
Joined
Jun 7, 2013
Messages
45
Reaction score
34
Joined
Jun 7, 2013
Posts
45
Likes
34
I was unaware of this and the feature set warranted an evaluation, one is on its way.

Mainly using Chord Hugo (first version) right now so those two will duke it out in the trenches in the coming weeks.
 
     Share This Post       
post-15050262
Post #1,437 of 2,033

Allanmarcus

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jan 15, 2014
Messages
4,521
Reaction score
1,626
Location
New Mexico
Joined
Jan 15, 2014
Location
New Mexico
Posts
4,521
Likes
1,626
I just tried the amp with Hi-Power mode on with the Utopia. I think there is an improvement. More punch and dynamics. More emotional. Probably even better with high impedance phones. Any other comments on hi-power mode?
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: Anaz
post-15050311
Post #1,438 of 2,033

Luckbad

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jan 18, 2013
Messages
2,213
Reaction score
1,197
Location
Irvine, CA
Joined
Jan 18, 2013
Location
Irvine, CA
Posts
2,213
Likes
1,197
Website
www.basshead.club
Hi-Power is better than normal mode. The ADI-2 Pro in balanced is slightly better still.

In both cases, things are slightly rounded. Leading edge transients are a touch dulled. Bass has a tiny flubby characteristic and isn't super tight.

That's true in normal mode, Hi-Power, and balanced. It's marginally better from left to right. I don't find those things to be true from the IEM output, although I do prefer the SPL Phonitor XE with my main IEMs (but only just).
 
     Share This Post       
post-15050596
Post #1,439 of 2,033

abirdie4me

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Mar 6, 2017
Messages
259
Reaction score
193
Joined
Mar 6, 2017
Posts
259
Likes
193
Got the ADI-2 DAC today and plugged it into my Keces p8 linear power supply and fed it with Roon via UltraRendu. I haven’t even looked at any settings yet, and I already know this is a keeper. Listened with Utopia and Campfire Atlas so far, and it sounds spectacular. Can’t wait to start exploring all the options, also have a second-hand Liquid Platinum on the way. Should be a fun week.
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: Soundwave76
post-15050993
Post #1,440 of 2,033

MikeW

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Nov 4, 2005
Messages
1,767
Reaction score
206
Joined
Nov 4, 2005
Posts
1,767
Likes
206
It’s a great combo, I have adi-2 and LP with JBL LSR monitors. Great satisfying and versatile setup. ADI is my favorite piece of audio gear I’ve ever owned, lot of value for its market segment.
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: abirdie4me

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 4)

Top