NFB-12 used for just an AMP, connected to sound card. Im slow :/
post-8597188
Thread Starter
Post #1 of 8

Anax

New Head-Fier
Joined
Aug 13, 2008
Messages
17
Reaction score
10
Joined
Aug 13, 2008
Posts
17
Likes
10
   Sorry but I am pretty much new to the world of headphones.  Recently I purchased DT990's and HE-400's.  I looked around at basic amps to get me buy before deciding what direction I wanted to go and I noticed the overly bloated price these days of premade O2's (My older older one crapped out on me after a dog grabbing hot dog from desk spilling mtn dew accident) . I decided to pick up a NFB-12 in the FS/FT.. 
 
   However through my lack of knowledge and pure stupidity I seem to have boggled my mind so badly over something simple I am afraid I will have an aneurysm. 
 
 
    Sound card is an HT Omega Claro Plus  (back panel)        well considering I was just going to use the normal speaker out TSR or whatever plug and not the optical out nor coax, I never thought anything of it.   However the back of the nfb-12  has the following,  "Dac out's" 2 of them, assume I have no use for these.    USB (using my sound card so no use to me)   and the optical and coax.    My question is, I will not be using the NFB-12's DAC so I still just plug in the optical , keep the switch on HP, and it wont use the DAC to alter sound?   Sorry my mind says digital to analog converter so I am not sure how this is works since it would have to do this anyway to transcode or what the optical signal.  I know this is probably a basic question for some of you but it has me confused because I have goldfish brains.   
 
 
     Share This Post       
post-8597220
Post #2 of 8

HeatFan12

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Aug 15, 2006
Messages
3,011
Reaction score
118
Joined
Aug 15, 2006
Posts
3,011
Likes
118
You will use the NFB-12's dac regardless.  The DAC out is to connect to another amp.  The only way to bypass the dac and use it as an amp only, it must have line-in like the FUN or NFB-16.  
You can use the 12 as an all in one or connect an amp to it. Connect it to your card via optical and u r ready to roll.
 
     Share This Post       
post-8597624
Post #3 of 8

wje

Unmodified = Not worth listening to.
Joined
Jan 2, 2003
Messages
5,222
Reaction score
350
Location
Northern VA
Joined
Jan 2, 2003
Location
Northern VA
Posts
5,222
Likes
350
Quote:
You will use the NFB-12's dac regardless.  The DAC out is to connect to another amp.  The only way to bypass the dac and use it as an amp only, it must have line-in like the FUN or NFB-16.  
You can use the 12 as an all in one or connect an amp to it. Connect it to your card via optical and u r ready to roll.
 
100% correct.  Also, I don't understand why not go ahead and run an optical cable from the sound card to the NFB-12's optical input?  It will be the cleanest signal you can send (along with digital coax).  Plus, the DAC on the NFB-12 is constructed of Wolfson DAC chips for the module.  I'm not familiar with the DAC on that particular sound card, but I'd be willing to bet that the on-bard DAC with the NFB-12 will probably be able to easily compete with it, if not best it.
 
     Share This Post       
post-8597701
Post #4 of 8

Anax

New Head-Fier
Joined
Aug 13, 2008
Messages
17
Reaction score
10
Joined
Aug 13, 2008
Posts
17
Likes
10
   Well my issue is I play a lot of games, and would like to use the amp yet retain dolby headphone surround which from my understanding is not possible.  I face a large issue right now since  for an amp I have only around 150 to spend, have no need for a portable, and the objective2 seems to be the best in this price range, but I feel odd dumping the 127.00 (only guy on ebay i see selling them) when the desktop version is coming out soon with better components.
 
   If anyone has any choices for me im all ears, GET IT ALL EARS? I MADE MY FIRST HEAD FI JOKE.  anyway, yeah, I just need an amp at the moment. I will get a better amp + dac or  amp/dac  later down the road.   The guy i purchased from was nice enough to refund my money so I am looking once again,  (in a couple months I will be buying a dedicated tube amp for my HE's  .  As for now I will just be using my DT990's (just the 250ohm pro) to game. 
 
     Share This Post       
post-8597900
Post #5 of 8

wje

Unmodified = Not worth listening to.
Joined
Jan 2, 2003
Messages
5,222
Reaction score
350
Location
Northern VA
Joined
Jan 2, 2003
Location
Northern VA
Posts
5,222
Likes
350
Quote:
   Well my issue is I play a lot of games, and would like to use the amp yet retain dolby headphone surround which from my understanding is not possible.  I face a large issue right now since  for an amp I have only around 150 to spend, have no need for a portable, and the objective2 seems to be the best in this price range, but I feel odd dumping the 127.00 (only guy on ebay i see selling them) when the desktop version is coming out soon with better components.
 
   If anyone has any choices for me im all ears, GET IT ALL EARS? I MADE MY FIRST HEAD FI JOKE.  anyway, yeah, I just need an amp at the moment. I will get a better amp + dac or  amp/dac  later down the road.   The guy i purchased from was nice enough to refund my money so I am looking once again,  (in a couple months I will be buying a dedicated tube amp for my HE's  .  As for now I will just be using my DT990's (just the 250ohm pro) to game. 
 
Is that the guy that claims he is an electrical engineering student and can customize the O2 to your preference?  If so, I'd personally avoid dealing with him.  The O2 amp that I purchased from him was nicely constructed.  However, the O2 amps that he builds do no work with the 9V batteries installed.  I had the issue with the O2 I purchased, and since I never used it with battery power, the issue came back to haunt me a few weeks after I had completed the sale of the amp to another member here.  Also, I've read of another member buying from the same guy on eBay and having the same issue - would not work with the batteries (9V) installed and fully charged.
 
Personally, if you're considering strictly the O2 amp, spend just a couple of dollars more and buy it from JDS Labs.  You will not be sorry.  Top notch qualty and top notch service.
 
     Share This Post       
post-8597941
Post #6 of 8

Anax

New Head-Fier
Joined
Aug 13, 2008
Messages
17
Reaction score
10
Joined
Aug 13, 2008
Posts
17
Likes
10
Thanks sir you saved my bum.  ordered from jds :)
 
     Share This Post       
post-8598065
Post #7 of 8

PurpleAngel

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Sep 1, 2011
Messages
27,930
Reaction score
1,590
Location
California
Joined
Sep 1, 2011
Location
California
Posts
27,930
Likes
1,590
Quote:
Thanks sir you saved my bum.  ordered from jds :)
Asus Xonar ST, STX, Xense cards, use the same C-Media audio processor (CMI8788) as HT Omega Claro Plus, and these Xonars can do Dolby Headphone surround sound thru the S/PDIF (optical & coaxial) output.
Get the latest drivers for your audio card and test the feature.
 
HT Omega drivers
http://www.htomega.com/downloads.html
 
C-Media audio drivers.
http://www.cmedia.com.tw/EN/DownloadCenter_Detail2.aspx?pserno=0&dtype=ALL
 
     Share This Post       
post-8598095
Post #8 of 8

Anax

New Head-Fier
Joined
Aug 13, 2008
Messages
17
Reaction score
10
Joined
Aug 13, 2008
Posts
17
Likes
10
Yeah the Claro can also, but from what I know the DAC would kill this process anyway . Ended up ordering a o2. few extra bucks than I wanted to spend but figure i can sell it for 100 or so then put that towards the desktop model
 
     Share This Post       

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top