RME ADI-2 DAC Thread
post-15924012
Post #3,406 of 3,503

arielext

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jun 29, 2004
Messages
1,516
Reaction score
532
Location
the Netherlands
Joined
Jun 29, 2004
Location
the Netherlands
Posts
1,516
Likes
532
Website
www.arielext.org
The ADI-2 DAC fs is perhaps the best device I ever bought. From all the things I have in my audio chain this is my end-game DAC. I still don't use half the features it offers and do not see any reason to change DAC any time, soon or late.
 
post-15924069
Post #3,407 of 3,503

oqvist

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Oct 28, 2004
Messages
7,971
Reaction score
192
Joined
Oct 28, 2004
Posts
7,971
Likes
192
The ADI-2 DAC fs is perhaps the best device I ever bought. From all the things I have in my audio chain this is my end-game DAC. I still don't use half the features it offers and do not see any reason to change DAC any time, soon or late.
Seeing your sig have by by any chance listened to the gjallarhorn as well on it?

I came here to ask though anymore find the powersupply adapter making a poor connection or something? I need to rotate it and fiddle with it like quite a bit before it powers. But then it never disconnects or anything. Not sure what is going on if it´s a bad connection or if there is some power regulation that make it not get powered the first seconds or so unless you rotate it? It was this when new and now I relocated it a few times and every time it´s like it don´t get a solid connection unless I twist it around a bit. But then it works without a hitch.
 
     Share This Post       
post-15924090
Post #3,408 of 3,503

arielext

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jun 29, 2004
Messages
1,516
Reaction score
532
Location
the Netherlands
Joined
Jun 29, 2004
Location
the Netherlands
Posts
1,516
Likes
532
Website
www.arielext.org
Seeing your sig have by by any chance listened to the gjallarhorn as well on it?

I came here to ask though anymore find the powersupply adapter making a poor connection or something? I need to rotate it and fiddle with it like quite a bit before it powers. But then it never disconnects or anything. Not sure what is going on if it´s a bad connection or if there is some power regulation that make it not get powered the first seconds or so unless you rotate it? It was this when new and now I relocated it a few times and every time it´s like it don´t get a solid connection unless I twist it around a bit. But then it works without a hitch.
I did but my Gjallarhorn was messed up during transit. Magni and Vali like the neutral RME as well. One day I know if Thror or Thekk feel the same :)
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: Lolito
post-15924100
Post #3,409 of 3,503

Lolito

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 10, 2020
Messages
214
Reaction score
97
Location
Netherlands
Joined
Feb 10, 2020
Location
Netherlands
Posts
214
Likes
97
Then go buy something cheaper.

You are right to a certain extent in that a DAC, at least a modern one, is likely to have the least effect on your system compare to headphones, speakers, or less significantly amps.

I bought the RME because it offered the features that I needed, as well as a good sound quality. I needed a DAC that would act as a pre-amp with USB, optical and coaxial digital inputs, with balanced XLR connections for my monitors. It does the job perfectly, in fact more than perfectly. and this is the older version with the 4490 chip.

With DACs these days the feature set is honestly more important that any slight, and I mean slight, differences in sound signatures.
I can certainly agree with that. One question; if you play DSD via the RME and studio monitor speakers, the volume knob still works or it's fixed at max volume with DSD on the RME? thanks!!
 
     Share This Post       
post-15924134
Post #3,410 of 3,503

oqvist

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Oct 28, 2004
Messages
7,971
Reaction score
192
Joined
Oct 28, 2004
Posts
7,971
Likes
192
I did but my Gjallarhorn was messed up during transit. Magni and Vali like the neutral RME as well. One day I know if Thror or Thekk feel the same :)
Ah yes I read about that. Do you have a new one on the way or are you saving up for the Thror or Thekk :)
 
     Share This Post       
post-15924378
Post #3,411 of 3,503

frogmeat69

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Apr 12, 2015
Messages
445
Reaction score
201
Location
Western New York
Joined
Apr 12, 2015
Location
Western New York
Posts
445
Likes
201
Seeing your sig have by by any chance listened to the gjallarhorn as well on it?

I came here to ask though anymore find the powersupply adapter making a poor connection or something? I need to rotate it and fiddle with it like quite a bit before it powers. But then it never disconnects or anything. Not sure what is going on if it´s a bad connection or if there is some power regulation that make it not get powered the first seconds or so unless you rotate it? It was this when new and now I relocated it a few times and every time it´s like it don´t get a solid connection unless I twist it around a bit. But then it works without a hitch.
The adapter is a locking plug, you push and turn it to lock it into the back of the RME, and it will not come out.
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: Marutks
post-15924472
Post #3,412 of 3,503

gimmeheadroom

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Feb 8, 2018
Messages
3,641
Reaction score
2,010
Location
Czech Republic
Joined
Feb 8, 2018
Location
Czech Republic
Posts
3,641
Likes
2,010
Website
www.head-fi.org
I can certainly agree with that. One question; if you play DSD via the RME and studio monitor speakers, the volume knob still works or it's fixed at max volume with DSD on the RME? thanks!!
Two choices:

1. Pure DSD mode. It's fixed output mode at 0 dB. You will need to turn the speakers all the way down and use their volume control.
2. DSD => PCM mode. You can control the volume at the DAC and you have EQ and other options.
 
Last edited:
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: Lolito
post-15924497
Post #3,413 of 3,503

oqvist

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Oct 28, 2004
Messages
7,971
Reaction score
192
Joined
Oct 28, 2004
Posts
7,971
Likes
192
The adapter is a locking plug, you push and turn it to lock it into the back of the RME, and it will not come out.
Hmm have not manage to lock mine. It goes all the way in so how is that possible?
 
     Share This Post       
post-15924507
Post #3,414 of 3,503

gimmeheadroom

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Feb 8, 2018
Messages
3,641
Reaction score
2,010
Location
Czech Republic
Joined
Feb 8, 2018
Location
Czech Republic
Posts
3,641
Likes
2,010
Website
www.head-fi.org
Just look at the plug. If it has a lug you're not using it correctly.

If it doesn't have a lug then either RME changed the plug or you're using the wrong A/C adapter.
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: Lolito
post-15924521
Post #3,415 of 3,503

oqvist

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Oct 28, 2004
Messages
7,971
Reaction score
192
Joined
Oct 28, 2004
Posts
7,971
Likes
192
Just look at the plug. If it has a lug you're not using it correctly.

If it doesn't have a lug then either RME changed the plug or you're using the wrong A/C adapter.
Ah yes that is why you have to rotate it lol never seen those as they are in the same color :)
 
     Share This Post       
post-15925011
Post #3,416 of 3,503

Lolito

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 10, 2020
Messages
214
Reaction score
97
Location
Netherlands
Joined
Feb 10, 2020
Location
Netherlands
Posts
214
Likes
97
Two choices:

1. Pure DSD mode. It's fixed output mode at 0 dB. You will need to turn the speakers all the way down and use their volume control.
2. DSD => PCM mode. You can control the volume at the DAC and you have EQ and other options.
Great, thanks a lot for your help, this means that to hear DSD properly, you need a preamp for my actieve speakers, meaning a headphone amp with pre amp would be required in this case, would be a great solution for this, meaning, the headphone amp+dac advantages are gone for DSD playback... meaning a headphone amp+dac loose interested for my case since will need a pre amp, meaning, bye bye RME or dx7 pro, hello Denafrips Ares2 with an A90 for example, of keep the atom meanwhile...

You can learn a lot by researching here before spending the money, it's very expensive to learn first hand, much better price to learn second hand, from other people experience. If you wait and research, you save a lot of money. I would be already in my 4th dac if it wasn't for the internet.
 
     Share This Post       
post-15925015
Post #3,417 of 3,503

Lolito

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 10, 2020
Messages
214
Reaction score
97
Location
Netherlands
Joined
Feb 10, 2020
Location
Netherlands
Posts
214
Likes
97
The ADI-2 DAC fs is perhaps the best device I ever bought. From all the things I have in my audio chain this is my end-game DAC. I still don't use half the features it offers and do not see any reason to change DAC any time, soon or late.
Well, try DSD, you will like it even more, but then again, you can't adjust volume, quite a facepalm really if you ask me. But apparently all dacs have thsi problem, you need a preamp, even with headphone amps+DACS... Thing is, headphone amp+dacs, have just one volume knob, and that volume knob is not a potentiometer, it's a digital volume rocker, great, digital is more precise, no channel unbalance... but the problem is that with dsd digital volume is disabled in all dacs, you need an analog volume knob, and all (most) headphone amp+dac have a digital knob... Shame... I was hopping to have my powered speakers connected straight to a dac like this, now gotta run cables to a preamp and then to the speakers, that takes away transparency in the sound...

any affordable dac+headphoen amp with analog volume knob, or hybrid, or mixed or two volume knobs??
 
     Share This Post       
post-15925077
Post #3,418 of 3,503

ok computer

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Mar 24, 2008
Messages
261
Reaction score
30
Joined
Mar 24, 2008
Posts
261
Likes
30
You can use the digital volume control in HQplayer to control the volume for dsd direct playback.
 
     Share This Post       
post-15925107
Post #3,419 of 3,503

gimmeheadroom

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Feb 8, 2018
Messages
3,641
Reaction score
2,010
Location
Czech Republic
Joined
Feb 8, 2018
Location
Czech Republic
Posts
3,641
Likes
2,010
Website
www.head-fi.org
Great, thanks a lot for your help, this means that to hear DSD properly, you need a preamp for my actieve speakers, meaning a headphone amp with pre amp would be required in this case, would be a great solution for this, meaning, the headphone amp+dac advantages are gone for DSD playback... meaning a headphone amp+dac loose interested for my case since will need a pre amp, meaning, bye bye RME or dx7 pro, hello Denafrips Ares2 with an A90 for example, of keep the atom meanwhile...

You can learn a lot by researching here before spending the money, it's very expensive to learn first hand, much better price to learn second hand, from other people experience. If you wait and research, you save a lot of money. I would be already in my 4th dac if it wasn't for the internet.
One of the big problems of DSD is that it has to be decoded to do anything with it. This is because of DSD, not because of the RME DAC. Any DAC that supports DSD direct will have this issue. So most DACs today (btw including R2R) convert DSD to PCM. There is a conversion, yes, it is not ideal. But is there a loss of quality? It's not so easy to know.
I'm not sure the Aeres II is any different. I see it says native decoding but the RME also has native decoding.

Well, try DSD, you will like it even more, but then again, you can't adjust volume, quite a facepalm really if you ask me. But apparently all dacs have thsi problem, you need a preamp, even with headphone amps+DACS... Thing is, headphone amp+dacs, have just one volume knob, and that volume knob is not a potentiometer, it's a digital volume rocker, great, digital is more precise, no channel unbalance... but the problem is that with dsd digital volume is disabled in all dacs, you need an analog volume knob, and all (most) headphone amp+dac have a digital knob... Shame... I was hopping to have my powered speakers connected straight to a dac like this, now gotta run cables to a preamp and then to the speakers, that takes away transparency in the sound...

any affordable dac+headphoen amp with analog volume knob, or hybrid, or mixed or two volume knobs??
Well the easy answer is to get powered speakers with volume control or use a preamp in the middle as you said.
 
     Share This Post       
post-15925450
Post #3,420 of 3,503

Slaphead

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Nov 28, 2011
Messages
828
Reaction score
591
Location
Zürich, Switzerland
Joined
Nov 28, 2011
Location
Zürich, Switzerland
Posts
828
Likes
591
I can certainly agree with that. One question; if you play DSD via the RME and studio monitor speakers, the volume knob still works or it's fixed at max volume with DSD on the RME? thanks!!
Nope, not if you play pure DSD. To be able to use the volume control the DSD will need to be internally converted to PCM . But I have to ask why the hell anybody would want to playback DSD - it's a terrible playback format. It's absolutely fantastic as an archive format as it can withstand quite a bit of data loss without the sound quality being perceptibly affected whereas PCM can't. However as a playback format it sucks big time.

If you want to keep your music as pristine as possible then by all means convert it to DSD as a backup and then if your PCM file suffers a glitch you can always convert back from the DSD copy.

Unless you have some rare acoustic recording where everything was captured direct to DSD via an analog mixing desk, then you're listening to PCM, even if it's in a DSD format.
 
     Share This Post       

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 2, Guests: 3)

Top