Need Help Purchasing new headphones
Jun 27, 2009 at 10:11 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 9

Theish

New Head-Fier
Ok first of all i would like to say i am a complete newb in the sense that this is my first foray into high end headphones or just headphones that deliver better quality sound and now i am searching for something that fits me. I already own the panasonic rp htx7 and the grado sr125 and i have heard the beats by dr.dre.
So to start i like the htx7 and the grados but i feel that the grados are better it is just that i am not hearing as much bass as i would like. I hear that bass in the htx7 but they aren't as clear and the highs if am correct in saying are harsher than the grado which i hear the grado has piercing highs but i like the way they sound. I have heard the beats and they are loud as heck and the cymbols and things like that sound clearer and the bass is definitely there but i think they are just too loud if that is understandable. i mean when i listen to songs like glass onion by the beatles they cymbols and stuff are clearer but they hurt my ears i don't like that. And when i say i like the bass on the htx7 i do but it affects the way voices and stuff sound compared to the grado like it adds something to change the way they sound like darker or something. which is nice but eh i don't know.
another thing though is that i just bought the grados and they may have like at the most 50 hours of burn in at the most so they may sound better later down the line but if they don't i will be dissapointed because the bump in quality is there and i can hear it but it isn't as grand as i would have liked it to be in the bump up of sound quality. i am thinking i should seek something else but i don't know what if anybody has any suggestions i would like to hear them. If you think i should just stick with the 125 for now let them burn in more and see what happens state that also.

Jun 28, 2009 at 4:31 AM Post #3 of 9