Onkyo DP-S1 Rubato / Pioneer XDP-30R Private
post-14195782
Post #1,201 of 1,491

colonelkernel8

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Dec 30, 2006
Messages
2,889
Reaction score
223
Location
Minneapolis
Joined
Dec 30, 2006
Location
Minneapolis
Posts
2,889
Likes
223
Nice.
I really feel this DAP doesn't get the attention it deserves. Few, if any DAPs can be all things to all people, but this one has all the features I need, nearly all that I want, and a sound quality that is perfect to my ears. I agree that it is a neutral presentation without sterility or harshness. A mostly well-built device with a very serviceable UI (again, very minor gripes, only).
It's my daily use / commute device that goes with me everywhere.
Its Tidal implementation is garbage and its Wi-Fi is nearly useless. Those are literally my only gripes. If they can get it to show more than the first 100 or so albums in my Tidal collection (and stop logging me out with the "incorrect username/password" garbage error) and keep a stable Wi-Fi connection when I'm 15-20 feet from my router this device would be an absolute giant-killer. Why can't they fix these things? At what point did it become OK for companies to release products that only kind of work?

Aside from that I use it every day.
 
     Share This Post       
post-14195996
Post #1,202 of 1,491

shane55

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Apr 5, 2010
Messages
3,430
Reaction score
320
Joined
Apr 5, 2010
Posts
3,430
Likes
320
Its Tidal implementation is garbage and its Wi-Fi is nearly useless. Those are literally my only gripes. If they can get it to show more than the first 100 or so albums in my Tidal collection (and stop logging me out with the "incorrect username/password" garbage error) and keep a stable Wi-Fi connection when I'm 15-20 feet from my router this device would be an absolute giant-killer. Why can't they fix these things? At what point did it become OK for companies to release products that only kind of work?

Aside from that I use it every day.
And... funny as it may be, I never use WiFi or Tidal. I thought that I might when I bought it, but have only turned on the WiFi once, and that was to update the Firmware... which worked flawlessly.

The biggest feature upgrades for me from my DX-90 are the dual SD slots and ability to play virtually any file I have. To be able to carry half a terabyte of hi-res music, and to play any of it so well is a very good thing for me.

Maybe one day I'll try Tidal... but then again...
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: gemmoglock
post-14196848
Post #1,204 of 1,491

rapier84

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Aug 31, 2006
Messages
297
Reaction score
21
Joined
Aug 31, 2006
Posts
297
Likes
21
I also ‘upgraded’ from a dx90 to the Pioneer. The size is great, amazing how they stuffed two chips in there. Agree that the wifi is pretty weak but coming from a DAP that has none, its great to have. Firmware upgrades over the air is easy, so long as I am close to the router. Streaming works but patchy, still the sound quality from Tidal is pretty decent.

Bluetooth works ok but a higher bit codec would have been even better. The DuoRemote software works ok but lacks in features. Only basic commands like playback and volume control. Why no browsing of files for example? :wink:
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: trellus and Koolpep
post-14198472
Post #1,207 of 1,491

shane55

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Apr 5, 2010
Messages
3,430
Reaction score
320
Joined
Apr 5, 2010
Posts
3,430
Likes
320
     Share This Post       
post-14198484
Post #1,208 of 1,491

howdy

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Dec 25, 2012
Messages
4,445
Reaction score
818
Location
Minnesota
Joined
Dec 25, 2012
Location
Minnesota
Posts
4,445
Likes
818
Exactly what I was thinking. It looks HUGE (well... bigger) in the promo photos.
Exact same footprint of the dp-s1. The sound is amazing and I'm really happy with it so far. No issues with Wi-Fi or anything thus far. I still prefer the sound of its big brother, the DP-X1.
 
     Share This Post       
post-14198643
Post #1,209 of 1,491

shane55

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Apr 5, 2010
Messages
3,430
Reaction score
320
Joined
Apr 5, 2010
Posts
3,430
Likes
320
Exact same footprint of the dp-s1. The sound is amazing and I'm really happy with it so far. No issues with Wi-Fi or anything thus far. I still prefer the sound of its big brother, the DP-X1.
So it looks...
Just a bit confused by your last statement... You prefer the sound of the DP-X1 to the XDSD?
 
     Share This Post       
post-14198726
Post #1,211 of 1,491

Wiljen

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Sep 16, 2015
Messages
3,455
Reaction score
2,949
Location
TN
Joined
Sep 16, 2015
Location
TN
Posts
3,455
Likes
2,949
Website
audiofool.reviews
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: trellus
post-14198733
Post #1,212 of 1,491

howdy

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Dec 25, 2012
Messages
4,445
Reaction score
818
Location
Minnesota
Joined
Dec 25, 2012
Location
Minnesota
Posts
4,445
Likes
818
So it looks...
Just a bit confused by your last statement... You prefer the sound of the DP-X1 to the XDSD?
I was in a hurry..

I prefer the sound of my DP-X1 to the DP-S1 but the XDSD is on par with DP-X1 but a bit early to tell. I just got the XDSD (and DP-S1) so I need some more time with it. Great devices, however.
 
     Share This Post       
post-14198764
Post #1,213 of 1,491

shane55

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Apr 5, 2010
Messages
3,430
Reaction score
320
Joined
Apr 5, 2010
Posts
3,430
Likes
320
I was in a hurry..

I prefer the sound of my DP-X1 to the DP-S1 but the XDSD is on par with DP-X1 but a bit early to tell. I just got the XDSD (and DP-S1) so I need some more time with it. Great devices, however.
And that makes perfect sense. :wink:
Thanks for clarifying.
It says a lot for the DP-X1 sound.
 
     Share This Post       
post-14199308
Post #1,214 of 1,491

bsoplinger

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 15, 2014
Messages
1,055
Reaction score
617
Location
Cohoes, NY USA
Joined
Dec 15, 2014
Location
Cohoes, NY USA
Posts
1,055
Likes
617
     Share This Post       
post-14199364
Post #1,215 of 1,491

Wiljen

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Sep 16, 2015
Messages
3,455
Reaction score
2,949
Location
TN
Joined
Sep 16, 2015
Location
TN
Posts
3,455
Likes
2,949
Website
audiofool.reviews
It looks like I may have a firmware revison that is out of date as I am still missing MQA too even though it tells me no newer firmware is available. I loaded the 1.20 to a card and tried manually but it doesnt even give me the option to load from the SD (greyed out).
 
     Share This Post       

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top