pencil fi?
Sep 2, 2008 at 6:42 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 460

crappyjones123

1000+ Head-Fier
this might be an odd question but is there such a thing as pencil fi? ive been using pencils exclusively for the past 6-7 years, using a pen only when required (banks, official documents and such). after reading the pen-fi thread, it got me thinking. with as much as i write everyday (mostly math), it would be nice to have a pencil that is not only functional but also looks pleasing to the eye. following are a few things i had in mind for the ideal "nice" pencil.

-not terribly expensive ($30-$50 would be the most id be willing to spend including shipping if the pencil is not available locally). im just a math major and wont be signing any documents outlining national security.
-comfortable.
-a big/retractable eraser. i erase...a lot, so this would probably be the deciding factor but im guessing with pencils worth of pencil fi, form would be given greater importance over function.
-mechanical. given the amount i have to write in each class or in each sitting, a wooden pencil that needs to be sharpened isnt exactly practical.
-something that is aesthetically pleasing but isnt shaped like a deformed vegetable.

does such a pencil exist? is there a "pencil fi" site? is there a particular brand that makes "nice" pencils regardless of the cost? (i would just like to learn).

thanks,

cj

Sep 2, 2008 at 7:03 PM Post #3 of 460
Come on, craps and giggles, you research boys should realize that this belongs in the Gear forum...
biggrin.gif

On a more helpful note, I survived high school with a mech. pencil in writing position, with a lengthy retractable eraser at about a 60deg angle to that. This made it easy to perform the frequent task of erasure. Needless to say, this did not help my OCD tendencies that required unreasonably strict HW formatting standards on my part.

When it takes you ten minutes to get the heading correct, you have a problem.