Philips Fidelio X2 with no dac vs the Audio Technica ATH-AD500X with the Fiio E10K?
Nov 1, 2016 at 9:48 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 14

Surpuppa

New Head-Fier
I will mostly use the headphones for gaming and movies, so I want good bass, but I will also start getting into listening to music more, so I want them to sound good there too. 

My thoughts about the X2: They weigh almost 400 grams, isnt that a bit heavy? Will I get tired after several hour use? Will they sound bad without a DAC? (My motherboard is very old and has quite a bit of static noise, if I were to plug them directly into the mb with no DAC, would they sound bad?)

My thoughts about the AD500X: I heard they have amazing soundstage, but terrible bass. Would the bass boost on the E10K be enough to counter it? Does a bass boost ruin the sound in any way?

If not, are there any other headphones/DACs which would fit my use better? (Nothing too expensive)

Im really new to audio gear and headphones, so please explain in simple terms, thanks!

Nov 1, 2016 at 11:07 AM Post #2 of 14
The suspension headband on the X2 is made well and I don't really notice the weight of the headphones that much.  I can wear them for several hours without fatigue.

If you are getting static now, it won't improve with different headphones.  You probably do need a new DAC, and if you get the X2, I find they are better with an amp anyway.

I never liked the bass boost with the Fiio amps.  But that's just a personal preference.  It seemed boomy and bloated.

Have you considered the original Creative Aurvana Live?  It is relatively inexpensive, but has great sound with plenty of bass and is considered a pretty good set for gaming even though it is a closed back headphone.  The E10K would be overkill with the CAL, but a new DAC seems in order.  Downsides to the CAL are mediocre construction (they won't take much abuse) and small pads, though most find them comfortable.