REV33: Reduces Symptoms of Temporary Tinnitus and Ear-fatigue
Mar 23, 2016 at 3:44 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 6

Bloos

100+ Head-Fier
Hi, I just saw this product today and it claims to "prevents in-ear monitors and headphones from producing unwanted noise and distortion."
and I was wondering if anyone can explain how it does this, because doesn't distortion depend on your sources?
So if you add the rev33 to the chain, how can it un-distort the sound fed to it?
Does it instead distort the sound even more to reduce the harsher frequencies? (couldn't find much technical info on their website).
Thanks!

Mar 24, 2016 at 8:13 AM Post #2 of 6
A friend of mine spotted this post and knew I'd just bought this product and encouraged me, being a geek, to sign up and respond. I'm a sound engineer so this sort of stuff interest a me. I've got a couple of these devices now as they are not 'universal fixes' ie they are Taylored towards individual products. I don't really know how they work; some kind impedance matching I think. But I tried one and it really worked on my UE IEMs. So I bought one for my HD25s which are my headphones of choice. Simply put the image seems wider and uncluttered. It isn't making things wider by reducing the mono part of the signal as far as I can tell. It just seems cleaner. It's a pretty audiophile thing. I don't think these things will be flying off the shelf for people who just want to have some noise pushed into their eardrums from little white buds but I have to say I am actually enjoying listening on cans much more than before. - it sounds more like the results you can get from a good speaker system 'in air' if you get my meaning.
I also have the UE active box which is interesting but I feel it's far less natural sounding ( possibly shaping the curve rather than removing unwanted stuff like the Rev thing must be doing as its passive and the UE box is active )