1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.

Dismiss Notice

New headphones for a budding audiophile

1. vegas825
    I am a little new to high end headphones but I am looking for a new pair of IEMs or full sized headphones. I already have a pair of V-Moda Vibes, which were my first pair besides Apple phones. I listen mainly to hip hop and house so I do like bass but mids and treble are also important. I don't really have a budget but I would Iike a pair that is definently worth the money. The MTP golds have caught my interest as well as the AT M50s. I have also researched the klipsch s4. I usually listen through my iPhone (no amp) or my computer, which has a decent sound card. Again I don't know much about headphones so I am open to any suggestions. Comfort and sound isolation will also be very important since I will be on a long flight next week and I study a lot. Thanks in advance for your input.

2. slaters70
    Of the phones you mentioned, I would choose the MTP Golds if you can find them at a discount, or buy them used. A friend of mine bought them and loves them, especially for your tastes. Another phone you might consider is the Fischer DBA-02s, which I own, and are about $170 shipped (you have to buy them on ebay or from a seller her on HF, whose name escapes me right now, but it's Ethan something). Check the DBA thread for more details, search for DBA-02 or LFF (the member who wrote the main review of those phones). I love the DBAs, but needed to use Ety tri-flange tips to get the best sound. Good luck.

Oops, just noticed you need them by next week. That leaves the Fischers out, since they are in short supply and high demand right now. In that case, get the Monster Golds.

3. Leavenfish

Quote: