Questyle QP2R
post-13676311
Post #211 of 1,115

lafeuill

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Nov 26, 2014
Messages
231
Reaction score
188
Location
Paris, France
Joined
Nov 26, 2014
Location
Paris, France
Posts
231
Likes
188
Age
45
Did both of you try it balanced ?
 
     Share This Post       
post-13676347
Post #212 of 1,115

coolcat

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Sep 8, 2008
Messages
690
Reaction score
77
Joined
Sep 8, 2008
Posts
690
Likes
77
Yes I did try only balancedo.
 
     Share This Post       
post-13676766
Post #214 of 1,115

lafeuill

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Nov 26, 2014
Messages
231
Reaction score
188
Location
Paris, France
Joined
Nov 26, 2014
Location
Paris, France
Posts
231
Likes
188
Age
45
Lucky you.

I'll have to wait until mid october to have a listen at an audio show in Paris, if Questyle is represented there.

Enjoy.
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: Bart147
post-13680938
Post #215 of 1,115

MP800

New Head-Fier
Joined
Aug 25, 2017
Messages
44
Reaction score
12
Location
Netherlands
Joined
Aug 25, 2017
Location
Netherlands
Posts
44
Likes
12
As i have been following this and order threads about the QP2R and QP1R I thought to share my findings. I was able to demo both yesterday for a couple of hours. I also compared them to my Chord Mojo. They where listened to with and without cma800r amp.

QP1R-> More low end, dynamics and intimate but smaller sound stage. Louder than QP2R.
QP2R-> More mid based. More referenced. Reverbs are bigger and longer.
Mojo-> Can go louder, but lacks definition.

To me the QP1R seems to be more fun to listen to and the QP2R more referenced. With the HD800 the QP1R is really fun to listen to. Not harsh at all! Though is does lack the big soundstage that the QP2R brings.

With the V-Moda M100 the QP2R sounds a good suit. As the M100 already has that fun factor. The QP2R makes it a tight, clear and great headphone to listen to.

I ended up ordering the QP2R! :)
 
Last edited:
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: lafeuill
post-13681328
Post #216 of 1,115

twister6

twister6 Reviews
Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Oct 6, 2013
Messages
11,634
Reaction score
28,691
Joined
Oct 6, 2013
Posts
11,634
Likes
28,691
Website
twister6.com
As i have been following this and order threads about the QP2R and QP1R I thought to share my findings. I was able to demo both yesterday for a couple of hours. I also compared them to my Chord Mojo. They where listened to with and without cma800r amp.

QP1R-> More low end, dynamics and intimate but smaller sound stage. Louder than QP2R.
QP2R-> More mid based. More referenced. Reverbs are bigger and longer.
Mojo-> Can go louder, but lacks definition.

To me the QP1R seems to be more fun to listen to and the QP2R more referenced. With the HD800 the QP1R is really fun to listen to. Not harsh at all! Though is does lack the big soundstage that the QP2R brings.

With the V-Moda M100 the QP2R sounds a good suit. As the M100 already has that fun factor. The QP2R makes it a tight, clear and great headphone to listen to.

I ended up ordering the QP2R! :)
I think for many people, neutral-reference sound of the source (such as your description of QP2R, I don't have either one so just quoting you) will be the way to go because it makes for a better pair up with different headphones/earphones where you hear the actual sound sig of headphones without additioinal coloring by a source.
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: MP800
post-13684317
Post #217 of 1,115

BunnyNamedCraig

Formerly known as MTMECraig/bunnynamedfrank
Joined
Jul 7, 2014
Messages
2,094
Reaction score
1,281
Joined
Jul 7, 2014
Posts
2,094
Likes
1,281
I think for many people, neutral-reference sound of the source (such as your description of QP2R, I don't have either one so just quoting you) will be the way to go because it makes for a better pair up with different headphones/earphones where you hear the actual sound sig of headphones without additioinal coloring by a source.
I to agree with this as well... the times that I change that opinion is when the amp has a different flavor that I like in general (Cavalli amps). curious to get our demo QP2R to finally hear it for my self.
 
     Share This Post       
post-13698449
Post #218 of 1,115

headwhacker

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Sep 4, 2013
Messages
4,763
Reaction score
752
Joined
Sep 4, 2013
Posts
4,763
Likes
752
I have been playing with QP2R's EQ using my iSine20. Initially, I was getting quite a good responsive EQ every time I made a change. However, all of a sudden changes to the EQ stopped responding. As if the EQ is totally gone or not working. Turning EQ off changing between EQ1 and EQ2 or drastically making a change in one or multiple bands doesn't affect the sound anymore.

I reset my device twice but it appears EQ no longer works. Worst is I think the sound is stuck to the last EQ preset that work and the sound is now totally whack using another headphone.

Has anyone encountered this before? Either on QP2R or QP1R?
 
     Share This Post       
post-13698639
Post #219 of 1,115

MP800

New Head-Fier
Joined
Aug 25, 2017
Messages
44
Reaction score
12
Location
Netherlands
Joined
Aug 25, 2017
Location
Netherlands
Posts
44
Likes
12
I have been playing with QP2R's EQ using my iSine20. Initially, I was getting quite a good responsive EQ every time I made a change. However, all of a sudden changes to the EQ stopped responding. As if the EQ is totally gone or not working. Turning EQ off changing between EQ1 and EQ2 or drastically making a change in one or multiple bands doesn't affect the sound anymore.

I reset my device twice but it appears EQ no longer works. Worst is I think the sound is stuck to the last EQ preset that work and the sound is now totally whack using another headphone.

Has anyone encountered this before? Either on QP2R or QP1R?
I read a post earlier in this thread from @Sound Eq about some problems with eq on certain file types wit the Qp1r. Have you tried different file types?

Even if this is the case it sounds to me like it's a faulty unit.
 
     Share This Post       
post-13698694
Post #220 of 1,115

headwhacker

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Sep 4, 2013
Messages
4,763
Reaction score
752
Joined
Sep 4, 2013
Posts
4,763
Likes
752
All my files are flac. Besides, EQ worked for at least 2 hrs when I played with it
 
     Share This Post       
post-13698892
Post #221 of 1,115

headwhacker

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Sep 4, 2013
Messages
4,763
Reaction score
752
Joined
Sep 4, 2013
Posts
4,763
Likes
752
I found what the problem is. EQ does not take effect on 24-bit files.
 
     Share This Post       
post-13698898
Post #222 of 1,115

MP800

New Head-Fier
Joined
Aug 25, 2017
Messages
44
Reaction score
12
Location
Netherlands
Joined
Aug 25, 2017
Location
Netherlands
Posts
44
Likes
12
I found what the problem is. EQ does not take effect on 24-bit files.
That's annoying. :frowning2: I receive mine in about two weeks. Will let you know if I have the same issue. I hope this is fixable with a firmware update.
 
     Share This Post       
post-13698986
Post #223 of 1,115

headwhacker

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Sep 4, 2013
Messages
4,763
Reaction score
752
Joined
Sep 4, 2013
Posts
4,763
Likes
752
At least, I know there is nothing wrong with my device. It appears to be a behavior that exist in QP1R also. Not a biggie to me as I have a separate SD card with only 16/44.1 Flac files. I have been playing with EQ with my DAPs to find out which one works best with my iSine20. So far it's a toss between LPG and QP2R. And I think with QP2R the iSine20 sounds fine without EQ compared to other DAPs I used including Hugo.
 
     Share This Post       
post-13699789
Post #224 of 1,115

Satir

Formerly known as Primum Audire
Joined
Dec 9, 2009
Messages
633
Reaction score
178
Location
Southeast US
Joined
Dec 9, 2009
Location
Southeast US
Posts
633
Likes
178
n/a
 
Last edited:
     Share This Post       
post-13716964
Post #225 of 1,115

headwhacker

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Sep 4, 2013
Messages
4,763
Reaction score
752
Joined
Sep 4, 2013
Posts
4,763
Likes
752
V1.01 FW is now available. Notable changes is the support for gapless playback. Does anyone knows what the "Flip" function does?
 
     Share This Post       

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 2)

Top