Over-ear <200$ cans recommendations?
Jun 24, 2017 at 8:30 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 5

spicypepperoni

New Head-Fier
As a newbie to the headphone world, I do not know much about what sound signature I want, but I have some experience with the Bose qc15s and I find them comfortable and good enough. My ears do get slightly heated and they can hurt sometimes but it's probably because I'm wearing them wrong.

I was looking for some portable headphones that are comfortable for extended periods that can be used in public. If they are fold-able that would be a bonus, but not necessary. I do however want them not to be too big. I want good noise isolation and a comfortable fit on my head.

For sound quality, I don't know much, but I think most headphones in this price range are decent to great(that's what I think anyway)so I am not that concerned.

During my research I found that the Beyer-dynamic COPs were a pair that match my needs, except for portability because they look quite bulky.

Thanks in advance for taking your time and responding, I hope my specifications were enough but it's my first time posting so by all means criticize me.

Jun 26, 2017 at 1:38 AM Post #2 of 5
I haven't really tried any of these, but from what I've heard, the ATH M50X ($149), Shure SRH840 ($179), Beyerdynamic DT770 ($179), and ATH-MSR7 ($199) are all fantastic for the price so they're definitely worth looking into.
The DT770's are a tad bulky though so I'm not sure it fits your requirements. Either way, you're best off trying them on before committing to any one. They're all really popular so you shouldn't have any problem finding a store that sells some combination or all of them.

Last edited:
Jun 26, 2017 at 3:55 PM Post #3 of 5