New Nagra HD DAC
Feb 20, 2021 at 10:26 AM Post #721 of 783

SurgeTO

Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 18, 2018
Posts
69
Likes
69
Location
NYC
IMG_4422.jpg
Have fun with you DAC

Thanks! Wow, nice hours! Did you also find the sound change from good to poor to great during the first few hundred hours?

My only issue, and it’s small, is that the volume number dial wiggles a bit when the volume knob is turned. Seems like there are two different ways to secure the Tube DAC volume dial. Kind of annoying at this price point. I’m waiting for Nagra to reply on a fix.
 
Feb 20, 2021 at 10:26 AM Post #722 of 783

bmichels

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Sep 11, 2012
Posts
6,100
Likes
2,382
Location
France, Belgium and Morocco
Feb 24, 2021 at 9:09 PM Post #724 of 783

SurgeTO

Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 18, 2018
Posts
69
Likes
69
Location
NYC
I would not say the Classic PSU is a "must" - the Tube DAC sounds incredible with the standard dual linear PSUs. Don't think you need to spend $40K - "only" $27K will bring you nirvana... my comparison is with a ~$250K analog setup and the PS Audio DSD DAC. The Nagra Tube DAC comes very very close to my turntable.
I used to think the PS Audio Directstream was great... (mind you it it much less expensive, but it's not in the same league).
 
Last edited:
Feb 27, 2021 at 11:27 PM Post #725 of 783

SurgeTO

Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 18, 2018
Posts
69
Likes
69
Location
NYC
For those with the Tube DAC - does your top plate have vent holes above the tube? Mine does not. I noticed older(?) models had the vent. Wondering if mine just has the wrong top plate or if Nagra removed the vents on the top of the case?
 
Feb 28, 2021 at 4:12 AM Post #726 of 783

bmichels

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Sep 11, 2012
Posts
6,100
Likes
2,382
Location
France, Belgium and Morocco
For those with the Tube DAC - does your top plate have vent holes above the tube? Mine does not. I noticed older(?) models had the vent. Wondering if mine just has the wrong top plate or if Nagra removed the vents on the top of the case?

I never saw vents on the HD DAC...

BTW, can you now comment on the "upgraded" DHC Cable ?
 
Apr 20, 2021 at 3:22 PM Post #733 of 783

bmichels

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Sep 11, 2012
Posts
6,100
Likes
2,382
Location
France, Belgium and Morocco
Received my new Tube DAC. Nagra service is really great!
congrat ! looking forward to hear your impressions.

Also, what source will you be using to feed the DAC ? Will you use the internal Headphone amp ?
 
Apr 21, 2021 at 8:26 AM Post #735 of 783

Kenng

New Head-Fier
Joined
Apr 19, 2021
Posts
6
Likes
6
Location
hongkong
50286244508_32a7976d1c_k.jpg


new member here, enjoy upgrade from HD dac+MPS to a full option Tube dac + PSU
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Top