Need help from experts and true audiophiles!
May 4, 2017 at 1:08 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 8

ultramabi

Head-Fier
Hello guys I wouldn't really consider myself an expert or a true audiophile because I only listened to music on a MP3 player with my old ath m50s and now I am in search of new headphones/portable amp or audio setup because my old ath m50s broke. I decided to buy the ath m50xs (not the old m50s) because it was on sale so that way I still have those headphones ready, but I want to have a good audio setup that an audiophile or expert would recommend.

Honestly I could just get the beats pro but I want some audiophile recommended headphones and an audio setup that's not too shabby while also looking stylish as well. I was thinking about getting the akg k872s but I'm not sure if it's worth the money and they're kinda expensive. Since I am a noob to audio and with portable dacs/amps, can somebody recommend me a good setup for the akg headphones if I do get it? I do not even know how to connect a dac or portable amp since I never used one before. Also are portable amps better than regular amps?

Are these headphones worth getting for $200?

https://www.massdrop.com/buy/akg-k7xx-massdrop-first-edition-headphones

If not what headphones would you recommend for $250 or less and what exactly do you look for in headphones? Is it just the impedance level?

My budget is around $700 or more.

Also what's the difference between a preamplifier and an amplifier? I heard this would be a good option to get, micca Origen+ due to the price.

I was thinking about getting that,or the oppo ha2se and some vmoda m100s but I think that the akgk7xx's would do the trick, for the headphones part that is. How do you compare dacs/ and amps? Tell me your thoughts.

Sorry for the long post, I am looking for answers.

Edit: I think I might get the audioquest nightowl carbons. If anybody recommends something else please do tell.

Last edited:
May 4, 2017 at 10:29 AM Post #2 of 8