power supply's safe current amount for meta42
Sep 9, 2002 at 1:28 AM Post #2 of 13

puppyslugg

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jan 31, 2002
Posts
1,642
Likes
10
The amp will draw whatever amount current it needs. You should look a wall wart with high current rating-1A. It's more current than the meta requires, but I think a higher current rated ps, lends a greater sense of ease to the sound.
 
Sep 9, 2002 at 1:35 AM Post #3 of 13

eric343

Member of the Trade: Audiogeek: The "E" in META42
Joined
Jun 23, 2001
Posts
6,038
Likes
12
Generally anything over 60-100mA will work fine. You can't really have too much current, since the amp determines how much current is used, the power supply will only ever supply as much current as the amp needs, unless the amp asks for more current than the power supply can give.
 
Sep 9, 2002 at 3:13 AM Post #4 of 13

yongson

New Head-Fier
Joined
Apr 7, 2002
Posts
34
Likes
0
Thanks!!!!!! That's great! I found some linear regulated power supply, but the current is around 10A. I am afraid that will cause
damage to the Meta42. In this case, even 10A is Ok, right?
 
Sep 9, 2002 at 3:21 AM Post #5 of 13

puppyslugg

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jan 31, 2002
Posts
1,642
Likes
10
10A would be overkill. It will work, but it is really too big for the meta. Not that it would hurt the meta, it's just too big of a ps. Even 1A is way more than the meta needs.
 
Sep 9, 2002 at 3:46 AM Post #8 of 13

yongson

New Head-Fier
Joined
Apr 7, 2002
Posts
34
Likes
0
It was on ebay. Unfortunately, I didn't get any information till the auction over, so, I don't have it now. sorry. I think it a Acopian linear regulated 24v power supply(Gold). The item number may be : A24H1200
 
Sep 9, 2002 at 4:05 AM Post #11 of 13

eric343

Member of the Trade: Audiogeek: The "E" in META42
Joined
Jun 23, 2001
Posts
6,038
Likes
12
No you don't
evil_smiley.gif


DigiKey, Newark, and Mouser all carry some Elpac power supplies... The one you want is the WM113-S, DigiKey part number EPS127-ND.
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top