Ripping CDs to Comp. - Is this "right"?
post-1481146
Thread Starter
Post #1 of 12

erikzen

06 National Meet Co-Coordinator
100% THD and S/N = 0
Joined
Jan 17, 2003
Messages
4,543
Reaction score
34
Joined
Jan 17, 2003
Posts
4,543
Likes
34
It seems like with ripping CDs there are many ways to skin the cat, some more appropriate than others, depending on final objective.

This is what I've started doing. Please let me know if this makes sense before I rip a few hundred CDs:

1) In EAC create a cue sheet using "multiple files with gaps (non-compliant)"
2) In EAC choose test and copy selected tracks, compressed, using .flac
3) Edit cue sheet to refer to .flac files instead of .wav files
4) use dbpowerAMP to convert .flac files to .ogg files for use with my flash player

I'm not quite sure about the cue sheet business. I could just use copy image and create cue sheet but then I'm left with one track. I think that would be harder to convert to individual .ogg files. I'm creating cue sheets so it will be easier to convert back to CDs if I ever want/need to, but honestly, I haven't tried going back to uncompressed yet so I'm not even sure if this is going to help me.

Any advice or tweaks are appreciated.
 
     Share This Post       
post-1481637
Post #2 of 12

Kameleon

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Apr 26, 2005
Messages
695
Reaction score
10
Joined
Apr 26, 2005
Posts
695
Likes
10
I just do step 2, seems to work fine
 
     Share This Post       
post-1481732
Post #3 of 12

uzziah

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Oct 15, 2004
Messages
4,049
Reaction score
13
Joined
Oct 15, 2004
Posts
4,049
Likes
13
i do the following...........

A. have EAC setup using hydrogenaudio's guide
B. download FLAC

1. rip using EAC to .wav (all files go to "my music")
2. use "FLAC frontend" to change .wav files to FLAC. compression level 6 (standard/personal prefference). select option "delete input files"

that's it. pretty simple. you can also use accuraterip with EAC to make things easier for you.

when eac is done ripping a cd, i start flac frontend on that cd. then i put in a new cd while flac is encoding the old one

i use kernal streaming and "24point fixed padded to 32point" in foobar, and columns UI
 
     Share This Post       
post-1481740
Post #4 of 12

uzziah

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Oct 15, 2004
Messages
4,049
Reaction score
13
Joined
Oct 15, 2004
Posts
4,049
Likes
13
note: washing a cd with water and air drying is generally a good idea, especially if you're having read-error problems
 
     Share This Post       
post-1481997
Post #6 of 12

uzziah

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Oct 15, 2004
Messages
4,049
Reaction score
13
Joined
Oct 15, 2004
Posts
4,049
Likes
13
ps: it's just music, don't go too crazy over it
 
     Share This Post       
post-1482130
Post #7 of 12

gorman

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 22, 2004
Messages
1,132
Reaction score
45
Joined
Jan 22, 2004
Posts
1,132
Likes
45
In my very humble opinion, cue sheets are not worth the hassle.

Now people will jump up to say that they are fundamental for CD burning. To this I repeat: it's not worth it. You don't lose anything with single files. Meaning you don't lose anything that matters. And you gain a lot in Ease of use and handling.


Again, IMHO. After lots of research on the subject, but IMHO nonetheless.
 
     Share This Post       
post-1482155
Post #8 of 12

JaZZ

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
May 9, 2002
Messages
9,694
Reaction score
1,665
Location
Zürich, Switzerland
Joined
May 9, 2002
Location
Zürich, Switzerland
Posts
9,694
Likes
1,665
Age
70
Quote:

Originally Posted by gorman
In my very humble opinion, cue sheets are not worth the hassle.


Add to this that if you want to edit the files -- remove silence, fade in/out, correct sonic balance, etc. --, the cue-sheet option is highly unpractical. Also for creating MP3 and OGG Vorbis files.

 
     Share This Post       
post-1482903
Post #9 of 12

Fickle-Friend

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Apr 7, 2004
Messages
544
Reaction score
20
Joined
Apr 7, 2004
Posts
544
Likes
20
Quote:

Originally Posted by uzziah
ps: it's just music, don't go too crazy over it



LOL thats a joke right?
 
     Share This Post       
post-1482938
Post #10 of 12

sanne

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 13, 2005
Messages
161
Reaction score
10
Joined
Feb 13, 2005
Posts
161
Likes
10
yea not a fan of cuesheets either. personally i only use EAC to rip the wav files off of the CD. I have separate programs to encode into FLAC and mp3, I know i'm dumb and being inefficient but I like it this way. I use the FLAC frontend, with the encoding level set to 8. I make all my mp3's using the alt-preset-standard commandline as this gives great quality for my portables. When listening on my computer I use FLAC always.
 
     Share This Post       
post-1483175
Post #11 of 12

erikzen

06 National Meet Co-Coordinator
100% THD and S/N = 0
Joined
Jan 17, 2003
Messages
4,543
Reaction score
34
Joined
Jan 17, 2003
Posts
4,543
Likes
34
Thanks for all the responses. Just so I'm clear, I'm ripping for three main purposes:

1) lossess FLAC files for listening through my computer and probably eventually a Squeezbox 2
2) ogg files my flash player
3) archiving purposes

I'm only creating cue sheets because I may want to go back to the original files from FLAC someday. If it's not necessary, or if I'm not doing it right, then I'll gladly skip it.
 
     Share This Post       
post-1483205
Post #12 of 12

gorman

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 22, 2004
Messages
1,132
Reaction score
45
Joined
Jan 22, 2004
Posts
1,132
Likes
45
Quote:

Originally Posted by erikzen
Thanks for all the responses. Just so I'm clear, I'm ripping for three main purposes:

1) lossess FLAC files for listening through my computer and probably eventually a Squeezbox 2
2) ogg files my flash player
3) archiving purposes

I'm only creating cue sheets because I may want to go back to the original files from FLAC someday. If it's not necessary, or if I'm not doing it right, then I'll gladly skip it.



I use Squeezebox1 with FLAC, Rio Karma with Vorbis Q6 transcoded from FLAC. I have never had the need to go back to CD.

Even if I needed to, the FLAC files would be more than enough. I should know as I've ripped more than 600 CDs this way.
 
     Share This Post       

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top