Newbie Q - Best portable amp for ETY4S?
post-164931
Post #1 of 9

jayzen

New Head-Fier
Reaction score
Hey everyone! Great set of forums going here!

I'm interested in purchasing a SlimX along with a set of earphones. I'm not too keen in headphones for this CD/MP3 player becoz' I want everything to be as light and portable as possible. After reading plenty of reviews, I decided to go for the ETY4S.

Also, I noticed that a headphone amp is a necessity in most cases. So, many ppl recommended the Total Head Amp. But, after reading the so many posts, I found some ppl saying that it isn't as powerful amp to drive such an expensive pair of earphones.

So, should I go for a 9V version instead, or is the Porta Corda better? I'm only listing this 2 becoz' the rest are out of my budget (and maybe not as portable/small?). How about the META 42 that I've been reading about.... is there a link to it? Is it better?

I'm just a student living on a budget, but at the same time would like to experience quality music on the go.

post-164936
Post #2 of 9

Ari

500+ Head-Fier
Reaction score
post-164962
Post #3 of 9

HighwayStar

Won't excrete urine on your holiday (unless you do so to his first).
Reaction score
Quote:

Originally posted by jayzen

I'm interested in purchasing a SlimX along with a set of earphones. I'm not too keen in headphones for this CD/MP3 player becoz' I want everything to be as light and portable as possible. After reading plenty of reviews, I decided to go for the ETY4S.

Also, I noticed that a headphone amp is a necessity in most cases. So, many ppl recommended the Total Head Amp. But, after reading the so many posts, I found some ppl saying that it isn't as powerful amp to drive such an expensive pair of earphones.