NEW - Schiit Asgard 2
Jan 14, 2021 at 6:04 PM Post #2,718 of 2,738

volly

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 25, 2012
Posts
941
Likes
822
Location
Australia
Is it safe to stack the Asgard 2 directly on a Bifrost 2?
I've had mine stacked for years, never been problem!

If you're worried, I'd put some taller feet on which ever unit you place on top! This so you get some more air flow between the two units!

2021-01-14 (1).jpg
 
Apr 8, 2021 at 8:25 AM Post #2,720 of 2,738

Jimmyblues1959

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 4, 2020
Posts
197
Likes
248
Location
New York
I finally ordered the DCA Aeon RT headphones. Safe to use them on Asgard 2?

They're 12 ohms and 91db sensitivity. The Asgard 2 makes most of its power from 32ohms to 50 ohms, so the Aeon RT may
present a challenging load for the A2. I'd check with Schitt to see what they have to say.
 
Sep 5, 2021 at 7:20 AM Post #2,724 of 2,738

cjc

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Nov 16, 2002
Posts
274
Likes
59
I just bought some new HP's that are 32 ohm and 110 sensitivity (highly sensitive). On High Gain there is LOTS of noise, but If I put my hand on the amp and touch EITHER the RCA connectors of my interconnects OR 1/4" headphone jack, the noise is gone. Is this a ground issue with my Asgard 2 ?
 
Sep 5, 2021 at 7:41 AM Post #2,725 of 2,738

ZoNtO

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Sep 7, 2008
Posts
1,116
Likes
165
Do you hear the same noise on low gain mode as well if you turn the volume knob up so the signal was the same level as it was in high gain mode?

With those headphones, low gain is a much better match just based on specs.
 
Sep 5, 2021 at 7:53 AM Post #2,726 of 2,738

cjc

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Nov 16, 2002
Posts
274
Likes
59
Do you hear the same noise on low gain mode as well if you turn the volume knob up so the signal was the same level as it was in high gain mode?

With those headphones, low gain is a much better match just based on specs.
On LOW gain, noise is barely audible. But, if I put my hand on the amp and touch EITHER the RCA connectors of my interconnects OR 1/4" headphone jack, the noise is gone. Is this normal OR a ground issue with my Asgard 2 ?
 
Sep 5, 2021 at 8:09 AM Post #2,727 of 2,738

ZoNtO

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Sep 7, 2008
Posts
1,116
Likes
165
Sounds like you could have a mild ground loop given the noise goes away completely with certain actions. Could try routing your RCA cables away from power cables, moving the amp away from other gear with transformers, amd trying different well-constructed RCA cables to confirm.
 
Sep 5, 2021 at 8:37 AM Post #2,728 of 2,738

cjc

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Nov 16, 2002
Posts
274
Likes
59
Sounds like you could have a mild ground loop given the noise goes away completely with certain actions. Could try routing your RCA cables away from power cables, moving the amp away from other gear with transformers, amd trying different well-constructed RCA cables to confirm.
Tried all the above including many other HP's...still come up with NEAR silence ONLY when I touch the A2's metal enclosure and IC's or 1/4" socket.
 
Sep 5, 2021 at 9:18 AM Post #2,729 of 2,738

Jimmyblues1959

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 4, 2020
Posts
197
Likes
248
Location
New York
Tried all the above including many other HP's...still come up with NEAR silence ONLY when I touch the A2's metal enclosure and IC's or 1/4" socket.
Try moving the A2 away from your computer and see if that helps... 😊
 
Sep 5, 2021 at 11:16 AM Post #2,730 of 2,738

audiobomber

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 22, 2018
Posts
547
Likes
412
Location
Sudbury, ON, Canada
Definitely a ground issue. Are the amp and computer plugged into the same power outlet? Different outlet circuits can have different ground potential, which will cause hum.
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top