New TOL A&K DAP : the AK Ultima SP1000
post-14753563
Post #5,176 of 8,362

Peter P.

Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 29, 2018
Messages
64
Reaction score
20
Location
Philippines
Joined
Dec 29, 2018
Location
Philippines
Posts
64
Likes
20
If you're really enjoying the sound of the SE100 I'd stick with that. The reason I upgraded was due to having multiple defective SE100s and the dealership offering me an offer I couldn't refuse to upgrade to the SP1000M. I'd say the subtle changes in sound signature (SP1000M gives the Andros a tiny bit more meat on the bones) are greater than the increase in quality of the sound.

If I were you and had to pay full price to upgrade, I'd tell myself to close this thread and just enjoy my music on the SE100.
Okay thanks for the input. Been using the se100’s for about 2 months now. Will just stick with it first then just do the upgrade later on. Cheers!
 
     Share This Post       
post-14754099
Post #5,177 of 8,362

olddude

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Feb 4, 2013
Messages
4,519
Reaction score
2,158
Location
Southern California
Joined
Feb 4, 2013
Location
Southern California
Posts
4,519
Likes
2,158
Commander One has a stiffer learning curve. Go slow with it and don't let it frustrate you, as it will eventually begin to make more sense. It is not just a file transfer app, it is basically a different desktop. Do NOT attempt to drag things from your real desktop into it, you will not have fun. Work only from within Commander One.
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: kubig123
post-14755601
Post #5,179 of 8,362

Luisonic

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Sep 29, 2012
Messages
166
Reaction score
89
Location
Rome
Joined
Sep 29, 2012
Location
Rome
Posts
166
Likes
89
Commander One has a stiffer learning curve. Go slow with it and don't let it frustrate you, as it will eventually begin to make more sense. It is not just a file transfer app, it is basically a different desktop. Do NOT attempt to drag things from your real desktop into it, you will not have fun. Work only from within Commander One.
Thanks for the heads up!
Because that would have been exactly my approach: forget the instructions, just drag and drop...

I guess I'll practice a bit before messing with the sp1000m... :wink:
 
     Share This Post       
post-14755627
Post #5,180 of 8,362

olddude

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Feb 4, 2013
Messages
4,519
Reaction score
2,158
Location
Southern California
Joined
Feb 4, 2013
Location
Southern California
Posts
4,519
Likes
2,158
It's easy, just open it, fill your desktop with it, select the SP from the dropdown on the left, the actual desktop from the dropdown on the right, click on the SP to bring up either the Internal or the SD card, choose which, click to Music folder, and you can drag and drop. Dragging into Music just drops your folders (ALWAYS folders) into the device. If you use careful folder arrangement (folder for each artist), pop open Music and find your specific artist folder and drag the appropriate album folder into that. If for some reason the files on the Commander desktop freeze up (happens), just use the dropdown to go back to above User and then back to User desktop to clear the freeze.
 
Last edited:
     Share This Post       
post-14755640
Post #5,181 of 8,362

KickAssChewGum

New Head-Fier
Joined
Mar 28, 2017
Messages
31
Reaction score
25
Joined
Mar 28, 2017
Posts
31
Likes
25
Someone listened sp1000m gold?
Yes. I’ve listened extensively to both the regular SP1000M and the Gold variant. The Gold is definitely warmer but still VERY detailed. It’s a slightly richer (and, dare I say, fuller) sound than the standard SP1000M. The Gold is my preferred signature of the two by far and, paired with the Campfire Solaris or Noble Encore, it is absolutely spectacular.
 
post-14755643
Post #5,182 of 8,362

Audiophonicalistic

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 1, 2018
Messages
470
Reaction score
220
Location
USA
Joined
Feb 1, 2018
Location
USA
Posts
470
Likes
220
Yes. I’ve listened extensively to both the regular SP1000M and the Gold variant. The Gold is definitely warmer but still VERY detailed. It’s a slightly richer (and, dare I say, fuller) sound than the standard SP1000M. The Gold is my preferred signature of the two by far and, paired with the Campfire Solaris or Noble Encore, it is absolutely spectacular.
Good to hear. Ill have an order in for gold soon enough. Glad I waited
 
     Share This Post       
post-14755644
Post #5,183 of 8,362

Luisonic

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Sep 29, 2012
Messages
166
Reaction score
89
Location
Rome
Joined
Sep 29, 2012
Location
Rome
Posts
166
Likes
89
It's easy, just open it, fill your desktop with it, select the SP from the dropdown on the left, the actual desktop from the dropdown on the right, click on the SP to bring up either the Internal or the SD card, choose which, click to Music folder, and you can drag and drop. Dragging into Music just drops your folders (ALWAYS folders) into the device. If you use careful folder arrangement (folder for each artist), pop open Music and find your specific artist folder and drag the appropriate album folder into that. If for some reason the files on the Commander desktop freeze up (happens), just use the dropdown to go back to above User and then back to User desktop to clear the freeze.
Just tried some, and yup, very easy, just a different logic. Thanks a mil!
 
     Share This Post       
post-14755767
Post #5,184 of 8,362

youme

New Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 3, 2018
Messages
36
Reaction score
14
Location
Germany
Joined
Dec 3, 2018
Location
Germany
Posts
36
Likes
14
Has anybody ever had problems with SPK and its battery? The battery of mine bloated and the backpanel felt almost off. The device has never left my home. And was lying around charged for more than a week now. With 30 minutes use per evening throughout the last days.

I have to admit that I am upset.
 
     Share This Post       
post-14755960
Post #5,185 of 8,362

olddude

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Feb 4, 2013
Messages
4,519
Reaction score
2,158
Location
Southern California
Joined
Feb 4, 2013
Location
Southern California
Posts
4,519
Likes
2,158
I think someone else here had something like that. I believe he sent it in for a fix. Not sure where the nearest AK repair station is near you in Germany. I think the one I saw here in the US just sent it in to the one in Los Angeles.
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: youme
post-14756363
Post #5,186 of 8,362

seaharp1

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 27, 2014
Messages
104
Reaction score
18
Joined
Feb 27, 2014
Posts
104
Likes
18
Yes...it happened to a brand new AK380 a few years ago.AK repaired/replaced under warranty.
 
Last edited:
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: youme
post-14756366
Post #5,187 of 8,362

seaharp1

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 27, 2014
Messages
104
Reaction score
18
Joined
Feb 27, 2014
Posts
104
Likes
18
Yes...it happened to a brand new AK380 a few years ago.AK repaired/replaced under warranty.
 
     Share This Post       
post-14756504
Post #5,188 of 8,362

youme

New Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 3, 2018
Messages
36
Reaction score
14
Location
Germany
Joined
Dec 3, 2018
Location
Germany
Posts
36
Likes
14
Thanks Guys. I dropped a note to the distributor and got a reply. Next steps to be clarified soon.

BTW: Mine is brand new as well, only 6 weeks in use. Damn it.
 
     Share This Post       
post-14756622
Post #5,189 of 8,362

mmxxm

New Head-Fier
Joined
May 2, 2018
Messages
33
Reaction score
12
Location
UK
Joined
May 2, 2018
Location
UK
Posts
33
Likes
12
20190123_003234.jpg
20190123_025801.jpg
Someone listened sp1000m gold?
Hello there,

I have had my SP1000m Gold for about 2 weeks now as it was released in the UK before many other markets.

It is fantastic.

The extra weight gives it a premium feel and even I am happy with the bling finish but would have preferred in s/s or cu. Sound wise - superb and the UI is easy to use (I also have AK70 so used to the interface).

I mainly use this at home as a music player/ storage device plugged into my Sony TA-ZH1ES or Icon Audio HP8mkii headphone amps, out to my Sony MDR-Z1R headphones however as the DAP DAC's in my opinion are superior to the Sony desktop, I am now generally listening to the headphones direct out of the DAP or via my valve amp when I want a change. With the Sony headphones, the volume output via SE or balanced is ample without external amplification with this DAP. It also sounds excellent with the Shure SE846's but I just use these for travelling with my old AK70Mki.

The desktop TA-ZH1ES is an excellent all rounder so may keep it for my CD transport and I'm not sure what to do with my MOJO but that's another issue.

My only issue so far is the connection to external devices via USB C. My windows 10 laptop (Microsoft Surface Book 1) does not recognize the device via USB3.0. I have connected the DAP via USB 2.0 on my other laptop and no issues. I contacted the shop where I purchased and they indicated that the local supplier confirmed USB 3.0 compatible and the DAP should sync but not for me. The manual indicates USB 2.0 only that is contradictory to the manufacturer's website. The connection to the Sony desktop is hit and miss - USB C to Micro USB (to the Walkman input) but not such as major issue as I prefer using a line out via the 3.5mm. Oh and the wooden box was damaged however the shop is sending up a replacement but not a big issue.

Apart from these issues I have no regrets and very happy that I went with this over some of the competition where I understand support can be disappointing if you are outside Asia. Was not prepared to pay the extra £700 for the SP1000.

Hope this helps and attach a few photos for your info/ interest.

Regards,

MM
 
Last edited:
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: robbi22
post-14757794
Post #5,190 of 8,362

Daibaron

Head-Fier
Joined
Oct 17, 2017
Messages
51
Reaction score
9
Location
Fr
Joined
Oct 17, 2017
Location
Fr
Posts
51
Likes
9
@jmas

Hi,
I recently bought a SP1000M and I have been looking into Roon, but I have a question that I have not been able to solve. I have my music library in a NAS and a copy of it in my A&K that I manually update each time I add a record to the library in the NAS. Does Roon help in any way in synching the library from the 'core location' to my A&K? I would love that Roon be able to help me synch the main library to a secondary location, in this case my portable player.
Thanks
Maybe a possible workaround for your need which is also mine.
Musicbee as a music manager & player does it well.
Create 2 Playlists one for internal memory and one for the SD card.
The SP1000 will appear as a portable device with MTP.
 
Last edited:
     Share This Post       

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 2, Guests: 2)

Top