[Newbie Review] Sony XBA-H3
May 26, 2014 at 11:04 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 15

definitionz

New Head-Fier
Hey guys!

I'm not exactly a new member, but not an active one either. I usually jump on head-fi to read reviews on headphones or IEM's I'm interested in.
I could only find 2 threads on the Sony XBA-H3's and after testing them for a bit, thought they deserved some more justice.
Anyway I'm not very technical when it comes to Head-Fi language so this will be a review from an average joe with a love for audio.

Packaging: Pretty basic, nothing special here. Came in a box that has a lid which opens from the side.
The carry case is quite nice, almost like a large wallet, but it's also hard to put the IEM's into the case.
I've actually put them into my UE900's carry bag.

Sound Quality:
Simply Amazing...
It has an overfull fullness sounding quality. Deep round bass with the mid and low range. High's aren't shrilled at all so I can listen to them all day without tiring my ears out.
Soundstage is great, I listen to many different genre's of music but predominately prefer electronic music.
At home I plug them into my EMU-0404 USB audio interface, and on the go I plug them directly into my iphone.
Overall this is probably the best piece of audio equipment I have bought... and I've bought many.

Sony XBA-H3
Logitech UE-900
Future Sonics Atrio M5
Sennheiser Momentum
Sennheiser HD-25 II
Shure SRH-840
M-Audio Q40
Beats By Dre Studio

I probably like the sound signature of XBA-H3's the best. It has the best of both worlds by using the 3 drivers.
With the 1.6cm dynamic bass driver... It really is bliss for bassheads like myself.

Songs that I used to test: (maybe not the best choices, but they're songs I enjoy)
Tech N9ne - Nothin
Avenged Sevenfold - beast and the harlot
My Chemical Romance - Black Parade
Michael Buble - Feeling Good
Andrew Rayel - Aeon of revenge
Zatox & Villain - Action

Structure:
They are big... But very light.