Radsone EarStudio ES100
post-15161658
Post #5,251 of 6,070

Jearly410

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Apr 12, 2017
Messages
335
Reaction score
154
Location
San Antonio TX
Joined
Apr 12, 2017
Location
San Antonio TX
Posts
335
Likes
154
Based on that guy’s description, my money is on a cold solder joint. When bumped, it makes an intermittent connection and resets or shorts out and shuts down.

If anyone has a bad one they can send me, I’ll open it up and see if it can be fixed easily. It sounds like such a fix could benefit a lot of people.

PM me if anyone is able to help!
Pm sent!
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: Slater
post-15161662
Post #5,252 of 6,070

Slater

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jun 5, 2015
Messages
11,259
Reaction score
18,538
Location
Cincinnati, Ohio USA
post-15162215
Post #5,253 of 6,070

Jearly410

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Apr 12, 2017
Messages
335
Reaction score
154
Location
San Antonio TX
Joined
Apr 12, 2017
Location
San Antonio TX
Posts
335
Likes
154
Have you been flying with it? Has it been exposed to large changes in temperature/pressure/humidity?
No flying, no changes outside of the ordinary.
 
     Share This Post       
post-15162403
Post #5,254 of 6,070

subwoof3r

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 17, 2006
Messages
853
Reaction score
1,255
Location
France
Joined
Dec 17, 2006
Location
France
Posts
853
Likes
1,255
Interesting discussion, so if understand well, let connected 24/7 the ES100 via USB cable as a DAC for computer is finally a bad idea (even if the battery care option is turned ON) ?
Also, another question: even if we properly lock the output, doesn't mean we are safe of shorts when removing the plug while listening to music ?
 
     Share This Post       
post-15162779
Post #5,255 of 6,070

Slater

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jun 5, 2015
Messages
11,259
Reaction score
18,538
Location
Cincinnati, Ohio USA
Joined
Jun 5, 2015
Location
Cincinnati, Ohio USA
Posts
11,259
Likes
18,538
Also, another question: even if we properly lock the output, doesn't mean we are safe of shorts when removing the plug while listening to music ?
Correct, it is not safe to remove or insert the plug while music is playing. It doesn’t matter what settings you have set. It is due to the hardware design.
 
post-15164314
Post #5,257 of 6,070

davehutch

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Aug 10, 2009
Messages
520
Reaction score
194
Joined
Aug 10, 2009
Posts
520
Likes
194
Website
www.hutchinsonphotographic.com
Correct, it is not safe to remove or insert the plug while music is playing. It doesn’t matter what settings you have set. It is due to the hardware design.
Unless you lock the output. Then it's ok
 
     Share This Post       
post-15164334
Post #5,258 of 6,070

zolom

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Sep 7, 2003
Messages
430
Reaction score
128
Location
Here
Joined
Sep 7, 2003
Location
Here
Posts
430
Likes
128
Hi,
Is there a method (procedure or application) to set immediately the "Bluetooth Audio LDAC Codec: Playback quality" under Developer Options to the relevant selection without having to go (again and again) into the long Settings sequence hierarchy?

Thanks
 
Last edited:
     Share This Post       
post-15164337
Post #5,259 of 6,070

WilliamLeonhart

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Aug 19, 2014
Messages
2,515
Reaction score
511
Location
Vietnam
Joined
Aug 19, 2014
Location
Vietnam
Posts
2,515
Likes
511
Hi,
Is there a method (procedure or application) to set immediately the "Bluetooth Audio LDAC Codec: Playback quality" under Developer Options to the relevant selection without having to go (again and again) into the long Settings sequence hierarchy?

Thanks
Are you referring to Android? I don’t think there is
 
     Share This Post       
post-15164338
Post #5,260 of 6,070

subwoof3r

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 17, 2006
Messages
853
Reaction score
1,255
Location
France
Joined
Dec 17, 2006
Location
France
Posts
853
Likes
1,255
Hi,
Is there a method (procedure or application) to set immediately the "Bluetooth Audio LDAC Codec: Playback quality" under Developer Options to the relevant selection without having to go (again and again) into the long Settings hierarchy?

Thanks
If your source device has LDAC, normally it should be "outputed" automatically on LDAC. You shouldn't have to make any choice.
ES100 should select (or force) LDAC directly.
 
     Share This Post       
post-15164358
Post #5,261 of 6,070

zolom

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Sep 7, 2003
Messages
430
Reaction score
128
Location
Here
Joined
Sep 7, 2003
Location
Here
Posts
430
Likes
128
Thanks

It always defaults to "Best Effort". I did perceived "Optimized for Audio Quality" as better sounding
 
     Share This Post       
post-15164365
Post #5,262 of 6,070

subwoof3r

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 17, 2006
Messages
853
Reaction score
1,255
Location
France
Joined
Dec 17, 2006
Location
France
Posts
853
Likes
1,255
Thanks

It always defaults to "Best Effort". I did perceived "Optimized for Audio Quality" as better sounding
Always check directly via EarStudio app the real bluetooth input, best way to be sure it's playing in LDAC mode :thumbsup:
 
     Share This Post       
post-15164387
Post #5,263 of 6,070

zolom

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Sep 7, 2003
Messages
430
Reaction score
128
Location
Here
Joined
Sep 7, 2003
Location
Here
Posts
430
Likes
128
Yes, my ES100 is always set to LDAC (96/24), but on the phone side (S10) it can be further configured to the desired LDAC Playback Quality level (under developer options)
 
Last edited:
     Share This Post       
post-15164414
Post #5,264 of 6,070

subwoof3r

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 17, 2006
Messages
853
Reaction score
1,255
Location
France
Joined
Dec 17, 2006
Location
France
Posts
853
Likes
1,255
Always better to let all options as default, so you can be sure ES100 will handle the best of your device input anyway.
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: zolom
post-15164461
Post #5,265 of 6,070

moisespr123

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 27, 2019
Messages
258
Reaction score
134
Location
United States
Joined
Jan 27, 2019
Location
United States
Posts
258
Likes
134
Website
moisescardona.me
I also manually set the LDAC quality to "Optimize for Audio Quality". Doesn't that forces the device to stream at 900kbit? I've never had an issue setting it that way for the ES100. And it sounds great too.
 
     Share This Post       

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 1, Guests: 8)

  • Top