Need guidance toward the right headphone
Mar 20, 2006 at 6:45 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 13

Esidarap

500+ Head-Fier
First let me start off by saying that I'm not planning on buying anything right now since I'm kind of broke. But I want to know what to buy when I do have enough money.

I've had some pretty bad experience with headphones up till now, my problem is I absolutely hate loud bass, all the headphones I have right now(except V150
eek.gif
) sound pretty good to me till the bass kicks in. My HD202s bass is manageable and doesn't overwhelm everything else but it just sounds nasty and is too loud in the mix. My latest purchase which I've had for about a month now, the Sony 7506 sounds incredible.. till the bass kicks in, it's just so overwhelming that it turns my music into a muddy mess and gives me a headache if I listen for more than an hour at a time. Another complaint with the Sonys is that when I have them on I feel like I have earplugs on.. yet can hear the music fine.. it's a very very strange feeling.

Now that you have alittle background.. I ask, what would be the best headphone for me? I do not want boomy bass like the headphones I own already. I want very very clear headphones, I guess this is what you guys call analytical around here? I'm not sure since I've also heard the MDR-7506(V6) called analytical and they're about as clear as my HD202.. which I'd hardly call analytical. Finally, I don't want to be leaking music allover the place, some sound escaping is fine but I don't want someone 5 feet away from me to hear my music perfectly, I've read Grados leak like crazy.

I would like all this in the $200 ballpark.. I can break that barrier but will not go into the 300s. What would be a good choice?

Mar 20, 2006 at 8:09 AM Post #2 of 13
What do you guys think about the beyerdynamic DT880? On their website they let you pick 32 - 250 - 600Ohm, is there a difference in sound quality?

Mar 20, 2006 at 4:28 PM Post #3 of 13