Reversing stereo output
post-1476456
Thread Starter
Post #1 of 15

m4a1rifle

New Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 12, 2005
Messages
14
Reaction score
0
Joined
Jul 12, 2005
Posts
14
Likes
0
please tell me is there anyway i can reverse the audio output in my pc? (windows xp)
due to wiring restriction, i need to make left speaker produce right channel and vice versa.
any way?

thanks.
 
     Share This Post       
post-1476481
Post #2 of 15

cosmopragma

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Dec 30, 2003
Messages
3,091
Reaction score
11
Location
Germany
Joined
Dec 30, 2003
Location
Germany
Posts
3,091
Likes
11
Quote:

Originally Posted by m4a1rifle
please tell me is there anyway i can reverse the audio output in my pc? (windows xp)
due to wiring restriction, i need to make left speaker produce right channel and vice versa.
any way?

thanks.



That's easy.
The free software player foobar2000 has a built-in DSP effect called "reverse stereo channels, done.

And here is the unavoidable traditional head-fi greeting for newbies :
Welcome to head-fi, sorry about your wallet.
 
     Share This Post       
post-1476514
Post #3 of 15

m4a1rifle

New Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 12, 2005
Messages
14
Reaction score
0
Joined
Jul 12, 2005
Posts
14
Likes
0
Quote:

Originally Posted by cosmopragma
That's easy.
The free software player foobar2000 has a built-in DSP effect called "reverse stereo channels, done.

And here is the unavoidable traditional head-fi greeting for newbies :
Welcome to head-fi, sorry about your wallet.



haha thanks for the frenly heads up, but i'm ady head-fi member a long while ago, just that i forgot my username so i created a new accout. :p


i'm aware of the foobar2k's DSP, but is there anyway to make every sound my soundcard produce reversed?
like when i playing game, watching movies i won't be using foobar2k...
 
     Share This Post       
post-1476648
Post #4 of 15

lan

Videographus Supremus:Makes audio cables using super-advanced materials, like "some clear tape" and "some not so clear tape."
Joined
Sep 4, 2002
Messages
8,604
Reaction score
13
Joined
Sep 4, 2002
Posts
8,604
Likes
13
Why don't you reverse the wiring from source to amp OR reverse the wiring to your speakers?
 
     Share This Post       
post-1476657
Post #5 of 15

m4a1rifle

New Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 12, 2005
Messages
14
Reaction score
0
Joined
Jul 12, 2005
Posts
14
Likes
0
Quote:

Originally Posted by lan
Why don't you reverse the wiring from source to amp OR reverse the wiring to your speakers?


that means i have to cut and rewire my original wire... T.T... really no alternatives?
 
     Share This Post       
post-1476664
Post #6 of 15

lan

Videographus Supremus:Makes audio cables using super-advanced materials, like "some clear tape" and "some not so clear tape."
Joined
Sep 4, 2002
Messages
8,604
Reaction score
13
Joined
Sep 4, 2002
Posts
8,604
Likes
13
Ok. Are you using mini to mini cable? How about moving the speakers physically then?
 
     Share This Post       
post-1476676
Post #7 of 15

m4a1rifle

New Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 12, 2005
Messages
14
Reaction score
0
Joined
Jul 12, 2005
Posts
14
Likes
0
Quote:

Originally Posted by lan
Ok. Are you using mini to mini cable? How about moving the speakers physically then?


my situation is like this:
my desk:

(monitor)(L speaker).............................(R speaker)
(i'm sitting here)

my speaker volume and on/of switch is on the right speaker.. everytime i nid to move to R speaker to adjust... so i wanna move R speaker to swap with L speaker...
 
     Share This Post       
post-1476720
Post #8 of 15

Febs

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Mar 25, 2005
Messages
2,853
Reaction score
12
Joined
Mar 25, 2005
Posts
2,853
Likes
12
Check the documentation and/or setup program that came with your soundcard. Depending on the card, you might have the ability to swap the channels via a configurable setting. The configurability varies from card to card, so it's impossible to give a generalized answer.
 
     Share This Post       
post-1476725
Post #9 of 15

m4a1rifle

New Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 12, 2005
Messages
14
Reaction score
0
Joined
Jul 12, 2005
Posts
14
Likes
0
Quote:

Originally Posted by Febs
Check the documentation and/or setup program that came with your soundcard. Depending on the card, you might have the ability to swap the channels via a configurable setting. The configurability varies from card to card, so it's impossible to give a generalized answer.


ic....
it's built-in..

i have to mess with the chip's pin? short-circuit it?
no software driver that can achieve this?
 
     Share This Post       
post-1476733
Post #10 of 15

PeterR

European Group Buy Coordinator
Joined
Apr 3, 2003
Messages
1,518
Reaction score
10
Joined
Apr 3, 2003
Posts
1,518
Likes
10
I suppose there's no way to make that:
(L speaker)...............(monitor)..............(R speaker)
..........................(i'm sitting here)

Why don't you just adjust the volume by software?
 
     Share This Post       
post-1476747
Post #11 of 15

Asmo

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Mar 9, 2003
Messages
1,168
Reaction score
10
Joined
Mar 9, 2003
Posts
1,168
Likes
10
Quote:

Originally Posted by PeterR
I suppose there's no way to make that:
(L speaker)...............(monitor)..............(R speaker)
..........................(i'm sitting here)

Why don't you just adjust the volume by software?



Good idea, turn up the volume knob on your speakers, and adjust volume with software, that is the easiest solution. But you serously need to move your situation around, the way you have it setup is silly.
 
     Share This Post       
post-1476750
Post #12 of 15

m4a1rifle

New Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 12, 2005
Messages
14
Reaction score
0
Joined
Jul 12, 2005
Posts
14
Likes
0
Quote:

Originally Posted by PeterR
I suppose there's no way to make that:
(L speaker)...............(monitor)..............(R speaker)
..........................(i'm sitting here)

Why don't you just adjust the volume by software?



yeah.... can't.. wiring problem... cord too short, too close to subwoofer. etc.

i guess that's the only way?
no such software driver/tweak exists? i feel like one in a million!!
 
     Share This Post       
post-1476798
Post #14 of 15

Asmo

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Mar 9, 2003
Messages
1,168
Reaction score
10
Joined
Mar 9, 2003
Posts
1,168
Likes
10
Quote:

Originally Posted by m4a1rifle
yeah.... can't.. wiring problem... cord too short, too close to subwoofer. etc.

i guess that's the only way?
no such software driver/tweak exists? i feel like one in a million!!



What speakers are you using? Solving the wiring issue should be a better solution than software.
 
     Share This Post       
post-1476860
Post #15 of 15

m4a1rifle

New Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 12, 2005
Messages
14
Reaction score
0
Joined
Jul 12, 2005
Posts
14
Likes
0
Quote:

Originally Posted by PeterR
Quick google turned up this:
http://www.actualsolution.com/power_mixer/



hey man, it works!! thanks alot man..
i tried google b4, i just don't know the correct keyword to come up with such great software!!
thanks PeterR
problem solved!
 
     Share This Post       

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top