Post a picture of your homemade audio rack thread...
Dec 30, 2003 at 1:11 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 23

Brandon_Ottawa

100+ Head-Fier
It took about 1 week during Christmas to make this heavy sucker. The stand is made out of solid walnut, solid mahogany, 1/4" marble, and 3/4" MDF shelves. The legs are each made up of 12 recessed mahogany panels....so I made a total of 48 recessed panels...I'm a pro with the router now! The stand is about 46.5" high and the marble platforms are 24"x24". The post to post dimension is about 28"x34 3/4". The stand weighs about 150 - 200 lbs without the equipment. I haven't put a stain on it yet. I think just a natural Minwax antique oil would be beautiful.

I wouldn't sell this baby for under $2 G

Comments welcome.

4015stand3.jpg

4015stand1.jpg

4015stand2.jpg

Dec 30, 2003 at 2:29 AM Post #3 of 23
Wow, Brandon. I guess you got a little self conscious after I made fun of your lace doillies?

Man, that's a beefy rack! I love the little brass corner protectors, LOL.

Go to a wood worker's store and get "Bartleys Gel" varnish. It is really easy to work with and will give you a superb finish.

-Ed

Dec 30, 2003 at 2:34 AM Post #4 of 23
Gorgeous rack, brandon! That sure looks like cherry in the pictures for some reason. I was all excited thinking it was cherry.
Mahogany is very nice, too. I made an aquarium stand from some nice 5/4 I had left over from stock I bought for a boat transom.

My rack is a salamander knockoff, like andrzejpw's. Only I did not even make it, sadly, so no pics for this thread.

Dec 30, 2003 at 3:12 AM Post #5 of 23
Thanks for the compliments! It takes a wood worker to understand the amount of time and effort that goes into making something.

andrzejpw - nice rack!