OPPO HA-2 Portable Headphone Amplifier/DAC Discussion Thread
post-13893915
Post #4,638 of 4,818

MikeyFresh

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 14, 2012
Messages
1,248
Reaction score
307
Location
New York
Joined
Dec 14, 2012
Location
New York
Posts
1,248
Likes
307
The recommended cable from eBay a few posts up will solve your problem.
Exactly, and it's been available for months now continuously with no out of stock status, at a lower cost than the Oppo cable.
 
     Share This Post       
post-13905185
Post #4,639 of 4,818

Tennessee

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Sep 16, 2014
Messages
234
Reaction score
76
Joined
Sep 16, 2014
Posts
234
Likes
76
What will be a better choice quality wise this DAC or LG V30 (and how about amp-wise)? Thank you.
 
     Share This Post       
post-13905249
Post #4,640 of 4,818

rufus1949

New Head-Fier
Joined
Jun 7, 2017
Messages
33
Reaction score
9
Location
New Jersey
Joined
Jun 7, 2017
Location
New Jersey
Posts
33
Likes
9
I have a Galaxy S8 and the OPPO'Samp is much better. As for the DAC again the OPPO'S presents a cleaner more refined sound. Before you purchase check what sub cable is needed. Some of us had to hunt down a type c to micro with change to new phones.
 
Last edited:
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: Tennessee
post-13905288
Post #4,644 of 4,818

DrunkSaru

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Mar 3, 2017
Messages
135
Reaction score
50
Location
San Fernando Valley, CA
Joined
Mar 3, 2017
Location
San Fernando Valley, CA
Posts
135
Likes
50
I'll throw in my 2 cents I guess. I've done some extensive A/B testing with the V30 as well was the V20 and borrowed my friend's S8 (I have an S7 and first gen HA-2). Honestly, between the DAC's, I couldn't tell a difference (or maybe my ears aren't as well trained). Primarily ran it through my Jotunheim which I've become most familiar with in this past year but I also borrowed my friend's WA7 and I couldn't tell again. Used my HD650 and Aeon's to test. The Amp makes a huge difference but I guess it depends on what you're looking for. I don't have nice easy to drive headphones except my M40X and ideally, would have liked to test with better IEM's but I hate IEM's so the only one I have are a cheap set I bought from Monoprice (the XXX, bought it because it was on sale and name intrigued me) so it was harder to a good AB test between the V30 Amp and HA-2. Generally though, the HA2 has a bit of a glare and tends to make things more bright but that's also within my preference so I've quite enjoyed my HA2. In the end though, if I wasn't using it to monitor or analyze music, I wouldn't be able to tell the difference, especially if I was outdoors in the slightly louder environment. The V30 (and also the V20) impressed me a lot.
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: Tennessee
post-13908082
Post #4,645 of 4,818

Tennessee

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Sep 16, 2014
Messages
234
Reaction score
76
Joined
Sep 16, 2014
Posts
234
Likes
76
Can you charge ha-2 while using it with your smartphone and let it charge your smartphone too?
 
     Share This Post       
post-13912940
Post #4,646 of 4,818

Jesterson

New Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 13, 2017
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
Location
Singapore
Joined
Dec 13, 2017
Location
Singapore
Posts
2
Likes
0
Hi Everyone,

It seems like this thread is the biggest community of OPPO HA-2 users :)

I was was using my HA-2 for quite some time with android phone first, then iPhone 6s. Suddenly, presumably after iOS update from 10 to 11, it stopped working with iPhone. I did a lot of things recommended on Internet like rebooting phone with HA-2 plugged in, just rebooting, etc. Nothing helped, iPhone just ignores it. The reason is not in HA-2 since it works perfectly well with MacBook. I updated iOS to latest yesterday - same, iPhone doesn't see it.

If anyone can recommend anything - it will b greatly appreciated. Tired of listening to lousy iPhone amplifier already :)

Thank you in advance!
 
     Share This Post       
post-13912964
Post #4,647 of 4,818

DrunkSaru

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Mar 3, 2017
Messages
135
Reaction score
50
Location
San Fernando Valley, CA
Joined
Mar 3, 2017
Location
San Fernando Valley, CA
Posts
135
Likes
50
I had a similar issue when updating to 10 so I don't know if this the same issue as mine. Mine was also on an ipad, not an iphone. I was using a cheap aftermarket non-mfi certified cable. when I used my older lightening cable where the wires are exposed but official apple cable, it was working. I tried it then with a 3rd party MFI certified cable and that worked too. Over time, I noticed that non-MFI certified cables was a hit or miss or quality wasn't good. That said, if you were already using an MFI certified cable, then sorry, I don't have an answer.
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: Jesterson
post-13913058
Post #4,648 of 4,818

Jesterson

New Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 13, 2017
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
Location
Singapore
Joined
Dec 13, 2017
Location
Singapore
Posts
2
Likes
0
I had a similar issue when updating to 10 so I don't know if this the same issue as mine. Mine was also on an ipad, not an iphone. I was using a cheap aftermarket non-mfi certified cable. when I used my older lightening cable where the wires are exposed but official apple cable, it was working. I tried it then with a 3rd party MFI certified cable and that worked too. Over time, I noticed that non-MFI certified cables was a hit or miss or quality wasn't good. That said, if you were already using an MFI certified cable, then sorry, I don't have an answer.
Thank you for your response. I'm still using the original lighting cable that came with HA-2. It looks okay, but maybe some wired inside are broken... Anyway, thank you for the idea, will try.
 
     Share This Post       
post-13913163
Post #4,649 of 4,818

iJay

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Oct 7, 2014
Messages
457
Reaction score
133
Location
NE Ohio
Joined
Oct 7, 2014
Location
NE Ohio
Posts
457
Likes
133
Hello!
New to the Oppo realm. I’m considering the HA-2se for iPhone 6 (foobar2k app) and wondered if my Apple earbuds would still operate correctly when I receive a phone call if still plugged into the phone? Anyone try this?
Thanks!
 
     Share This Post       

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top