Please Help me choose a headphone from this website.... AH-D7000, HD650, DT880, DT990, T70
Oct 15, 2011 at 11:59 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 13

Chezzy79

100+ Head-Fier
I have recently received a $250 gift card to bhphotovideo.com, and since I'm a huge music lover without a decent pair of headphone I chose to invest my money on a quality pair of headphones.  I don't have too much money as I am currently a college student, so the most I can spend on the headphone is $500 including my gift card (not to mention I'm getting a $260 iBasso D6 amp too).

Anyways the main use of the cans will be for:
Laptop (FLAC) > iBasso D6 > Headphones 
iPhone > 30 pin line out > iBasso D6 > Headphones

I mainly listen to hip hop (both new and old), rock (anywhere from 1950's to early 2000's, all kinds of them from the Beatles, AC/DC, Linkin Park to Three Days Grace), dubstep and classical (baroque).  Leakage of sound from an open back headphone will not be an issue since I rarely study in a library.  Anyways, here are few of the notable deals I found in that website:

Denon AH-D7000 - $740
Denon AH-D5000 - $500
Sennheiser HD650 - $350 (but is temporarily out of stock)
Beyerdynamic T70 or T70p - $569
Beyerdynamic DT990 Premium 600 ohm - $279
Beyerdynamic DT880 (any ohm) - $300

These are the top deals I found on the site... If you happen to find anything that I should get instead (not limited to headphones, maybe like a headphone amp so I can get a better deal from other website) please let me know.

Any input is greatly appreciated.  Thank you in advance! 

Oct 15, 2011 at 11:24 PM Post #3 of 13