Portables - ATH ES7, Senn Px100-II, HD 238, or Denon D1001
Sep 8, 2010 at 11:12 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 9

budgetboy

100+ Head-Fier
I have the Cowon S9 and don't want to buy an amp. I like the sound of the IE8s and the M50. I want something very portable that is durable, comfortable, looks good, and sounds great. Under $150 would be great, considered the Senn HD 25 but the high price, questionable comfort, and dorky looks ended up turning me off. Isolation is not a big priority, but portability is. Also, I am not what you would call a careful person, so durability is important. Looks matter because I'm not awesome enough to walk around wearing grados. I'd like some information about the headphones listed in the title or your own recommendations. Keep in mind sound, durability, comfort, looks, and price.

Thanks

Sep 8, 2010 at 11:24 AM Post #2 of 9
Now I'm no expert but I have the ES7's and I find they're sound definitely real nice. For style & durability they're definitely going to please, your problem you may find is comfort on long listening journeys etc but I only find this after about maybe an hour and a half however there is a mod where you bend the metal rods (sorry don't knwo correct term) straight although I've only done it partly 'cos I'm too afraid of snapping them but even what I've done hugely helps. The S9 will drive these fine so alls good there.

In comparison to the others the PX-100s arn't proper closed design so on trains etc you may have a problem however the the HD 238's and Denons I have no knowledge really of, I listened to the 238's in a store once and wasn't really liking the sound and feel so I'm happy I went with the ES7's but Denon are good and wouldn't be suprised if another person was to rate the Denons higher.

Sep 8, 2010 at 7:04 PM Post #3 of 9