Need IEM suggestions
Feb 24, 2008 at 7:34 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 14

MicFiend

New Head-Fier
Hello everyone!
biggrin.gif

First of all, I am proud to say that I am new in head-fi community, and I hope I will blend well.
wink.gif

Now, I am going to get to the topic - In Ear Canalphones(IEMs).
I recently bought an iPod Shuffle - which is great, btw, and the stock iPod earbuds really bite. I am not an audiophile by any means, but I do need to replace them with a good quality pair.
Now, I've been interested in In-Earphones, and I want to buy a pair for my shuffle. I need it to be pretty isolating, so I won't have to crank up the volume and damage my hearing(although this type of earphones do damage your hearing more than on-the-head type), and almost all of my songs are Hip Hop & Rap, so I need thumpin' bass(but well balanced on other notes too). I don't need the earphones to be super sound quality like Shure's & Westone's high-end models, but I need it to be pretty good.. on the 50$ range.

So as you can see my budget is UP to 50$(The cheaper the marrier!). I hope you can help me find a pair that will fit me well, well actually I have no doubt you will be successful.
smily_headphones1.gif

Sorry for the long paragraph lol, and thanks to everyone who comments and helps!

Have a good day!
MicFiend

Feb 24, 2008 at 7:46 PM Post #2 of 14
No IEMs for under $50 of much value. Better off replacing the iBuds with something like Yuin PK3s, which are also buds and cost $50. Major jump in SQ. Another option for about $50 (from third party sellers on Amazon.com) is the Altec-Lansing iM616, which does deliver very good SQ in that price range. I have owned the 616s, and they are very good.