Radsone EarStudio ES100
post-15124926
Post #5,131 of 6,070

HungryPanda

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Dec 8, 2013
Messages
7,974
Reaction score
13,171
Location
Kent, UK
Joined
Dec 8, 2013
Location
Kent, UK
Posts
7,974
Likes
13,171
I have never had an AK player so do not know
 
     Share This Post       
post-15125039
Post #5,132 of 6,070

Mouseman

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 18, 2016
Messages
604
Reaction score
449
Location
USA
Joined
Feb 18, 2016
Location
USA
Posts
604
Likes
449
What might happen when I take a normal balanced cable, and use it with an AK player? Does this mean that my current balanced cables are wasted if I switch to an AK player?
You could use an adapter to make it an unbalanced 3.5 plug and still use your cable, but I've never seen an adapter that would switch it to the pin map shown above. It might exist, but I've never had to look for one.
 
     Share This Post       
post-15125109
Post #5,133 of 6,070

davehutch

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Aug 10, 2009
Messages
520
Reaction score
194
Joined
Aug 10, 2009
Posts
520
Likes
194
Website
www.hutchinsonphotographic.com
Here's the diagram from the ES100 Radsone App.
Follow this and you can't go wrong
IMG_3597841FCBFA-1.jpeg
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: scotvl
post-15125851
Post #5,135 of 6,070

Lurk650

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Nov 11, 2012
Messages
5,199
Reaction score
1,882
Location
South San Francisco
Joined
Nov 11, 2012
Location
South San Francisco
Posts
5,199
Likes
1,882
Like I said 2.5 TRRS balanced will work with any 2.5 balanced source. You can't go Unbalanced (Single Ended, i.e. 3.5mm TRS) to Balanced 2.5/4.4 TRRS with an adapter but you can go 2.5/4.4 to Single Ended with an adapter. You can also go 2.5 to 4.4 with an adapter, that's what I do with my Sony ZX300. As I said, I buy all my cables in 2.5 TRRS then simply use the FiiO if I want to quickly connect to my phone or my iFi Micro BL, when using my ZX300 I use my iBasso 2.5 female to 4.4 male adapter.
 
post-15127227
Post #5,136 of 6,070

subwoof3r

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 17, 2006
Messages
853
Reaction score
1,255
Location
France
Joined
Dec 17, 2006
Location
France
Posts
853
Likes
1,255
Since I try to make full cycles to my unit, looks like I’m encountering a little issue about battery stats.

I try to charge to 100% but once the green led appears, once powered ON, the indicator seems to display 88%. I had to recharge again and after 5 minutes the green led appeared again and it was charged up to 92%, tried again without any success to charge up to 100%.
The « Battery care » switch from app was already turned OFF before this, so I tried to ernable it, reboot, and redisable it, then re-try and i twas this time charged to 100%.
Once it was at 100% I immediately let the device idle (turned off) for 2 hours, and after turning it on it showed 93% last. Not sure why ? looks like there is a bug in the battery management.
I triied using my unit for 20 minutes (until it showed 90%) but after turned ON later it showed 92% again.
Does this bug affects everybody here ? or do I have a defective unit maybe ?

Many thanks in advance
 
     Share This Post       
post-15127264
Post #5,137 of 6,070

tracyca

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Nov 5, 2012
Messages
604
Reaction score
289
Joined
Nov 5, 2012
Posts
604
Likes
289
Do you have battery management on, if so it will not power the battery to a full 100% to save the life of the battery.
 
     Share This Post       
post-15127405
Post #5,138 of 6,070

Alphasoixante

Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 11, 2018
Messages
69
Reaction score
51
Location
New York, USA
Joined
Jul 11, 2018
Location
New York, USA
Posts
69
Likes
51
It looks like my beloved es100 has bitten the dust. I bought it in July of last year and, I have to admit, I was not gentle to it. I'm actually surprised it has lasted this long! Before I lay it to rest, I'll describe what's going on and maybe someone out there has figured out how to fix it?

It randomly and frequently reboots. It doesn't matter whether headphones are plugged into balanced, unbalanced, or not at all.When the reboot occurs, most of the time it reconnects to my Galaxy S8+. However it takes a while to reconnect (much slower than when powering on). I recently updated firmware to latest and it seemed to stop the issue for a few hours, but it continues. Oh, and it also reboots when used as a USB DAC with my Win 10 PC. The one thing I'm realizing as I'm typing is that I haven't tested whether the reboots occur when music is playing, when it's not or both.

Anyhow, I'm very bummed.
 
     Share This Post       
post-15127709
Post #5,139 of 6,070

subwoof3r

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 17, 2006
Messages
853
Reaction score
1,255
Location
France
Joined
Dec 17, 2006
Location
France
Posts
853
Likes
1,255
Do you have battery management on, if so it will not power the battery to a full 100% to save the life of the battery.
Problem is that, as I said, I had the switch already turned off, so the issue looks like it don't really charge up to 100% although that switch is well turned off :frowning2:
 
     Share This Post       
post-15127864
Post #5,140 of 6,070

tracyca

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Nov 5, 2012
Messages
604
Reaction score
289
Joined
Nov 5, 2012
Posts
604
Likes
289
Sorry about that I was quick reading in my kids school parking lot. Did not see that you had battery management off.
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: subwoof3r
post-15128030
Post #5,141 of 6,070

subwoof3r

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 17, 2006
Messages
853
Reaction score
1,255
Location
France
Joined
Dec 17, 2006
Location
France
Posts
853
Likes
1,255
Sorry about that I was quick reading in my kids school parking lot. Did not see that you had battery management off.
No worries! :)
 
     Share This Post       
post-15128083
Post #5,142 of 6,070

Slater

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jun 5, 2015
Messages
11,258
Reaction score
18,538
Location
Cincinnati, Ohio USA
Joined
Jun 5, 2015
Location
Cincinnati, Ohio USA
Posts
11,258
Likes
18,538
     Share This Post       
post-15128102
Post #5,143 of 6,070

gordec

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Aug 14, 2006
Messages
1,212
Reaction score
553
Joined
Aug 14, 2006
Posts
1,212
Likes
553
Got the ES100 yesterday. I'm using it with Westone ES60 and Dita Oslo cable with 2.5 TRRS. The immediate impression is large sound stage. Where I feel it lacking is detail and dynamics. I'm using it in LDAC mode with Note 9 and in APTX it sounds about the same. So far I can't say it's better than straight out of the headphone jack of the Note 9 which BTW is a very good DAC. No one talks about it.

 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: bidn
post-15128135
Post #5,144 of 6,070

rbf1138

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Oct 18, 2004
Messages
676
Reaction score
25
Joined
Oct 18, 2004
Posts
676
Likes
25
Just got an es100. Paired it with my iPhone but I’m getting some faint crackles when playing. Is there anything I should be doing to eliminate this, or anything I’m doing that may be causing this?
 
     Share This Post       
post-15128230
Post #5,145 of 6,070

Lurk650

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Nov 11, 2012
Messages
5,199
Reaction score
1,882
Location
South San Francisco
Joined
Nov 11, 2012
Location
South San Francisco
Posts
5,199
Likes
1,882
@gordec yeah, Note 9 DAC is actually pretty solid. Still prefer to use the ES100 since I run balanced though.
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: bidn

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 2, Guests: 9)

  • Top