R5, a new Android DAP by Hiby
Oct 4, 2020 at 10:13 AM Post #3,153 of 4,071

Joe Bloggs

Member of the Trade: HiBy / EFO technologies Co
His Porta Corda walked the Green Mile
Joined
Oct 21, 2001
Posts
11,336
Likes
3,164
Location
Hong Kong and Melbourne
I found it quite effective to apply convolution together with MSEB. However some vocals are happened to have distortion.
Try lowering the gain in the convolver stage
 
Oct 4, 2020 at 1:26 PM Post #3,155 of 4,071

CrystalGipsy

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 17, 2019
Posts
192
Likes
80
Location
Beckenham
With any DSP you run the risk of clipping if you don't give it some headroom. In the convolver settings reduce it down. A good starting point is -3db reduce more if needed. You will find some music will need far more than others.
 
Oct 5, 2020 at 1:51 AM Post #3,156 of 4,071

Joe Bloggs

Member of the Trade: HiBy / EFO technologies Co
His Porta Corda walked the Green Mile
Joined
Oct 21, 2001
Posts
11,336
Likes
3,164
Location
Hong Kong and Melbourne
I set the volume at 0.0 . Further down will be - x.x . Which volume level should be optimal? Thanks!
Reduce it by a few dB (to negative if that's what that means) and test that part out to check that the distortion doesn't happen anymore. If reducing this by much doesn't do the trick, there may be another problem. The default btw is -4.5dB.
 
Oct 5, 2020 at 3:16 AM Post #3,159 of 4,071

twgtwg

New Head-Fier
Joined
May 20, 2014
Posts
36
Likes
23
Oct 6, 2020 at 9:49 PM Post #3,161 of 4,071

noobandroid

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 6, 2012
Posts
1,410
Likes
242
Location
Malaysia
i wonder if 3.5mm output uses single dac or dual dac too? i know balanced but curious on the single out
 
Oct 7, 2020 at 8:10 AM Post #3,162 of 4,071

DW75

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Mar 27, 2014
Posts
1,287
Likes
742
I am getting mighty pissed off at Canada Post. All they continue to do is give me the run around. This is all I have for the last tracking update in August. The only tracking info is that from over 6 weeks ago. They admitted the item appears to be lost. I contacted Hiby, and all they say is I should just wait another month for the item to see if it arrives. This is total garbage. I won't be buying anything from China again.


  • 2020-08-26 23:30
    Delivering
    Departed country of origin




 
Oct 7, 2020 at 11:09 AM Post #3,163 of 4,071

emrelights1973

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Aug 16, 2015
Posts
647
Likes
253
I am getting mighty pissed off at Canada Post. All they continue to do is give me the run around. This is all I have for the last tracking update in August. The only tracking info is that from over 6 weeks ago. They admitted the item appears to be lost. I contacted Hiby, and all they say is I should just wait another month for the item to see if it arrives. This is total garbage. I won't be buying anything from China again.


  • 2020-08-26 23:30
    Delivering
    Departed country of origin



You pissed at Canada post and won’t getting anything from China ?
 
Oct 7, 2020 at 8:40 PM Post #3,164 of 4,071

courierdriver

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Dec 8, 2005
Posts
1,747
Likes
3,402
Location
Canada
I am getting mighty pissed off at Canada Post. All they continue to do is give me the run around. This is all I have for the last tracking update in August. The only tracking info is that from over 6 weeks ago. They admitted the item appears to be lost. I contacted Hiby, and all they say is I should just wait another month for the item to see if it arrives. This is total garbage. I won't be buying anything from China again.


  • 2020-08-26 23:30
    Delivering
    Departed country of origin



Have you registered a dispute on Aliexpress? I did with my Urbanfun ISSO14. Two sets eventually made it to me...after 3 months in transit. Was refunded my money and ended up getting 2 sets for free. Also live in Canada and have had huge problems in the past with getting timely delivery from Canada Post. Best thing you can do, is register a dispute on Aliexpress to get your money back. Once you do, there's a good chance that your item will eventually arrive. Even if it doesn't...you still got your money back.
 
Oct 9, 2020 at 7:19 PM Post #3,165 of 4,071

jwbrent

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Nov 2, 2008
Posts
5,738
Likes
4,964
Location
California
In the past 10 days, my R5 has twice shown the android on his back screen when powered on. I was able to get it running both times, but I’m wondering why this is happening and if it’s a sign of a failing unit. 😒
 

Users who are viewing this thread

  • Top