Ripping SACD audio
post-815913
Thread Starter
Post #1 of 36

Leto Atreides II

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 29, 2004
Messages
707
Reaction score
10
Joined
Feb 29, 2004
Posts
707
Likes
10
If I were to try to rip an SACD to wav, in a DVDROM drive, would I be getting the standard 44.1kHZ layer, or the 96kHZ layer? Or am I misunderstanding the whole thing? (I have soundcard that supports 96kHZ, btw)
 
     Share This Post       
post-815939
Post #2 of 36

lan

Videographus Supremus:Makes audio cables using super-advanced materials, like "some clear tape" and "some not so clear tape."
Joined
Sep 4, 2002
Messages
8,604
Reaction score
13
Joined
Sep 4, 2002
Posts
8,604
Likes
13
You can't RIP a pure SACD to WAV because the drive wouldn't be able to read the infomation as it's protected.

If it has a CD layer as well as SACD (aka hybrid), your rip will be redbook which is 44.1khz
 
     Share This Post       
post-815941
Post #3 of 36

go_vtec

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Feb 24, 2004
Messages
1,632
Reaction score
22
Location
US
Joined
Feb 24, 2004
Location
US
Posts
1,632
Likes
22
Last time I checked there was no such software available for personal user! Even if such software existed, converting Direct Stream Digital (DSD) encoded SACD to Pulse Code Modulation based format would defeat the purpose of DSD. My recommendation is to either use CD layer (if it is hybrid) to rip it to mp3. If you have SACD only disk then you can use your soundcard's ADC (=analog-in) to convert to PCM based wave file then convert to mp3.
 
     Share This Post       
post-816025
Post #4 of 36

Jasper994

Organizer for Can Jam '09
Joined
Jun 3, 2003
Messages
6,114
Reaction score
13
Joined
Jun 3, 2003
Posts
6,114
Likes
13
It is possible, but the only way to do it is to connect the analog outputs of the SACD player to the inputs on a high quality sound card. I might give this a shot on my 1212m with DVD-A. If I do, I'll post my results.
 
     Share This Post       
post-816234
Post #5 of 36

Leto Atreides II

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 29, 2004
Messages
707
Reaction score
10
Joined
Feb 29, 2004
Posts
707
Likes
10
Well, it was mostly just an idea. Nothing I like listening too is on SACD anyway.
 
     Share This Post       
post-816945
Post #6 of 36

jefemeister

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Sep 7, 2003
Messages
2,807
Reaction score
11
Joined
Sep 7, 2003
Posts
2,807
Likes
11
Quote:

Originally Posted by Jasper994
It is possible, but the only way to do it is to connect the analog outputs of the SACD player to the inputs on a high quality sound card. I might give this a shot on my 1212m with DVD-A. If I do, I'll post my results.


As crazy as this might sound to some, this might actually work. You'd proberly have to do a little to square up the signal somwhat. And reclocking would be a must.

edit: now that I think of it I doubt it will work.
 
     Share This Post       
post-817369
Post #7 of 36

lini

Thought the last line in Citizen Kane was nosebud.
Joined
Jun 22, 2001
Messages
6,117
Reaction score
21
Joined
Jun 22, 2001
Posts
6,117
Likes
21
jefe: Have you read his post properly? He's going the analogue way - of course that'll work.

Greetings from Hannover!

Manfred / lini
 
     Share This Post       
post-817470
Post #8 of 36

jpelg

Needs a regular fix of 'Fi
'06 Nat Meet Co-Coordinator
Joined
Jan 19, 2002
Messages
8,675
Reaction score
26
Location
The Elm City
Joined
Jan 19, 2002
Location
The Elm City
Posts
8,675
Likes
26
How would his DVD-ROM be decoding the SACD layer anyway? If the SACD is single-layer, it wouldn't even play at all on his PC. If it is a hybrid SACD also containing a redbook layer, it should be able to be ripped just as a regular redbook CD.

Trying to record the SACD layer by outputting from an SACD player's analog-outs to the soundcards analog inputs seems like it would defeat the reason for SACD in the first place (quality-wise), unless you are just trying to get a single-layer SACD's contents onto your PC somehow.
 
     Share This Post       
post-817591
Post #9 of 36

jefemeister

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Sep 7, 2003
Messages
2,807
Reaction score
11
Joined
Sep 7, 2003
Posts
2,807
Likes
11
Quote:

Originally Posted by lini
jefe: Have you read his post properly? He's going the analogue way - of course that'll work.


I screwed up my post but didn't want to delete it. SACD was designed so that analog could be created by merely lowpass filtering the digital stream. I was intrigued by the possibility of somehow undoing the filtering and recreating the digital stream. Of course, that's not possible. But, yeah, analog out to analog in always works.
 
     Share This Post       
post-817613
Post #10 of 36

JaZZ

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
May 9, 2002
Messages
9,712
Reaction score
1,690
Location
Zürich, Switzerland
Joined
May 9, 2002
Location
Zürich, Switzerland
Posts
9,712
Likes
1,690
Age
70
Quote:

Originally Posted by Leto Atreides II
...would I be getting the standard 44.1kHZ layer, or the 96kHZ layer? (I have soundcard that supports 96kHZ, btw)


There's no 96-kHz layer on SACDs anyway. The SACD's storage format, DSD, consists of a 2.8224-MHz data stream with just 1 bit word length and isn't compatible with (L)PCM. What you could do with a high-quality soundcard (and a high-quality SACD player) is to record the analog signal with 24 bit/96 kHz -- that way you could preserve some of the SACD's higher resolution compared to redbook. But this may nevertheless not make much sense, since you would get better sound directly from your SACD player. If the SACD is hybrid and your intention is to make MP3s from it, ripping the redbook layer is the way to go.

 
     Share This Post       
post-817716
Post #11 of 36

xtreme4099

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Apr 10, 2003
Messages
1,649
Reaction score
30
Joined
Apr 10, 2003
Posts
1,649
Likes
30
.
 
     Share This Post       
post-817730
Post #12 of 36

AndreYew

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jun 21, 2001
Messages
588
Reaction score
239
Joined
Jun 21, 2001
Posts
588
Likes
239
SACD has several levels of encryption, so even if you could get the bits off the disc, you can't decode easily it. You can't reburn it onto another DVD either, because one of the keys is encoded in the physical pit spacing. Another key is in a technically illegal section of the physical DVD format, so it would be hard to get to it.

--Andre
 
     Share This Post       
post-818024
Post #13 of 36

Canman

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
May 13, 2003
Messages
3,667
Reaction score
14
Joined
May 13, 2003
Posts
3,667
Likes
14
Quote:

Originally Posted by dirtcheapii
I have download more 40 album of SACD music off the net. all of them use EAC program
here is one of SACD ripping imformation

Used output format : Internal WAV Routines
44.100 Hz; 16 Bit; Stereo



That info tells you its not in SACD. It is 16 bit 44.1 WAV, which is normal PCM.
 
     Share This Post       
post-818075
Post #14 of 36

dirtcheapii

New Head-Fier
Joined
May 20, 2004
Messages
21
Reaction score
0
Joined
May 20, 2004
Posts
21
Likes
0
Quote:

Originally Posted by Canman
That info tells you its not in SACD. It is 16 bit 44.1 WAV, which is normal PCM.


but the original cd is SACD . i KNOW IT FOR SURE. COS EVERY ELBUM I GOT It HAD INCLUDED CD COVER IT SAID THE CD IS SACD.
 
     Share This Post       
post-818085
Post #15 of 36

TMC

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 27, 2002
Messages
1,031
Reaction score
10
Joined
Dec 27, 2002
Posts
1,031
Likes
10
Quote:

Originally Posted by dirtcheapii
but the original cd is SACD . i KNOW IT FOR SURE. COS EVERY ELBUM I GOT It HAD INCLUDED CD COVER IT SAID THE CD IS SACD.


Some SACD discs have both SACD- and wav-files. When you run the disc in a computer it will read the wav.
 
     Share This Post       

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top