New TOL A&K DAP : the AK Ultima SP1000
May 27, 2017 at 6:29 AM Post #226 of 9,109

Toolman

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jun 29, 2014
Posts
851
Likes
251
Hoping to see a new HFM reference DAP this Winter :fingers_crossed:
 
May 27, 2017 at 6:37 AM Post #227 of 9,109

raypin

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jun 22, 2010
Posts
2,536
Likes
1,065
Location
San Fransokyo
Mm..yes, but the UI badly needs a reboot. Taichi is just awful. HFM needs to dump the scroll wheel. It is 2017 already and scroll wheels are a relic of the past. They need to bury it.
 
Last edited:
May 27, 2017 at 7:40 AM Post #228 of 9,109

Toolman

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jun 29, 2014
Posts
851
Likes
251
New player will not have scroll wheel, and will be a tad smaller
 
May 27, 2017 at 8:54 AM Post #230 of 9,109

haiku

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Mar 4, 2016
Posts
1,374
Likes
395
What do you guys think, when using the balanced output, will the Dap be able to drive the HD600 properly?
 
May 27, 2017 at 10:27 AM Post #232 of 9,109

Dionysus

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 6, 2009
Posts
974
Likes
616
Planar's are extremely difficult to drive except for the PM3. that is the one thing I really want to know as well, can the SP1000 drive higher impedance cans without the need for an amp.
 
May 27, 2017 at 1:00 PM Post #235 of 9,109

raypin

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jun 22, 2010
Posts
2,536
Likes
1,065
Location
San Fransokyo
Mm..only way to find out is to RWAK or mod it. Otherwise, it would be pointless to open it yourself to determine whether it is......

For me, they can put marshmallow in it but for as long as it outputs premium A&K sound, I'm good to go.
 
May 27, 2017 at 5:06 PM Post #236 of 9,109

Dionysus

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 6, 2009
Posts
974
Likes
616
back on the 19th of this month I asked this
Now, will the SP1000 be using the same cheap ribbon cables to connect from board to connector socket as 380 ?

On The Astell & Kern US site I asked this very question on the SP1000 blog. They may be in denial or they just didn't understand that question properly. I think I did read somewhere though they have a better balance implementation.


Astell&Kern SupportMay 19, 2017



Ray: We never used ribbon cables for the 2.5mm balanced audio output ports on any of our portables.


  • RayMay 18, 2017
    was wondering if the balanced output still use ribbon cables like on the AK380 that I currently own. I think for expensive high end gear like this, the outputs shouldn’t use ribbons on the boards. Thank you in advance for your response.
 
Last edited:

Users who are viewing this thread

Top