RME ADI-2 DAC Thread
post-14713886
Post #751 of 3,075

VRacer-111

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
May 7, 2016
Messages
1,256
Reaction score
1,155
Location
Texas
Joined
May 7, 2016
Location
Texas
Posts
1,256
Likes
1,155
What i liked dac... Even as a dac its worth it easily, just saying amp is nothing impressive. i might even buy 1 cause dac is great, even better than 2qute i tried few times. If youre try better amps you will see.
Agree, depends on the headphones you have whether the amp section will be okay. The amp section is good technically but just doesn't sync well with certain headphones. Fostex TH-X00 series are such headphones that just don't like the amp of the ADI-2 DAC... they sound thin and overal lacking with it, loosing their fullness and bass. The Campfire Audio Cascade syncs really well with the ADI-2 DAC on the other hand and doesn't like the amps the TH-X00 prefers.

I didn't really get the ADI-2 DAC for it's amp section being it's for my STAX rig.
 
Last edited:
     Share This Post       
post-14725817
Post #752 of 3,075

Giacomino

New Head-Fier
Joined
Mar 9, 2015
Messages
12
Reaction score
36
Joined
Mar 9, 2015
Posts
12
Likes
36
Hi, I did AB with the Burson V2 + HD800S headphones which is a great dac-ampli powerful with the saber 9018, as iMac source with Audirvana album in DSD and PCM, I did not expect such a power from the small RME in Hi- power, I was struck by the silence of Adi2, difficult to explain in words, yes the clear silence between the various instruments and voice of De Andrè for example, then has a crazy resolution and neutrality never heard for now, I listened to 2 months ago Chord Hugo2 and was equal as a dac to my Burson but could not make the full potential of the 800S as power, I can not understand how they could have managed to build and the price of this little ADI-2.

My ranking:

1 RME ADI-2 dac

2 Burson conductor V2 +

3 Chord Hugo 2
 
post-14726368
Post #753 of 3,075

tekkster

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Sep 9, 2016
Messages
652
Reaction score
502
Joined
Sep 9, 2016
Posts
652
Likes
502
Hi, I did AB with the Burson V2 + HD800S headphones which is a great dac-ampli powerful with the saber 9018, as iMac source with Audirvana album in DSD and PCM, I did not expect such a power from the small RME in Hi- power, I was struck by the silence of Adi2, difficult to explain in words, yes the clear silence between the various instruments and voice of De Andrè for example, then has a crazy resolution and neutrality never heard for now, I listened to 2 months ago Chord Hugo2 and was equal as a dac to my Burson but could not make the full potential of the 800S as power, I can not understand how they could have managed to build and the price of this little ADI-2.

My ranking:

1 RME ADI-2 dac

2 Burson conductor V2 +

3 Chord Hugo 2
The H2 needs an external amp for difficult to power headphones for sure. I run the H2 through the iFi Pro iCan. The ADI-2 headphones jacks are definitely better than the H2. I agree with you that the high-power mode on the ADI-2 is very good. I also run the ADI-2 through the iCan Pro sometimes, but not because of any power issue, more to get different sound profile flavors. In fact, right now, I'm running the ADI-2 straight to my T1 without the iCan Pro. Also, generally, I run the ADI-2 straight to the KSE1200.
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: Giacomino
post-14726399
Post #754 of 3,075

Quinto

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Apr 7, 2009
Messages
3,970
Reaction score
2,485
Joined
Apr 7, 2009
Posts
3,970
Likes
2,485
Just got my RME ADI-2 DAC and listening now to my good old AKG K501 with some EQ for extra bass..Keith Jarrett Trio sounds very impressive, I was surprised by the (high) power outputn and the smallness of the thing itself..So glad it sounds good, otherwise I would feel conned :wink:

The menu will take me some getting used to but it works great with my new PC speakers, the SWAN MK200mkIII, only the volume knob on those kinda sucks..also the RME's neutrality works great with the slight tubish signature of the speakers.

Does anyone know if the sound will change some over time?
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: bidn
post-14726475
Post #755 of 3,075

Deftone

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jul 15, 2011
Messages
4,706
Reaction score
3,988
Location
UK
Joined
Jul 15, 2011
Location
UK
Posts
4,706
Likes
3,988
The H2 needs an external amp for difficult to power headphones for sure. I run the H2 through the iFi Pro iCan. The ADI-2 headphones jacks are definitely better than the H2. I agree with you that the high-power mode on the ADI-2 is very good. I also run the ADI-2 through the iCan Pro sometimes, but not because of any power issue, more to get different sound profile flavors. In fact, right now, I'm running the ADI-2 straight to my T1 without the iCan Pro. Also, generally, I run the ADI-2 straight to the KSE1200.
You could just use any amp you like with hugo 2 anyway even if your phones dont need a lot of power to add a bit of flavour, possibly smoothness or warmth.
 
     Share This Post       
post-14729740
Post #757 of 3,075

Litlgi74

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Nov 5, 2018
Messages
318
Reaction score
132
Location
USA
Joined
Nov 5, 2018
Location
USA
Posts
318
Likes
132
Does anyone have experience using this DAC with an android device running UAPP? Don't really want to open the unit if it doesn't work with android.

Can someone test it for me?

Thanks
 
     Share This Post       
post-14729831
Post #758 of 3,075

bwcgrx

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Aug 20, 2008
Messages
111
Reaction score
72
Location
Between the Left and Right Earcup.
Joined
Aug 20, 2008
Location
Between the Left and Right Earcup.
Posts
111
Likes
72
Does anyone have experience using this DAC with an android device running UAPP? Don't really want to open the unit if it doesn't work with android.

Can someone test it for me?

Thanks
It works with my Pioneer Android DAP. I can’t speak to UAPP but the Pioneer audio App sends audio bit perfect to the RME. You will need an OTG cable with the proper connector for your Android device and a USB B device connector on the RME end. I picked mine up on Amazon for about $6.
 
     Share This Post       
post-14729845
Post #759 of 3,075

Litlgi74

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Nov 5, 2018
Messages
318
Reaction score
132
Location
USA
Joined
Nov 5, 2018
Location
USA
Posts
318
Likes
132
It works with my Pioneer Android DAP. I can’t speak to UAPP but the Pioneer audio App sends audio bit perfect to the RME. You will need an OTG cable with the proper connector for your Android device and a USB B device connector on the RME end. I picked mine up on Amazon for about $6.
Thanks for the reply... I plan on using a Zidoo X9S as my source. Not sure if I will need a an OTG cable. I didn't need one when connecting the Zidoo to my Oppo HA-2SE. I might be able to get away with just an USB A-Male to B-Male cable.

The seller I purchased the DAC from doesn't seem to think it will work with Android... So I am a little afraid to open the packaging and find out.

Thanks
 
Last edited:
     Share This Post       
post-14729861
Post #760 of 3,075

mixman

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Dec 28, 2018
Messages
1,692
Reaction score
1,010
Location
New Jersey
Joined
Dec 28, 2018
Location
New Jersey
Posts
1,692
Likes
1,010
I would love to get one of these, but I would like to incorporate this into my music studio setup, I would need to piggyback my audio interface with this. Want to go from the optical out of my interface into the optical in of the RME so that I am using the DA converters of the RME only. Would Windows 10 recognize both units and would this setup work at all?
 
     Share This Post       
post-14729889
Post #761 of 3,075

Slaphead

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Nov 28, 2011
Messages
814
Reaction score
572
Location
Zürich, Switzerland
Joined
Nov 28, 2011
Location
Zürich, Switzerland
Posts
814
Likes
572
I would love to get one of these, but I would like to incorporate this into my music studio setup, I would need to piggyback my audio interface with this. Want to go from the optical out of my interface into the optical in of the RME so that I am using the DA converters of the RME only. Would Windows 10 recognize both units and would this setup work at all?
If understand correctly you want to go from PC -> Audio interface via USB, and then from Audio Interface -> ADI-2 DAC via optical?

If so then Windows would not recognise, nor need to recognise the ADI-2, as it would be being fed an optical signal. An optical signal is simply piped out and requires no acknowledgement on the part of the receiver. Windows would only recognise your audio interface, and not what happens thereafter in the chain.

Yes, as described, the setup should theoretically work.
 
Last edited:
     Share This Post       
post-14730160
Post #762 of 3,075

mixman

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Dec 28, 2018
Messages
1,692
Reaction score
1,010
Location
New Jersey
Joined
Dec 28, 2018
Location
New Jersey
Posts
1,692
Likes
1,010
If understand correctly you want to go from PC -> Audio interface via USB, and then from Audio Interface -> ADI-2 DAC via optical?

If so then Windows would not recognise, nor need to recognise the ADI-2, as it would be being fed an optical signal. An optical signal is simply piped out and requires no acknowledgement on the part of the receiver. Windows would only recognise your audio interface, and not what happens thereafter in the chain.

Yes, as described, the setup should theoretically work.
Basically, my musical equipment will go into the interface, then the digital output of the interface will go into the digital input of the DAC and the output of the DAC will go to my cans and speakers. The concept is to use the DAC/RME to convey the best quality sounds via my cans and speakers since a really good AD/DA interface alone, such as the higher end RMEs or Apogees would be over twice as much and might not have as good an HP amp in it.
 
     Share This Post       
post-14730616
Post #763 of 3,075

cardeli22

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Nov 7, 2014
Messages
540
Reaction score
167
Joined
Nov 7, 2014
Posts
540
Likes
167
Does anyone have experience using this DAC with an android device running UAPP? Don't really want to open the unit if it doesn't work with android.

Can someone test it for me?

Thanks
I quickly tried my LGv30, via OTG and the stock music app, to my RME ADI 2 DAC and worked just fine. I do not have UAPP on my phone. I see no reason why it wouldn't work with UAPP.
 
     Share This Post       
post-14730665
Post #764 of 3,075

Litlgi74

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Nov 5, 2018
Messages
318
Reaction score
132
Location
USA
Joined
Nov 5, 2018
Location
USA
Posts
318
Likes
132
I quickly tried my LGv30, via OTG and the stock music app, to my RME ADI 2 DAC and worked just fine. I do not have UAPP on my phone. I see no reason why it wouldn't work with UAPP.
Thanks so much...I appreciate you trying it out. It's killing me not to open this new DAC.

Hopefully RME will get back with me tomorrow about any limitations when connecting an Android to their device.
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: cardeli22
post-14731002
Post #765 of 3,075

technobear

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Oct 27, 2010
Messages
2,043
Reaction score
561
Location
Glastonbury, UK
Joined
Oct 27, 2010
Location
Glastonbury, UK
Posts
2,043
Likes
561
Hopefully RME will get back with me tomorrow about any limitations when connecting an Android to their device.
All they can tell you is that ADI2-DAC is fully USB Audio Class 2 compliant and it should work.

You've already proved that your set top box is compliant by using it with an Oppo HA-2SE.

It should just work, however there are no cast iron guarantees where Android is concerned.

It is highly unlikely that you will find someone on here who has this set top box and an ADI2-DAC so you are just going to have to try it for yourself.

If it doesn't work over USB (highly unlikely), then you could just use the optical connection instead.

EDIT: and no, you won't need an OTG cable. Others were assuming the device was a phone.
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: cardeli22

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 2, Guests: 10)

Top