[REVIEW] Brainwavz M5, a sophisticated optimization for the entry level!
Sep 30, 2012 at 10:40 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 8

Angelopsaro

500+ Head-Fier
First Thoughts

I received a couple of weeks ago a sample unit from mp4nation for me to review it,  black in color and without the retail box. I burned my M5 for around 60 hours in case you are interest and auditioned them quite a lot with either my Cowon J3 or my laptop (no special equipment). My laptop's sound card has more juice than the Cowon J3 but the M5 pretty sufficient and dont so any alternation as my vsonic gr07 does.
They retail for $44.50 from MP4nation in copper and black and you can choose a mic edition with $5 extra.
I am a newbie in Audio Terms so forgive and correct me freely.

Accessories (4,5/5)

The accessories are pretty much what Mp4nation has been offering and improving for quite some time now. You will get a nice rectangle hard case (eva) which even has room for a sansa clip, a pair of Comply foam tips S series (I think medium), 1 pair of wide bore b-flanges, a nice shirt clip (360 degrees spinning) and a lot of silicone tips. I think they were meant to be 6 pairs, 3 wide and 3 narrow (L/M/S) but I got 4 pairs and 1 single
confused_face.gif
Generally it’s a perfect pack of accessories but since I got fitting issues with every earphone and eartips I use, it would be nice to see some innovation. (Maybe something between M and L)

Build quality (5/5)

The build quality is great. I haven’t notice any compromises. The casings are lightweight and aluminum with 1 vent on the side with the distinctive L/R signs and 1 vent on the rear with the written “brainwavz”. The cable feels fine and it has minor memory effect. All cable connections have good strain reliefs with a nice long L type 3.5mm plug. Cable cinch and shirt clip complete the package!

Isolation- Microphonics (3/5)