New DVD Players with 720/1080 Up Conversion
post-1482524
Thread Starter
Post #1 of 21

DarkAngel

DarkAngel's a man, baby!
Joined
Aug 22, 2001
Messages
7,235
Reaction score
13
Joined
Aug 22, 2001
Posts
7,235
Likes
13
A couple days ago got the new Toshiba SD 5980 DVD player ($130) that has digital HDMI output and has video up conversion to 720/1080 resolution feature when connected to compatable TV. This will take the normal 480 resolution of standard DVD signal and process it to appear either 720 or 1080 resolution by pushing button on remote.........I have a newer Hitachi 57" Ultravision projection TV (57S715)

OMG I have been playing all my TV series DVD sets like Buffy, Xena, Farscape and they are just transformed into another league altogether, the improvement in picture quality is very dramatic, almost unbelieveable......tonight I get out the extended Lord of the Rings set for real test!


Anyone else have set-up using a video up conversion process? Comments?
(Tosh gives you free HDMI cable with player but I upgraded to Monster 400 series cable)
 
     Share This Post       
post-1482548
Post #2 of 21

Alu

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Nov 8, 2004
Messages
1,643
Reaction score
60
Joined
Nov 8, 2004
Posts
1,643
Likes
60
I have a Samsung DVD-HD935 that works wonders too with upsampling movies. I use my sanyo plv-z2 for the hd playback.

Very nice.
 
     Share This Post       
post-1482567
Post #3 of 21

DarkAngel

DarkAngel's a man, baby!
Joined
Aug 22, 2001
Messages
7,235
Reaction score
13
Joined
Aug 22, 2001
Posts
7,235
Likes
13
Quote:

Originally Posted by Alu
I have a Samsung DVD-HD935 that works wonders too with upsampling movies. I use my sanyo plv-z2 for the hd playback.
Very nice.



Yep, that will do the job also......for sure.
This has to be biggest bang for the buck upgrade ever for DVD image quality!

Here are some more details about Tosh player:
Toshiba
 
     Share This Post       
post-1482617
Post #4 of 21

steel102

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 28, 2003
Messages
1,270
Reaction score
11
Joined
Jan 28, 2003
Posts
1,270
Likes
11
I have the Panasonic DVD-S97S (model was pretty popular on avsforum a couple months back) upconverting to 720p thru HDMI with a Samsung HLP6163W. I love it.
 
     Share This Post       
post-1483170
Post #5 of 21

DarkAngel

DarkAngel's a man, baby!
Joined
Aug 22, 2001
Messages
7,235
Reaction score
13
Joined
Aug 22, 2001
Posts
7,235
Likes
13
Watching LOTR Return of the King now in 1080 resolution........this is the real deal movie buffs!
 
     Share This Post       
post-1483180
Post #6 of 21

D-EJ915

He...or is it she...is a......Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Feb 13, 2003
Messages
8,470
Reaction score
10
Joined
Feb 13, 2003
Posts
8,470
Likes
10
None of them output HD via Component do they? If they don't...that sucks 'cause my sony monitor supports HDTV through the components
 
     Share This Post       
post-1483253
Post #7 of 21

DaHoboFest

Banned
Joined
Feb 20, 2005
Messages
810
Reaction score
10
Joined
Feb 20, 2005
Posts
810
Likes
10
its not too new, but they are pretty expensive. I want one for my 70 inch Sony XDR
 
     Share This Post       
post-1483302
Post #8 of 21

PsychoZX

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jan 6, 2005
Messages
3,099
Reaction score
10
Joined
Jan 6, 2005
Posts
3,099
Likes
10
Quote:

Originally Posted by DaHoboFest
its not too new, but they are pretty expensive. I want one for my 70 inch Sony XDR



Ok I need to see a pic before I believe that.
 
     Share This Post       
post-1483575
Post #10 of 21

DarkAngel

DarkAngel's a man, baby!
Joined
Aug 22, 2001
Messages
7,235
Reaction score
13
Joined
Aug 22, 2001
Posts
7,235
Likes
13
Quote:

Originally Posted by D-EJ915
None of them output HD via Component do they? If they don't...that sucks 'cause my sony monitor supports HDTV through the components


The Toshiba DVD player only has up conversion with HDMI output, the component video outputs have normal DVD resolution.

Just think if you could buy a CD player for under $150 that made all your CDs sound 100% better would you be happy camper????


Booyah!
 
     Share This Post       
post-1483663
Post #11 of 21

DaHoboFest

Banned
Joined
Feb 20, 2005
Messages
810
Reaction score
10
Joined
Feb 20, 2005
Posts
810
Likes
10
Quote:

Originally Posted by PsychoZX
Ok I need to see a pic before I believe that.




I've had to prove it before, lol. I had it in my photobucket, but I deleted it. When I get back to my home, remind me. (I'm in florida right now)
 
     Share This Post       
post-1483677
Post #12 of 21

Edwood

1/2 hamster, 1/2 Turkish∙ Blueteething
Joined
Nov 11, 2003
Messages
20,230
Reaction score
225
Location
Cage
Joined
Nov 11, 2003
Location
Cage
Posts
20,230
Likes
225
My HTPC is my DVD player. Outputs DVI to my HDTV set.

But I want TRUE HiDef DVD's.

Too bad there is a format war and feet dragging.

-Ed
 
     Share This Post       
post-1483685
Post #13 of 21

Alu

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Nov 8, 2004
Messages
1,643
Reaction score
60
Joined
Nov 8, 2004
Posts
1,643
Likes
60
Quote:

Originally Posted by Edwood
My HTPC is my DVD player. Outputs DVI to my HDTV set.

But I want TRUE HiDef DVD's.

Too bad there is a format war and feet dragging.

-Ed



I can't wait either to try those out of my pc.

The fun of comparing stuff is the greatest joy a geek can have.
 
     Share This Post       
post-1483689
Post #14 of 21

DaHoboFest

Banned
Joined
Feb 20, 2005
Messages
810
Reaction score
10
Joined
Feb 20, 2005
Posts
810
Likes
10
I want an HTPC, because if you're running it through your pc, you can actually test out some. Microsoft has some demo 720P and 1080i dvds. You can actually buy some too.
 
     Share This Post       
post-1483818
Post #15 of 21

yidimsum

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 25, 2002
Messages
515
Reaction score
0
Joined
Feb 25, 2002
Posts
515
Likes
0
Quote:

Originally Posted by D-EJ915
None of them output HD via Component do they? If they don't...that sucks 'cause my sony monitor supports HDTV through the components


Check out the Momitsu V880

I'm pretty sure it upconverts to 1080i via components. Another cool thing about this DVD player is that you can easily hack it with the remote to make it region free.
 
     Share This Post       

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top