Output Spike on CD4013 Flip Flop
post-1389670
Thread Starter
Post #1 of 7

CingKrab

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 8, 2002
Messages
410
Reaction score
17
Joined
Dec 8, 2002
Posts
410
Likes
17
Hi all:
Sorry for the off-topic post, since this isn't audio related. I'd appreciate any help from you guys though.

I've built something like this:

http://www.discovercircuits.com/PDF-...F/ONESHOTS.pdf

on both a breadboard and a protoboard. However, only on the protoboard, there is a short spike on the output when the power is turned on. It is rounded. The oscillator works properly after the power is on. However, the output is hooked up to a flip-flip ring counter, and this spike causes the ring counter to start earlier than I want, which kind of screws up my whole circuit. Without this problem, the circuit works perfectly on the breadboard. I do not see the spike on the input (and anyways it should be a fairly square pulse on the output
if there's is an input pulse). What can cause a spike like this?
 
     Share This Post       
post-1389739
Post #2 of 7

amb

Member of the Trade: AMB Laboratories
Joined
Apr 1, 2004
Messages
4,933
Reaction score
39
Joined
Apr 1, 2004
Posts
4,933
Likes
39
Do you have a decoupling capacitor next to each chip? If not you should. Maybe the inductance in the lines/wires of the power/ground wiring is glitching.
 
     Share This Post       
post-1389752
Post #3 of 7

CingKrab

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 8, 2002
Messages
410
Reaction score
17
Joined
Dec 8, 2002
Posts
410
Likes
17
I do have a 0.1 uF cap next to the Vdd pin of every chip I'm using. Is that big enough? I don't know anything about the inductance though. It is, however, the closest chip to the power/ground lines.
 
     Share This Post       
post-1389761
Post #4 of 7

amb

Member of the Trade: AMB Laboratories
Joined
Apr 1, 2004
Messages
4,933
Reaction score
39
Joined
Apr 1, 2004
Posts
4,933
Likes
39
0.1uF next to each chip should be enough; oh well, that was a shot in the dark.
 
     Share This Post       
post-1391135
Post #5 of 7

CingKrab

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 8, 2002
Messages
410
Reaction score
17
Joined
Dec 8, 2002
Posts
410
Likes
17
So does anyone have any ideas? I'd appreciate any input you guys might have.
 
     Share This Post       
post-1392977
Post #6 of 7

rickcr42

Are YOU talkin' to me?
Joined
Jun 21, 2001
Messages
13,874
Reaction score
13
Joined
Jun 21, 2001
Posts
13,874
Likes
13
sounds like "bounce" from the mechanical PB Switch

Check out some debounce circuits
 
     Share This Post       
post-1395489
Post #7 of 7

stackofhay

Head-Fier
Joined
Nov 25, 2004
Messages
68
Reaction score
0
Joined
Nov 25, 2004
Posts
68
Likes
0
You might consider adding a classic power up reset circuit to your board, so the ring counter and other elements remain in a reset state until the power rails come up to valid levels.

During the time the power rails are slewing, it's hard to predict the exact behavior of the circuit, so it's best just to keep everything reset until the rails have stabilized to a level that is in the spec'd operating range for the parts used in the circuit.

... just a thought
 
     Share This Post       

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top