Review: ZERO 24 BIT/192KHz DAC/Headphone Amp/Pre-Amp
Oct 19, 2013 at 7:47 AM Post #9,331 of 9,379

AmarokCZ

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Sep 8, 2010
Posts
203
Likes
18
Since typical amplifier (stand-alone) has input impedance of 10kohm the output will be "only" 4Vrms. 
rolleyes.gif

Yes it's bad for signal, but it's like having preamplifier which is quite common and not supposed to be bad...
 
Oct 19, 2013 at 1:50 PM Post #9,332 of 9,379

petertz

New Head-Fier
Joined
Oct 18, 2013
Posts
4
Likes
0
  Since typical amplifier (stand-alone) has input impedance of 10kohm the output will be "only" 4Vrms. 
rolleyes.gif

Yes it's bad for signal, but it's like having preamplifier which is quite common and not supposed to be bad...

 
>>Since typical amplifier (stand-alone) has input impedance of 10kohm the output will be "only" 4Vrms. 
rolleyes.gif
>>>
Would You explain this in detail. I thought that 2Vrms input is quite enough for every power amp even with 10kohm input impedance. I couldn't made sence with this.
Thanks
 
Oct 20, 2013 at 3:19 AM Post #9,333 of 9,379

AmarokCZ

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Sep 8, 2010
Posts
203
Likes
18
Yes, 2Vrms is enough, but here the output will be 4Vrms: output from headphone amplifier is 8Vrms, output impedance of regulated LINE OUT is the same as input impedance of connected amplifier so the output voltage will be 4Vrms (resistive voltage divider: input 8V ant two resistors, both 10k).
 
Dec 15, 2013 at 10:40 PM Post #9,335 of 9,379

Solarium

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Oct 19, 2013
Posts
575
Likes
64
Has anyone tried this with HD650, and made comparisons between this and the Schiit Vali?
 
Dec 18, 2013 at 1:02 PM Post #9,336 of 9,379

press

New Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 18, 2013
Posts
1
Likes
0
Anybody can help to find out,how the Zero DAC´s power wires goes?My Zero´s power wires are like in Penchun´s first post,except second one from right is yellow instead white.
I am plan to use this power to my Xmos based USB to SBDIF converter/DAC.I need about +10-15 AC and i think Zero´s power out is suitable for that.
 
Dec 21, 2013 at 10:50 PM Post #9,339 of 9,379

smirnoff04

New Head-Fier
Joined
Nov 4, 2005
Posts
44
Likes
12
Woot. The Zero arrived today.

 
Almost 6 years to the day since that post, and I've used it on a daily basis ever since. Countless hours of unmodded enjoyment. :)
 
Except today it stopped working! I opened it up and didn't see any obvious since of destruction. I tried pressing each of the two reset buttons which made some leds blink, but didn't get the sound working again.
 
I tried swapping out the fuse with the spare (even though the original didn't look burnt out) and that didn't fix anything either.
 
It powers on and off just fine, and you can cycle through the inputs, but no sound. Tried coax and spdif... nada.
 
Anyone have a magic solution or is my beloved Zero dead forever?
 
Dec 21, 2013 at 10:53 PM Post #9,340 of 9,379

genclaymore

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jun 3, 2007
Posts
2,158
Likes
141
Location
MI
Have you check the op-amps? Maybe one of couple of them died.
 
Dec 22, 2013 at 12:00 PM Post #9,342 of 9,379

genclaymore

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jun 3, 2007
Posts
2,158
Likes
141
Location
MI
yea they are, and you have to make sure the circle or notch on them match the notches on the op-amp socket. you need a IC remover tool
 
Dec 22, 2013 at 5:45 PM Post #9,343 of 9,379

smirnoff04

New Head-Fier
Joined
Nov 4, 2005
Posts
44
Likes
12
Thanks genclaymore.
 
Out of curiosity what would "checking" them entail? I assume I'd need a multimeter at the least?
 
How much might a replacement chip cost, ballpark?
 
Dec 22, 2013 at 9:37 PM Post #9,344 of 9,379

genclaymore

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jun 3, 2007
Posts
2,158
Likes
141
Location
MI
  Thanks genclaymore.
 
Out of curiosity what would "checking" them entail? I assume I'd need a multimeter at the least?
 
How much might a replacement chip cost, ballpark?

Depends on which op-amp it is, Some can be had for 4 dollars some more. it be the Dip-8 ones that you want. Because I know if a op-amp goes bad you will loose sound, as I have had some bad op-amps in the past.
 
Jan 16, 2014 at 8:13 PM Post #9,345 of 9,379

swannie007

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Oct 30, 2013
Posts
942
Likes
213
Just got my Zero yesterday and have been listening to it since power-up and it seems to be getting better all the time(approx. 12 hours on it now) and I have tried an array of different headphones with various impedances and it drives all of them just fine. I must say that this is a helluva buy at less than $200.00 delivered! It makes stringed instruments sound very natural, even my Q701's sound good with it and that is saying something!
If you are reading this and are in doubt about getting one, I would have to say-go for it!
Glad I read the original review of this unit as that is what convinced me to purchase it. Happy camper.
Now back to the music selection and trying some more headphones with it.
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top