newbie wants new cans
post-1395365
Post #1 of 4

stefan

100+ Head-Fier
Reaction score
Hello everyone,
I'm new to head-fi, although i've been surfing the forum, especially the computer-as-source section. This is a great place, so I've joined and this is my first post.

I'm looking for a pair of headphones to listen to through an M-audio Audiophile USB, playing lossless audio from my PC. (this acts as a preamp for my main hi-fi system, -- class A monoblocks and speakers).
My only experience with headphones in my life have been with stock Sony earbuds and a pair of Panasonic closed models I bought a few years ago for about $20. The black padding on them is peeling, and they sound awful.

So I need a replacement, and really would like to get into headphones for late-night listening. But hunting through the forums has left me confused. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

My criteria are as follows (in no particular order):

1. Comfort - being able to listen in warm climates and not feel sweaty, and not feel like my head is being squashed.
2. Sound quality (of course). I never knew headphones could produce a soundstage like speakers -- but apparently they can....
3. Good quality sound at reasonable volume -- with my cheap phones, I need to crank them to deafening levels before I even "hear" the music....
4. Noise isolation -- where no-one else in the house hears too much "tsss tsss tsss tsss".... (closed headphones).
5. Good build quality, and nothing too "plasticky".
6. If it makes any difference, I mainly listen to alternative rock, folk, blues, plus punk, some ambient, classical, and world. Guitars are what I like, so I need nice detail and natural sound.
7. Price: can I get all this for less than $100. I could stretch that a little if there is a strong contender at something up to $150.

By the way, these would not be for portable listening, just for staying at home.... Also, tell me if $100 or so is unrealistic if I want something that is "built to last".