NEW SONY NW-ZX500
Nov 26, 2020 at 10:52 AM Post #6,091 of 7,735

romo1234

New Head-Fier
Joined
Oct 30, 2020
Posts
38
Likes
21
Location
USA
Please do it now :smiling_imp::smiling_imp: and test if the volume has increased after this update. There is a lightning deal on Amazon Germany for ZX507. Many thanks.
I have the European a105 in firmware v3.0 and the sound is very comparable to a a55 without volume cap. I think they removed the volume cap(or at least reduced it significantly) in the newer firmware versions..
 
Nov 26, 2020 at 10:55 AM Post #6,092 of 7,735

Keko123

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Sep 16, 2018
Posts
318
Likes
36
Location
Spain
I have done an A / B test with two European ZX507 (3.00.07 and 2.01.00 firmwares) . Does anyone know if in firmware version 3.00.07 they have increased the volume? In some moments I hear more volume.

I have read that the new firmware detects the impedance of the headphone and adjusts the volume. How true is this?

With 3.0 firmware I felt more volume, but just a little more than my other ZX507 with 2.0 firmware
 
Nov 26, 2020 at 10:59 AM Post #6,093 of 7,735

Tsiklon

Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 23, 2020
Posts
52
Likes
37
Location
United Kingdom
Sorry to disappoint - there’s been no replacement of the volume control program in the EU release, no high gain switches or observed new feature there
 

Attachments

  • 1E8D88FA-EA31-43A8-AAEF-0633E3DE5B85.jpeg
    1E8D88FA-EA31-43A8-AAEF-0633E3DE5B85.jpeg
    1.8 MB · Views: 0
Nov 26, 2020 at 11:21 AM Post #6,094 of 7,735

Tiax

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Apr 30, 2010
Posts
552
Likes
579
Location
Germany
Do i understand it right, that the lack of high gain is the only difference? And in a low gain mode volume goes just as loud in a capped and uncapped versions?

I have high gain, but i also have no reason to use it with my Solaris, they are loud enough at 25-30 in a low gain mode single ended :)
 
Nov 26, 2020 at 11:30 AM Post #6,095 of 7,735

MrWalkman

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jun 9, 2020
Posts
2,397
Likes
8,557
Location
Space-Time
I have the European a105 in firmware v3.0 and the sound is very comparable to a a55 without volume cap. I think they removed the volume cap(or at least reduced it significantly) in the newer firmware versions..

A105 capped has a lower volume than A55 capped, actually. In the video, he mentions that the volume is the same after the latest firmware update of the A105.

1606408211402.png


The image is from this video:​

As per the volume cap being removed or not upon installing a firmware intended for another area, the thing is that the volume cap is region dependent, and the region is not actually changing upon installing another firmware. That region/destination has to be changed intentionally with a command, and it's stored in a place similar to how it's stored on the non-Android Walkman players. Once there will be at least root access, then the region could be changed.
 
Last edited:
Nov 26, 2020 at 11:42 AM Post #6,097 of 7,735

Dcell7

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 25, 2007
Posts
483
Likes
450
Nov 26, 2020 at 11:50 AM Post #6,098 of 7,735

feverfive

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Feb 17, 2006
Posts
2,137
Likes
2,271
Location
U.S.
Hahaha, crap....I manually upgraded to Chinese (0003) firmware, then decided to do a factory reset... How in the worl do I set English as default? I can't read Chinese...at all. I'm in Settings, trying to go by symbols, but I don't speak fluent Android (15 years in Apple's wall garden until I got the ZX507). Any guidance appreciated.
 
Nov 26, 2020 at 11:51 AM Post #6,099 of 7,735

MrWalkman

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jun 9, 2020
Posts
2,397
Likes
8,557
Location
Space-Time
Hahaha, crap....I manually upgraded to Chinese (0003) firmware, then decided to do a factory reset... How in the worl do I set English as default? I can't read Chinese...at all. I'm in Settings, trying to go by symbols, but I don't speak fluent Android (15 years in Apple's wall garden until I got the ZX507). Any guidance appreciated.

In Settings find the last icon, a small "i", and after that, it's the second option, and then the first one. Use + while there, to add other languages.
 
Nov 26, 2020 at 12:23 PM Post #6,104 of 7,735

Dcell7

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 25, 2007
Posts
483
Likes
450
It's really out of Sony's control. They need to adhere to EU regulations. They would prob get fined if they didn't have the volume cap.
for me the main question is, why can other manufacturers sell audio gear in the EU that output more volume ? Are the others not playing by the rules ? Or is Sony overserious with capping their devices .......
 
Nov 26, 2020 at 12:24 PM Post #6,105 of 7,735

romo1234

New Head-Fier
Joined
Oct 30, 2020
Posts
38
Likes
21
Location
USA
Sorry to disappoint - there’s been no replacement of the volume control program in the EU release, no high gain switches or observed new feature there

This is copied from the v3 user manual:
Volume operation in compliance with European and Korean Directives
  • For European customers
  • For Korean customers (models supplied with headphones)
The alarm (beep) and warning [Check the volume level.] are intended to protect your ears. They occur when you initially turn the volume up to a harmful level. You can cancel the alarm and warning by tapping [OK] on the alert dialog.
Note
  • You can turn up the volume after you cancel the alarm and warning.
  • After the initial warning, the alarm and warning will repeat every 20 cumulative hours that the volume is set to a level that is harmful to your ears. When this happens, the volume will turn down automatically.
  • If you turn off the player after you have selected a high volume that may damage your eardrums, the volume level will automatically be lower when you turn on the player the next time.
  • The alarm will not sound when there is an active Bluetooth connection.
There is a menu option, I think is called AVLS. You can basically turn off the volume cap. I think it works ok. I guess Sony is hearing the feedback....
 
Last edited:

Users who are viewing this thread

Top